الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

معالجة ثُقل أعباء الدين العام في اليمن

معالجة ثُقل أعباء الدين العام في اليمن

على مدى عقود قبل اندلاع الصراع الدائر، كان اليمن عرضة للعجز المتكرر في الموازنة العامة نتيجة الافتقار إلى إصلاحات مالية جادة، وارتفاع النفقات الجارية -وخاصة تلك المتعلقة برواتب القطاع العام ودعم أسعار الوقود -والاعتماد المفرط على عائدات النفط. ورغم أن التزامات الديون الخارجية ظلت منخفضة، كان سوق الدين ضعيف التنوع، حيث تركز حاملو أذون الخزانة بشكل كبير في القطاع المصرفي، بينما تركزت السندات الحكومية بشكل حصري تقريباً لدى صناديق التقاعد العامة.
كان لتنامي الصراع الدائر عام 2015 تأثير سلبي عميق على موقف الدين العام في اليمن، حيث توقفت صادرات النفط على نطاق واسع، مما أدى إلى انهيار الإيرادات العامة، وتوقف البنوك وصناديق التقاعد عن شراء أدوات الدين الحكومية. وأصبحت إدارة الدين العام منقسمة بين إدارتي البنك المركزي اليمني المتنافستين في عدن وصنعاء، اللتين علقتا سداد التزامات الديون المحلية والخارجية. واجه حملة الدين العام أزمة سيولة نظراً لعجزهم في الحصول على مدفوعات الفائدة، مما قوض قدرة البنوك على الوفاء بالتزاماتها تجاه العملاء وهدد ملاءتها المالية، في حين كافحت صناديق التقاعد لدفع رواتب المتقاعدين.
في الفترة من 25 إلى 27 يناير/ كانون الثاني 2021، اجتمع كبار الخبراء والمهنيين اليمنيين افتراضياً عبر الإنترنت في منتدى رواد التنمية السابع (DCF)، كجزء من مبادرة إعادة تصور الاقتصاد اليمني، لمناقشة تطور وهيكل الدين العام في اليمن، والديناميكيات التي أدت إلى توسعه الهائل خلال الصراع، ومخاطر الدين العام المرتبطة بالاقتصاد الكلي. أعقب ذلك بأسبوع جلسة إحاطة لأصحاب المصلحة الدوليين في 2 فبراير/ شباط. وقد شكلت هذه النقاشات الأساس للبحث المقدم في هذه الورقة والتوصيات المطروحة فيه لمعالجة أزمة الدين العام في اليمن.

أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

أولويات تعافي وإصلاح قطاع الكهرباء في اليمن

مايو 25، 2021 أوراق بيضاء
الكهرباء عماد أي اقتصاد وضرورة من ضرورات الحياة العصرية، وفي اليمن شكل ضعف خدمات الكهرباء حتى قبل الحرب أحد العوائق الهامة أمام تحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية المستدامة وتوفير الخدمات الأساسية مثل إمدادات المياه، الرعاية الصحية، التعليم، وتهدف هذه الورقة إلى تحديد الأولويات القصوى لاستعادة خدمات قطاع الكهرباء وإصلاح القطاع بعد الحرب؛ إذ تبتدئ الورقة بتقييم وضع الكهرباء قبل الحرب، ومن ثم تناقش…

قطاع النقل البرّي والطّرق في اليمن القضايا الحرجة والسياسات ذات الأولوية

مارس 17، 2022 أوراق بيضاء
يعدّ النقل البري أحد أهم وسائل النقل وأكثرها استخداما. اليمن يعتبر بلد ريفي في الغالب حيث يعيش أكثر من 70% من السكان في 140,000 تجمّع سكاني ينتشر في أنحاء الريف، ويحتاج معظمها إلى طرق وتضمّ أكثر السكان فقرا. وبالتالي فإن النقل البري ضروري للتنمية الريفية والنمو الاقتصادي العام. وتشكّل الطرق الريفية تحدّيا كبيرا للتنمية في اليمن؛ إذ لم تعبّد منها إلا نحو 3,744كم في المناطق الريفية، وهي لا…

مكافحة الفساد في اليمن

نوفمبر 5، 2018 أوراق بيضاء
يعتبر الفساد، أو إساءة استخدام السلطة لتحقيق مكاسب خاصة، راسخا بعمق في الاقتصاد السياسي اليمني. على مدى عقود، شهد اليمن عدة حالات استحواذ على مقدرات الدولة، حيث كان القادة السياسيون من أعلى المستويات ينتزعون عائدات مؤسسات الدولة لتستفيد منها قلة مختارة. وكان الفساد الإداري أيضا شائعا في اليمن: فالرشوة في المستويات الدنيا والمحسوبية أصبحا جزءا من الحياة اليومية. ويمكن القول بوجود قبول ثقافي…

Publications

White Papers

Addressing the Crushing Weight of Yemen’s Public Debt

Addressing the Crushing Weight of Yemen’s Public Debt

For decades prior to the ongoing conflict, Yemen had been vulnerable to recurring budget deficits due to a lack of meaningful fiscal reform, high recurrent expenditures – mainly public sector salaries and fuel subsidies – and an overdependence on oil revenues. While foreign debt obligations remained low, the debt market was poorly diversified, with treasury bill holders narrowly concentrated within the banking sector and government bonds held almost exclusively by public pension funds.
The escalation of the ongoing conflict in 2015 has had a profoundly negative impact on Yemen’s debt position. Large-scale oil exports ceased, leading to a collapse in public revenues, while banks and pension funds stopped purchasing government debt instruments. Management of the public debt became bifurcated between rival central bank administrations in Aden and Sana’a, both of which suspended payments on foreign and domestic debt obligations. Unable to receive interest payments, public debt holders faced a liquidity crisis, leaving banks unable to honor customer obligations and threatening their solvency, while pension funds have struggled to support retirees.
On January 25-27, 2021, senior Yemeni experts and professionals convened virtually for the 7th Development Champions Forum (DCF), as part of the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative, to discuss the evolution and structure of Yemen’s public debt, the dynamics during the conflict that have led to its colossal expansion, and the macroeconomic risks it poses. This was followed a week later with a briefing for international stakeholders on February 2. These discussions formed the basis for the research presented in this paper and its recommendations for addressing Yemen’s public debt crisis.

Read also in White Papers

The Road Transport Sector in Yemen: Critical Issues and Priority Policies

March 17, 2022 White Papers
Yemen is predominantly a rural country, with over 70% of the population living in 140,000 settlements in impoverished rural areas, and road transportation is essential for its development and overall economic growth. With only about 3,744km of paved rural roads, representing approximately 6.4% of all roads in the country, Yemen’s neglected road network poses significant development…

Local Governance in Yemen Amid Conflict and Instability

July 29, 2018 White Papers
Local councils are among Yemen’s most important state institutions. Responsible for providing basic public services to millions of Yemenis, local councils represent official governance and the Yemeni state for vast swathes of the population. The intensification of the Yemen conflict since March 2015 has undermined the councils’ ability to operate effectively in most areas of the country.…

An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction

May 29, 2018 White Papers
The ongoing conflict in Yemen has imposed grievous costs on the country’s people, damaging lives, property and infrastructure and ravaging the country’s already fragile economy. And yet the conflict will eventually subside. While some reconstruction projects have begun, they have generally been undertaken haphazardly and not as part of a comprehensive and structured plan. Post-conflict…