الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

قطاع النقل البرّي والطُّرق في اليمن القضايا الحرجة والسياسات ذات الأولوية

قطاع النقل البرّي والطُّرق في اليمن القضايا الحرجة والسياسات ذات الأولوية
طريق السفر الوحيد بين مدينتي تعز وعدن في اليمن. لقد دمر الطرق في اليمن خلال سبع سنوات من الحرب. مصدر الصورة (أ ف ب)

يُعدّ النقلُ البري أحد أهم وسائل النقل وأكثرها استخداما. اليمن يعتبر بلد ريفي في الغالب حيث يعيش أكثر من 70% من السكان في 140,000 تجمّع سكاني ينتشر في أنحاء الريف، ويحتاج معظمها إلى طرق وتضمّ أكثر السكان فقراً. وبالتالي فإن النقل البري ضروري للتنمية الريفية والنمو الاقتصادي العام. وتشكّل الطرق الريفية تحدّيا كبيرا للتنمية في اليمن؛ إذ لم تُعبّد منها إلا نحو 3,744كم في المناطق الريفية، وهي لا تمثل إلا 6.4% من إجمالي شبكة الطرق في البلاد، وهو اختلال في توجّهات إنشاء الطرق في اليمن مقارنة بالكثافة السكانية في الريف. تسبّب الصراع بصورِهِ المختلفة منذ اندلاعه في زيادة معاناة سفرِ وتنقّلِ المواطنين وصعوبة نقل البضائع بين المحافظات وكذلك من اليمن وإليها. إضافة إلى ذلك، ارتفعت تكاليف النقل البري بنسبة تصل إلى 145% نتيجة ارتفاع أسعار الوقود واتخاذ الطرق البديلة الأطول مسافةً. كما تكبّدت مشاريع الطرق خسائر فادحة نتيجة الصراع تُقدّر بنحو 1.3 مليار دولار أمريكي؛ إذ بلغ إجمالي أطوال الطرق المتضرّرة نحو 6,000 كم وتضرّر أكثر من 100 جسر عبور. علاوة على ذلك، توقّفت مشاريع الطرق بسبب شحة الأوضاع المالية، مما فاقم مشاكل القطاع.

ومع طولِ فترة الحرب والصراع في اليمن تدهورت البنية المؤسّسية لقطاع النقل البري والطرق. ومن أبرز التحديات المؤسسية عدم ملاءمة السياسات والتشريعات، وتهالك المعدّات والآلات والأصول، وتسرّب الكوادر والموارد البشرية. وتمثّلُ أزمة الموارد المالية أكبر عائق تواجهه الجهات المنظمة لقطاع النقل البري والطرق مما يؤثر على الجوانب التشغيلية داخل القطاع.

تقدم هذه الورقة البحثية توصيات قصيرة وطويلة المدى فيما يتعلق بآثار الحرب على قطاع النقل البري وسياسات البنية التحتية للطرق الريفية والحضرية وسياسات صيانة وإصلاح الطرق التي تؤثر على حركة المرور التجارية وتحديث الهيكل المؤسسي للنقل البري.

لتعزيز دور القطاع، يجب بذل الجهود على المدى القصير، لتطوير وتطبيق وتشغيل أنظمة النقل الذكية في قطاع النقل البري لحافلات نقل الركاب وشاحنات نقل البضائع لضمان أمن وسلامة الركّاب وعدم تكرار دفع مبالغ مالية من شاحنات نقل البضائع، كما يجب سرعة معالجة مشاكل المشاريع المتعثرة. يجب أن تشمل الجهود أيضا إعادة تشغيل محطات الأوزان التي تضرّرت من الحرب، وتنفيذ قواعد السلامة المرورية على الطرق بين المحافظات للحدّ من حوادث الطرق، وتطوير القدرة المؤسسية لمؤسسات النقل البري والطرق. كما يجب توجيه المساعدات الإنسانية والطارئة نحو الطرق الريفية لتعزيز هذه الجهود.

وعلى المدى المتوسط والطويل، يجب على السلطات إنشاء موانئ برية جافّة عند مداخل المُدن الرئيسة، فهذا من شأنه أن يساعدَ على تخفيف ازدحام الطرق والتخفيف من الحمولات الثقيلة على الطرق، وتقليل تكلفة نقل البضائع، وكذلك يجب إعداد برنامج إستراتيجي للتوسّع في مشاريع الطرق الريفية في اليمن، وتنفيذ المسوحات الشاملة لمعرفة الوضع الحالي لشبكة الطرق، وتطوير المنافذ البرية الحدودية وتسهيل إجراءات العبور، ويجب أيضا تطوير الإطار التشريعي والتنظيمي والمؤسّسي لقطاع النقل البري والطرق بما يتناسب مع التطورات الحديثة ومنع الازدواجية وتضارب المصالح والمهام.


أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

القوى اليمنية العاملة المغتربة تحت التهديد: الدور الحيوي للتحويلات المالية في الحد…

مايو 30، 2019 أوراق بيضاء
على مدى عقود، دفعت شحة فرص كسب العيش في اليمن، مئات آلاف اليمنيين للسفر نحو الخارج بحثا عن عمل، ونظرا للعجز المزمن في الحصول على التعليم الجيد في اليمن، فقد كان غالبية هؤلاء من العمال غير الماهرين أو شبه الماهرين، وقد كان لقرب السعودية وقوة اقتصادها القائم على النفط أن جعلها وجهة طبيعية لمعظم القوى اليمنية العاملة في المهجر، كما أن الازدهار الاقتصادي في دول الخليج في السبعينات والثمانينات…

أولويات تعافي وإصلاح قطاع الكهرباء في اليمن

مايو 25، 2021 أوراق بيضاء
الكهرباء عماد أي اقتصاد وضرورة من ضرورات الحياة العصرية، وفي اليمن شكل ضعف خدمات الكهرباء حتى قبل الحرب أحد العوائق الهامة أمام تحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية المستدامة وتوفير الخدمات الأساسية مثل إمدادات المياه، الرعاية الصحية، التعليم، وتهدف هذه الورقة إلى تحديد الأولويات القصوى لاستعادة خدمات قطاع الكهرباء وإصلاح القطاع بعد الحرب؛ إذ تبتدئ الورقة بتقييم وضع الكهرباء قبل الحرب، ومن ثم تناقش…

التمويل الأصغر في اليمن: نظرة عامة على التحديات والفرص

أبريل 30، 2020 أوراق بيضاء
دخل مفهوم التمويل الأصغر إلى اليمن عام 1997، حيث رأته الحكومة حينها، بفضل دعم الدول المانحة، أداة استراتيجية تخفف من الفقر وتساعد في الحد من البطالة عبر توسيع نطاق الخدمات المالية المقدمة إلى رواد الأعمال وأصحاب المشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر، وبالتالي زيادة حصتهم في الاقتصاد الوطني. لكن التحديات المتواصلة التي تواجه قطاع التمويل الأصغر أعاقت نموه وعرقلت قدرته على الوصول إلى السكان وعلى…

Publications

White Papers

The Road Transport Sector in Yemen: Critical Issues and Priority Policies

The Road Transport Sector in Yemen: Critical Issues and Priority Policies
The only road between the Yemeni cities Taiz and Aden. After seven years of war, Yemen’s roads are in a derelict state. (AFP)

Yemen is predominantly a rural country, with over 70% of the population living in 140,000 settlements in impoverished rural areas, and road transportation is essential for its development and overall economic growth. With only about 3,744km of paved rural roads, representing approximately 6.4% of all roads in the country, Yemen’s neglected road network poses significant development challenges. The current conflict, in its various forms, has complicated the movement of people and goods between governorates as well as into and out of Yemen. Road transportation costs have risen as much as 145% due to high fuel prices and the need to take alternative long-distance routes. Road infrastructure has also incurred heavy losses because of the conflict, estimated at $1.3 billion, with the total length of damaged roads reaching about 6,000km along with more than 100 bridges. Road projects have been halted due to a lack of financing, which has exacerbated the sector's problems.

Among the most prominent institutional challenges are a lack of effective policies and legislation, rundown equipment and machinery, and personnel and human resources challenges. A shortage of financial resources, which limits the sector’s operations, is the largest obstacle facing road transport authorities.

This white paper offers short-term, medium and long-term recommendations on alleviating the impacts of the war on the road transportation sector; infrastructure policies for rural and urban roads; policies for road maintenance and repairs that impact commercial traffic; and updating the institutional structure of road transportation. 

In the short-term, efforts must be made to boost the sector's role in developing, implementing, and operating intelligent transportation systems for buses and freight trucks to guarantee the security and safety of passengers and streamline payments for cargo. It is also urgent that stalled road projects are resumed. Efforts must also include the restoration of operations at the weigh stations damaged by the war, application of traffic safety laws on roads between governorates to reduce accidents and enhancement of the institutional capacity of road transport institutions. Humanitarian and emergency aid should be directed toward rural roads to bolster these efforts.

In the medium to long term, authorities should establish inland ports at the main entrances to cities, which could help reduce traffic, heavy loads on roads and the price of goods. Efforts should also include a strategic program to expand rural roads in Yemen, assess the current state of the road network, develop international land border ports and facilitate transit procedures. Plans should also be made to develop the legislative, regulatory and institutional framework of the sector to meet current needs and prevent conflicting interests and tasks.

Read also in White Papers

Combating Corruption in Yemen

November 5, 2018 White Papers
This paper presents a detailed analysis of the nature, extent, and evolution of corruption in Yemen from the presidency of Ali Abdullah Saleh to the present day. It first traces the evolution of state capture and administrative corruption over the course of Saleh’s tenure and maps out the patronage system that emerged under his administration. It outlines the official reform efforts…

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 29, 2018 White Papers
Yemen has spent much of the past 60 years embroiled in armed conflict and political crisis, with this cyclical instability and insecurity among the primary factors that have stymied both private sector development and the establishment of a strong state with well-functioning public institutions. The vast majority of the Yemeni private sector is made up of small or very small businesses,…

Microfinance in Yemen: An Overview of Challenges and Opportunities

April 30, 2020 White Papers
In 1997 microfinance was introduced to Yemen. The government, supported by international donor states, viewed it as a strategic tool to alleviate poverty and reduce unemployment by expanding financial services to small and micro entrepreneurs to increase their share of the national economy. However, persistent challenges facing the microfinance industry have stunted its development, reach…