الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

اليمن بين سندان الحرب ومطرقة فيروس كورونا: اقتصاد هش بمواجهة محن متصاعدة

اليمن بين سندان الحرب ومطرقة فيروس كورونا: اقتصاد هش بمواجهة محن متصاعدة
بائع يرتدي كمامة في سوق الطويل في كريتر، عدن، في 23 مايو/أيار 2020 . // الصورة لمركز صنعاء، التقطها أحمد الشطيري

أدى اندلاع الحرب في اليمن أوائل العام 2015 إلى توقف صادرات النفط على نطاق واسع، ومن حينه تعتمد البلاد بشكل شبه كامل على ثلاثة مصادر خارجية رئيسية لتأمين تدفقات العملات الأجنبية وتحفيز النشاط الاقتصادي: المساعدات الإنسانية الأجنبية، والدعم المالي السعودي المقدم إلى الحكومة اليمنية، - والاكثر أهمية - التحويلات المالية من المغتربين اليمنيين الذين يعمل معظمهم في السعودية. وكان لانتشار جائحة كورونا تأثير سلبي أدى إلى انخفاض في المصادر الثلاثة للعملات الأجنبية بشكل كبير عام 2020.
أسفرت استجابة السعودية لجائحة كورونا التي ترافقت مع هبوط أسعار النفط إلى مستويات قياسية عن انكماشات اقتصادية تاريخية وأدت إلى خفض الإنفاق في المملكة، ما قوض بدوره قدرة مئات الآلاف من اليمنيين على العمل هناك وإرسال الأموال إلى وطنهم. وحدث هذا بالتزامن مع تخفيضات كبيرة في دعم المانحين الدوليين لجهود الإغاثة في اليمن واستنفاد البنك المركزي اليمني في عدن عملياً مبلغ 2 مليار دولار أمريكي التي ضختها السعودية عام 2018.
كان نصف سكان اليمن تقريبا يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي قبل نشوب النزاع المسلح الحالي. سرعت الحرب من وتيرة الانهيار الاقتصادي العام ودفعت بملايين آخرين من اليمنيين إلى دائرة الحاجة لمساعدات غذائية طارئة للبقاء على قيد الحياة. هذا النقص الحاد حالياً في مصادر العملات الأجنبية له آثار عميقة على قيمة الريال اليمني وقدرة البلاد على تمويل واردات الوقود والسلع الأساسية، ومن المرجح أن يؤدي إلى تفاقم الأزمة الإنسانية على نحو سريع.
تقدم هذه الورقة توصيات مقترحة للتخفيف من الآثار المترتبة عن جائحة كورنا على مصادر التدفقات النقدية الأجنبية الرئيسية لكل من الفاعلين واللاعبين الدوليين والمحليين كاللأمم المتحدة وأصحاب المصلحة الدوليين الآخرين، السعودية وغيرها من دول الخليج، والحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دوليًا وسلطات الأمر الواقع في صنعاء (جماعة الحوثيين المسلحة/أنصار الله).

أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

الحكم المحلي في اليمن في ظل النزاع والاضطراب

يوليو 29، 2018 أوراق بيضاء
تعتبر المجالس المحلية من أهم المؤسسات الرسمية اليمنية، فهي مسؤولة عن توفير الخدمات العامة الأساسية لملايين اليمنيين، كما تمثل الحكم الرسمي والدولة اليمنية لشريحة ضخمة من السكان، إلا أن تفاقم النزاع منذ آذار / مارس 2015 قوض قدرة هذه المجالس على العمل بفعالية في معظم أنحاء البلاد. تعتمد المجالس المحلية بشكل كبير على التمويل الحكومي وبدرجة أقل على الإيرادات المحلية كالرسوم على المرافق الأساسية…

القوى اليمنية العاملة المغتربة تحت التهديد: الدور الحيوي للتحويلات المالية في الحد…

