الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

تحسين العلاقات بين مؤسسات الدولة المركزية والسلطات المحلية

تحسين العلاقات بين مؤسسات الدولة المركزية والسلطات المحلية
منظر من الأعلى لمدينة صنعاء القديمة، تم التقاطه في 12 يوليو / تموز 2007 // drsno / Flickr

المجالس المحلية هي المسؤولة عن قيادة مشاريع التنمية وتقديم الخدمات العامة الأساسية لأكثر من 30 مليون يمني. تتمتع المجالس المحلية بأهمية خاصة في المناطق الريفية التي يعيش فيها حوالي 70% من اليمنيين.

نشرت مبادرة إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن في يوليو/تموز 2018 ورقة بيضاء تستكشف كيف أثر انهيار الاقتصاد اليمني وتشرذم مؤسسات الدولة المركزية خلال الحرب على المجالس المحلية. تستند هذه الورقة البيضاء الجديدة على نتائج الورقة السابقة عبر النظر في كيف تطور الحكم المحلي في السنوات اللاحقة مع التركيز على العلاقة بين السلطات المحلية والحكومتين المركزيتين في عدن (الحكومة المعترف بها دوليًّا) وصنعاء (التابعة للحوثيين غير المعترف بها). كما تشمل هذه الورقة أبحاثًا جديدة عن الحكم المحلي في اليمن منذ عام 2018.

تعكس نتائج هذه الورقة بشكل عام اتجاهات الحكم في مناطق مختلفة من اليمن خلال الحرب. في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون، قيّدت الحكومة التابعة لهم استقلالية السلطات المحلية كجزء من الجهود الرامية لتعزيز السيطرة السياسية وإعادة توزيع الإيرادات لدعم المجهود الحربي. على سبيل المثال، تتحكم الحكومة المركزية في صنعاء عمليًّا بجميع جوانب الحكم المحلي في مناطق سيطرة الحوثيين بمحافظة الحديدة.

أما في مناطق سيطرة الحكومة المعترف بها دوليًّا، فالوضع مختلف بين منطقة وأخرى. اكتسبت السلطات المحلية في محافظتي مأرب وشبوة المنتجتين للنفط استقلالية غير مسبوقة عن الحكومة المركزية واستخدمت الإيرادات التي بدأت بتلقيها حديثًا من مبيعات النفط والغاز لتمويل العمل الحكومي وتأمين الخدمات.

في محافظات أخرى مثل عدن، شلَّ الاقتتال السياسي الداخلي ونقص الإيرادات استقلالية الحكم المحلي. رغم قربهم من مؤسسات الحكومة المركزية في عدن، عجز المسؤولون المحليون عن إتمام مهامهم الأساسية. في الأجزاء التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة المعترف بها دوليًّا بمحافظة الحديدة، لا تتلقى السلطات المحلية دعمًا يُذكر من الحكومة المركزية وتعتمد بشكل عام على التحالف بقيادة السعودية وشركائها على الأرض للحصول على التمويل والدعم.

أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

قطاع النقل البرّي والطّرق في اليمن القضايا الحرجة والسياسات ذات الأولوية

مارس 17، 2022 أوراق بيضاء
يعدّ النقل البري أحد أهم وسائل النقل وأكثرها استخداما. اليمن يعتبر بلد ريفي في الغالب حيث يعيش أكثر من 70% من السكان في 140,000 تجمّع سكاني ينتشر في أنحاء الريف، ويحتاج معظمها إلى طرق وتضمّ أكثر السكان فقرا. وبالتالي فإن النقل البري ضروري للتنمية الريفية والنمو الاقتصادي العام. وتشكّل الطرق الريفية تحدّيا كبيرا للتنمية في اليمن؛ إذ لم تعبّد منها إلا نحو 3,744كم في المناطق الريفية، وهي لا…

تحديات وآفاق النقود الإلكترونية وأنظمة الدفع في اليمن

مارس 7، 2022 أوراق بيضاء
تبحث هذه الورقة في القوانين الحالية المتعلقة باستخدام النقود الإلكترونية في اليمن، والمساعي الرامية الى تبني خدمات النقود الإلكترونية قبل وأثناء النزاع، واللاعبين الرئيسيين، وحالة البنية التحتية في هذا القطاع، والتحديات والآفاق المرتبطة باعتماد العملة الإلكترونية على نطاق أوسع في البلاد.

مشاركة القطاع الخاص في مرحلة ما بعد النزاع في اليمن

أغسطس 29، 2018 أوراق بيضاء
أمضى اليمن معظم سنواته الستين الماضية غارقا في نزاعات مسلحة وأزمات سياسية، حيث كانت الاضطرابات والقلاقل الأمنية من أبرز العوامل التي أعاقت نضج القطاع الخاص وقيام دولة قوية ذات مؤسسات عامة ناجعة. يتألف القطاع الخاص اليمني بغالبيته العظمى من شركات صغيرة أو صغيرة جدا، علما أنها توفّر لما يقرب من 70% من اليمنيين العاملين مصادر أرزاقهم. بالمقابل توفر الزراعة الريفية تقليديا مصدر عمل لأكثر من نصف…

Publications

White Papers

Improving Relations Between Central State Institutions and Local Authorities

Improving Relations Between Central State Institutions and Local Authorities
Rooftop view of the Old City of Sana'a, taken on July 12, 2007 // drsno / Flickr

Local councils are responsible for spearheading development projects and providing basic public services to Yemen’s population of more than 30 million people. The councils are particularly important in rural areas, where about 70 percent of Yemen’s population lives.

In July 2018, the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative published a White paper that explored how the collapse of Yemen’s economy and the fragmentation of central government institutions during the war affected local councils. This new White Paper builds on those findings by examining how local governance has evolved in the intervening years, with a focus on the relationship between local authorities and the central governments in Sana’a and Aden. This White Paper also incorporates new research on local governance in Yemen since 2018.

The findings of this paper broadly reflect governance trends witnessed in various parts of Yemen during the war. In Houthi-controlled areas, the central government in Sana’a has restricted the autonomy of local authorities as part of efforts to consolidate political control and redistribute revenues to the war effort. In Houthi-run parts of Hudaydah governorate, for example, the central government in Sana’a tightly controls virtually all aspects of local governance.

In areas nominally controlled by the internationally recognized government, the story is more mixed. Local authorities in the oil-producing governorates of Marib and Shabwa have gained unprecedented autonomy from the central government and used newfound revenues from oil and gas sales to fund government work and provide services.

However, in other governorates like Aden, local government autonomy has been crippled by political infighting and a shortage of revenues. Despite their proximity to central government institutions in Aden, local officials have struggled to carry out their basic duties. In parts of Hudaydah controlled by the internationally recognized government, local authorities receive negligible support from the central government, relying instead on the Saudi-led coalition and its partners on the ground for funding and support.

Read also in White Papers

The Road Transport Sector in Yemen: Critical Issues and Priority Policies

March 17, 2022 White Papers
Yemen is predominantly a rural country, with over 70% of the population living in 140,000 settlements in impoverished rural areas, and road transportation is essential for its development and overall economic growth. With only about 3,744km of paved rural roads, representing approximately 6.4% of all roads in the country, Yemen’s neglected road network poses significant development…

Local Governance in Yemen Amid Conflict and Instability

July 29, 2018 White Papers
Local councils are among Yemen’s most important state institutions. Responsible for providing basic public services to millions of Yemenis, local councils represent official governance and the Yemeni state for vast swathes of the population. The intensification of the Yemen conflict since March 2015 has undermined the councils’ ability to operate effectively in most areas of the country.…