الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

تحديات وآفاق النقود الإلكترونية وأنظمة الدفع في اليمن

تحديات وآفاق النقود الإلكترونية وأنظمة الدفع في اليمن

ملخص تنفيذي

يمتلك اليمن اقتصادًا يعتمد بشكل كبير على النقد ويعاني من مستويات منخفضة من الشمول المالي. يُعد القطاع المصرفي الرسمي في البلاد غير متطور، ويتسم بضعف قاعدة رأس المال والتركز في المناطق الحضرية، مما تعذر على الغالبية العظمى من اليمنيين الوصول إلى خدماته. شرع البنك المركزي اليمني قُبيل النزاع الحالي في حزمة إصلاحات تهدف إلى تطوير البنية التحتية للقطاع المالي اليمني، والحد من هيمنة النقد من خلال تحسين المعاملات الإلكترونية بين البنوك وأنظمة الدفع الإلكتروني المحلية، ومن بينها خدمات النقود الإلكترونية وخدمات الأموال عبر الهاتف المحمول. ونظرًا للانتشار الواسع للهواتف المحمولة بين السكان، فإن نجاح تلك الإصلاحات قد يزيد نسبة الشمول المالي بشكل كبير، إلا أن اندلاع الصراع المستمر حتى يومنا هذا أعاق التقدم المحرز في هذا الصدد.

تبحث هذه الورقة في القوانين الحالية المتعلقة باستخدام النقود الإلكترونية في اليمن، والمساعي الرامية الى تبني خدمات النقود الإلكترونية قبل وأثناء النزاع، واللاعبين الرئيسيين، وحالة البنية التحتية في هذا القطاع، والتحديات والآفاق المرتبطة باعتماد العملة الإلكترونية على نطاق أوسع في البلاد.

بشكل عام، ارتبط اعتماد النقود الإلكترونية في جميع أنحاء العالم بثلاثة أنواع من البيئات التنظيمية: أسواق عالية التنظيم ومتوسطة ومحدودة التنظيم. في اليمن، اتسم الإطار القانوني السائد قبل عام 2014 بسوق شديدة التنظيم -والتي تمنح الحق في تقديم الخدمات الإلكترونية للبنوك فقط -رغم أن التطبيق ظل محدودًا من الناحية العملية. تصاعدت حدة الصراع اليمني عام 2015، وبحلول 2016 كان البنك المركزي اليمني منقسمًا عبر خطوط المواجهة، مع تنافس فرعي عدن وصنعاء على الهيمنة، الفرع التابع للحكومة المعترف بها دوليًا والآخر التابع لسلطات الحوثيين، على التوالي. في السنوات التالية، اتخذ البنك المركزي في صنعاء خطوات تصعيدية لتأسيس نموذج غير مصرفي محدود التنظيم لتقديم الخدمات المالية الإلكترونية، وهو ما عارضه البنك المركزي في عدن، متمسكًا بالإطار القانوني لما قبل الحرب.

مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار النزاع المسلح في اليمن، والأزمة السياسية، والانقسام المؤسسي العميق داخل مؤسسات الدولة الرئيسية، بما في ذلك البرلمان والبنك المركزي اليمني، والبنية التحتية غير المتطورة للدفع الإلكتروني بشكل عام، من غير المرجح تحقيق استخدام واسع النطاق للنقود الإلكترونية. في ظل النزاع الدائر، من شأن اتخاذ أي خطوات أحادية جريئة من جانب أي من أطراف الصراع المتناحرة أن يعمق الانقسامات داخل المؤسسات المعنية بتفعيل خدمات الدفع الإلكتروني. يرتبط تحقيق المبادرات الشاملة لتعزيز النظام البيئي لتقديم خدمات النقود الإلكترونية والدفع الإلكتروني على الدوام بإنهاء الانقسام السياسي وتحقيق الاستقرار في النظام النقدي، وهو ما يجب أن يبدأ بتوحيد فرعي البنك المركزي اليمني وسعر الصرف الرسمي.

​​وحتى يتم التوصل إلى تسوية، توصي هذه الورقة أصحاب المصلحة المهتمين بتطبيق الخدمات المالية الإلكترونية في اليمن بتبني نهج "عدم الإضرار". ينبغي أن يركز ذلك بوجه عام على دعم إعادة توحيد البيئة التنظيمية للبلد، ومراعاة دعم المؤسسات العامة والخاصة في تطوير القدرات والبنية التحتية اللازمة لتقديم خدمات النقود الإلكترونية والدفع الإلكتروني، بطريقة لا تتسبب في تفاقم الفوضى الراهنة في البيئة التنظيمية والنظام النقدي.

على المدى الطويل، ينبغي لأصحاب المصلحة الدوليين دعم البنك المركزي اليمني في وضع خطط استراتيجية لتحقيق الاستقرار في النظام النقدي وتعزيز استقرار النظام المالي، بما ذلك وضع استراتيجية لنظام المدفوعات الوطني تنطوي على تعزيز البنية التحتية للمدفوعات وتسهيل تحوّل مدروس نحو المدفوعات الإلكترونية.