مايو 30، 2019 أوراق بيضاء
على مدى عقود، دفعت شحة فرص كسب العيش في اليمن، مئات آلاف اليمنيين للسفر نحو الخارج بحثا عن عمل، ونظرا للعجز المزمن في الحصول على التعليم الجيد في اليمن، فقد كان غالبية هؤلاء من العمال غير الماهرين أو شبه الماهرين، وقد كان لقرب السعودية وقوة اقتصادها القائم على النفط أن جعلها وجهة طبيعية لمعظم القوى اليمنية العاملة في المهجر، كما أن الازدهار الاقتصادي في دول الخليج في السبعينات والثمانينات…

التمويل الأصغر في اليمن: نظرة عامة على التحديات والفرص

أبريل 30، 2020 أوراق بيضاء
دخل مفهوم التمويل الأصغر إلى اليمن عام 1997، حيث رأته الحكومة حينها، بفضل دعم الدول المانحة، أداة استراتيجية تخفف من الفقر وتساعد في الحد من البطالة عبر توسيع نطاق الخدمات المالية المقدمة إلى رواد الأعمال وأصحاب المشاريع الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر، وبالتالي زيادة حصتهم في الاقتصاد الوطني. لكن التحديات المتواصلة التي تواجه قطاع التمويل الأصغر أعاقت نموه وعرقلت قدرته على الوصول إلى السكان وعلى…

Publications

White Papers

Yemen’s Accelerating Economic Woes During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Yemen’s Accelerating Economic Woes During the COVID-19 Pandemic
A vendor wears a face mask while waiting for customers at Al-Taweel market in Crater, Aden, on May 2020 ,23. // Sana'a Center photo by Ahmed Al-Shutiri

Since early 2015, when the onset of war led to the cessation of large-scale oil exports, Yemen has been almost completely dependent on three main external sources to secure foreign currency inflows and stimulate economic activity: foreign humanitarian aid, Saudi financial support to the Yemeni government, and – by far the most significant – remittances from Yemeni expatriates, most working in Saudi Arabia. All three of these foreign currency sources have dramatically declined in 2020.

The Saudi response to the COVID-19 global pandemic, in concert with record low oil prices, led to historic economic contractions and spending cuts in the kingdom, in turn undermining the ability of hundreds of thousands of Yemenis to work there and send money home. This occurred alongside a steep decline in international donor funding for the Yemen relief effort and the Central Bank of Yemen in Aden effectively exhausting the US$2 billion Saudi deposit it received in 2018.  

Roughly half the population in Yemen was already food insecure before the onset of the current armed conflict. The general economic collapse the war precipitated led to millions more requiring emergency food assistance to survive. The current acute shortage of foreign currency sources has profound implications for the value of Yemen’s domestic currency, and the country’s ability to finance fuel and basic commodity imports, and is likely to lead to the rapid intensification of the humanitarian crisis. 

This paper presents policy recommendations to address this situation for the United Nations and other international stakeholders, Saudi Arabia and other Gulf states, as well as the internationally recognized Yemeni government and the de facto authorities in Sana’a (the armed Houthi movement, Ansar Allah).

Read also in White Papers

The Road Transport Sector in Yemen: Critical Issues and Priority Policies

March 17, 2022 White Papers
Yemen is predominantly a rural country, with over 70% of the population living in 140,000 settlements in impoverished rural areas, and road transportation is essential for its development and overall economic growth. With only about 3,744km of paved rural roads, representing approximately 6.4% of all roads in the country, Yemen’s neglected road network poses significant development…

Combating Corruption in Yemen

November 5, 2018 White Papers
This paper presents a detailed analysis of the nature, extent, and evolution of corruption in Yemen from the presidency of Ali Abdullah Saleh to the present day. It first traces the evolution of state capture and administrative corruption over the course of Saleh’s tenure and maps out the patronage system that emerged under his administration. It outlines the official reform efforts…

Microfinance in Yemen: An Overview of Challenges and Opportunities

April 30, 2020 White Papers
In 1997 microfinance was introduced to Yemen. The government, supported by international donor states, viewed it as a strategic tool to alleviate poverty and reduce unemployment by expanding financial services to small and micro entrepreneurs to increase their share of the national economy. However, persistent challenges facing the microfinance industry have stunted its development, reach…