 

أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

اليمن بين سندان الحرب ومطرقة فيروس كورونا: اقتصاد هش بمواجهة محن متصاعدة

أكتوبر 12، 2020 أوراق بيضاء
أدى اندلاع الحرب في اليمن أوائل العام 2015 إلى توقف صادرات النفط على نطاق واسع، ومن حينه تعتمد البلاد بشكل شبه كامل على ثلاثة مصادر خارجية رئيسية لتأمين تدفقات العملات الأجنبية وتحفيز النشاط الاقتصادي: المساعدات الإنسانية الأجنبية، والدعم المالي السعودي المقدم إلى الحكومة اليمنية، - والاكثر أهمية - التحويلات المالية من المغتربين اليمنيين الذين يعمل معظمهم في السعودية. وكان لانتشار جائحة…

تحسين العلاقات بين مؤسسات الدولة المركزية والسلطات المحلية

سبتمبر 30، 2021 أوراق بيضاء
تعكس نتائج هذه الورقة بشكل عام اتجاهات الحكم في مناطق مختلفة من اليمن خلال الحرب. في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون، قيّدت الحكومة التابعة لهم استقلالية السلطات المحلية كجزء من الجهود الرامية لتعزيز السيطرة السياسية وإعادة توزيع الإيرادات لدعم المجهود الحربي. على سبيل المثال، تتحكم الحكومة المركزية في صنعاء عمليّا بجميع جوانب الحكم المحلي في مناطق سيطرة الحوثيين بمحافظة الحديدة. أما في…

التمويل الأصغر في اليمن: نظرة عامة على التحديات والفرص

أبريل 30، 2020 أوراق بيضاء
دخل مفهوم التمويل الأصغر إلى اليمن عام 1997، حيث رأته الحكومة حينها، بفضل دعم الدول المانحة، أداة استراتيجية تخفف من الفقر وتساعد في الحد من البطالة عبر توسيع نطاق الخدمات المالية المقدمة إلى رواد الأعمال وأصحاب المشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر، وبالتالي زيادة حصتهم في الاقتصاد الوطني. لكن التحديات المتواصلة التي تواجه قطاع التمويل الأصغر أعاقت نموه وعرقلت قدرته على الوصول إلى السكان وعلى…

Publications

White Papers

Challenges and Prospects for Electronic Money and Payment Systems in Yemen

Challenges and Prospects for Electronic Money and Payment Systems in Yemen

Executive Summary 

Yemen has a heavily cash-based economy with low levels of financial inclusion. The country’s formal banking sector is highly underdeveloped, undercapitalized and concentrated in urban areas, leaving it inaccessible for the majority of the Yemeni population. Just prior to the current conflict, the Central Bank of Yemen (CBY) began reforms aimed at developing Yemen’s financial sector infrastructure and reducing the predominance of cash by improving electronic interbank transactions and local electronic payment systems, including electronic and mobile money services. Given the widespread prevalence of mobile phones among the population, successful reform had the potential to dramatically increase financial inclusion. The onset of the ongoing conflict, however, interrupted progress.

This paper examines the existing regulations surrounding the use of e-money in Yemen, its attempts to adopt e-money services both before and during the conflict, the major players and state of infrastructure in the sector, and the challenges and prospects facing greater adoption of electronic currency in the country.    

Broadly speaking, e-money adoption around the globe has been accompanied by three types of regulatory environments: highly, moderately and minimally regulated markets. In Yemen, a highly regulated market – which grants the right to provide e-money services only to banks – was the legal framework prior to 2014, though in practice adoption remained minimal. The Yemeni conflict escalated in 2015, and by 2016 the CBY was fragmented across frontlines, with rivaling branches vying for dominance in Aden and Sana’a – affiliated with the internationally recognized government and the Houthi authorities, respectively. In the years following, the CBY-Sana’a has increasingly taken steps to establish a minimally regulated, nonbank led model for e-money services, which the CBY-Aden has opposed, holding to the prewar legal framework.

Given Yemen’s armed conflict, political crisis, deep institutional fragmentation in key state institutions – including the parliament and the CBY – and the underdeveloped state of e-payment infrastructure overall, widespread use of e-money is unlikely to emerge. During the conflict, any enforcement of aggressive unilateral steps by any of the competing parties to the conflict could deepen the division in the institutions involved in operating the e-payment services. Holistic initiatives to strengthen the Yemeni e-money and e-payment ecosystem are invariably tied to ending political division and stabilizing the monetary regime, which must start by unifying the central banks and the official exchange rate.

Until a resolution can be reached, this paper recommends that stakeholders interested in implementing e-money services in Yemen adopt a “do no harm” approach. In general, this should focus on supporting the reunification of the country’s regulatory environment and, when supporting public and private entities in developing the necessary skills and infrastructure to implement e-money and e-payment services, do so in a way that does not compound the current regulatory and monetary chaos. 

Over the long term, international stakeholders should support a unified CBY in developing strategic plans to stabilize the monetary regime and foster recovery of the financial system, including developing a national payment systems strategy to strengthen the payment infrastructure and facilitate a well-studied shift to electronic payments. 

 

Read also in White Papers

Combating Corruption in Yemen

November 5, 2018 White Papers
This paper presents a detailed analysis of the nature, extent, and evolution of corruption in Yemen from the presidency of Ali Abdullah Saleh to the present day. It first traces the evolution of state capture and administrative corruption over the course of Saleh’s tenure and maps out the patronage system that emerged under his administration. It outlines the official reform efforts…

Yemen’s Accelerating Economic Woes During the COVID-19 Pandemic

October 12, 2020 White Papers
Since early 2015, when the onset of war led to the cessation of large-scale oil exports, Yemen has been almost completely dependent on three main external sources to secure foreign currency inflows and stimulate economic activity: foreign humanitarian aid, Saudi financial support to the Yemeni government, and – by far the most significant – remittances from Yemeni expatriates, most working…

Improving Relations Between Central State Institutions and Local Authorities

September 30, 2021 White Papers
In July 2018, the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative published a White paper that explored how the collapse of Yemen’s economy and the fragmentation of central government institutions during the war affected local councils. This new White Paper builds on those findings by examining how local governance has evolved in the intervening years, with a focus on the relationship between local…