الاصدارات

أوراق بيضاء

مكافحة الفساد في اليمن

مكافحة الفساد في اليمن
صيادين في محافظة الحديدة

يعتبر الفساد، أو إساءة استخدام السلطة لتحقيق مكاسب خاصة، راسخاً بعمق في الاقتصاد السياسي اليمني. على مدى عقود، شهد اليمن عدة حالات استحواذ على مقدرات الدولة، حيث كان القادة السياسيون من أعلى المستويات ينتزعون عائدات مؤسسات الدولة لتستفيد منها قلة مختارة. وكان الفساد الإداري أيضاً شائعاً في اليمن: فالرشوة في المستويات الدنيا والمحسوبية أصبحا جزءاً من الحياة اليومية. ويمكن القول بوجود قبول ثقافي – بل وتوقع – للفساد في السياسة والأعمال، حيث أصبحت الشبكات غير الرسمية أكثر نفوذاً من المؤسسات الرسمية.

تعود أصول الاستحواذ على الدولة والفساد الإداري في اليمن إلى فترة الرئيس حكم علي عبد الله صالح[1] . ففي عهده قامت مجموعة من النخب ببناء نظام محسوبية على مدار الثمانينات والتسعينات قبل وبعد توحد شطري اليمن.[1] كان المستفيدون الرئيسيون من النظام الجديد هذا هم أسرة صالح والنخبة القبلية والعسكرية والتجارية المقربة منه، بما في ذلك منطقة صالح (سنحان)، والتي تم تعيين أبنائها في المستويات العليا من الهياكل العسكرية والأجهزة الأمنية في اليمن. كانت قواعد اللعبة بسيطة: هبات ترعاها الدولة مقابل الولاء للنظام. بعد اكتشاف النفط في اليمن منتصف ثمانينات القرن الماضي، أصبحت ريوع النفط والغاز تموّل توسعة وحماية شبكة محسوبية صالح.

بعد ضغوط المجتمع الدولي للتصدي للفساد المستشري في اليمن، تم استحداث موجة من الإصلاحات لمكافحة الفساد في منتصف العقد الأول من القرن الحالي. على الرغم من المديح الذي ناله في ذلك الوقت ما بدا أنه تقدم في معالجة الفساد، إلا أن كل تلك الإصلاحات أثبتت على المدى الطويل عدم فعاليتها. في غضون ذلك، انخفض إنتاج النفط اليمني بعد عام 2001، وأصبح نظام محسوبية صالح أقل قابلية للدوام بمرور الوقت.

أوائل العام 2011، اندلعت احتجاجات واسعة النطاق في جميع أنحاء اليمن، ما دفع نحو تصارع قوى النخبة في صنعاء على السلطة. توحد المتظاهرون في ظل عدائهم المشترك لمنظومة فاسدة مقترنة بشكل وثيق بصالح وأتباعه. تنحَى صالح في فبراير / شباط 2012، ليخلفه الرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي ، وتحدث هو والحكومة الانتقالية بشكل صارم عن الفساد. ومع ذلك فإن ما حدث هو فقط ازدياد الفساد في ظل الحكومة الجديدة: فقد تسارعت مدفوعات المحاسيب، وزاد استغلال دعم الوقود من قبل القطاع الخاص، وتسربت الأموال من المساعدات الإنسانية والإنمائية التي قدمها المجتمع الدولي. وفي سياق محاربة الفساد، حشد الحوثيون دعماً جماهيرياً. وبعد دخولهم صنعاء في سيبتمبر/أيلول من عام 2014 بدعم مفترض من الرئيس السابق صالح، أعلنوا عن نيتهم محاربة الفساد وقدموا أنفسهم كبديل جيد في ذلك الوضع. وتحت شعار مكافحة الفساد بدأوا بمحاولة إخراج هادي من السلطة عام 2015، وهي الخطوة التي استجلبت في النهاية التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية والداعم لحكومة هادي ما أدى إلى توسع هائل في نطاق النزاع.

على مدار النزاع الحالي، يشهد اليمن فساداً لا يتوقف وبحسب نفس القواعد التي كانت سائدة قبل الحرب وعلى المسبتوى نفسه. ومع تسبب النزاع بتشظي البلاد، أصبح الاستحواذ على الدولة اليمنية أكثر تعقيداً بكثير. 

في اقتصاد الحرب، تظهر شبكات المحسوبية الآن بين شخصيات هامشية أو غير معروفة سابقاً. وقد ساهمت المشاركة المالية لكل دول التحالف السعودي في رعاية المصالح العابرة للحدود الوطنية، تاريخياً اعتاد اليمن على درجة من الموالاة للسعودية. يشير التواطؤ المزعوم بين المستوردين المحسوبين على الحوثيين والمسؤولين المتحالفين مع الحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دولياً إلى شبكات المحسوبية التي قد تعبر الخطوط الأمامية للحرب نفسها. ومع تزايد وتنوع الجهات الفاعلة المتربحة من النشاط غير المشروع في اقتصاد الحرب، أصبحت المصالح الاقتصادية المستثمرة في تواصل النزاع أكثر فأكثر رسوخاً.

على أي شخص مهتم ببناء يمن مستقر بعد النزاع أن يأخذ على محمل الجد التحدي الذي يطرحه الفساد ضمن اقتصاد الحرب في اليمن. ومن هذا المنطلق، نقدم المبادئ والتوجيهات/التوصيات التالية:

مبادئ توجيهية/توصيات لصانعي السياسات بهدف معالجة الفساد في اليمن:

  • المبدأ التوجيهي رقم 1: الاعتراف بالتعقيد. على أية محاولة للتصدي للفساد في اليمن أن تعترف بـ/وتهدف إلى فهم آليات الفساد المعقدة والمحددة بسياقاتها في قلب اقتصاد الحرب في اليمن، بالإضافة للجهات الفاعلة المعنية وأي مصالح سياسية واقتصادية متداخلة. سيسمح الفهم السياقي المتطور لمقرري السياسات بمقارنة الفوائد وتوقع المزالق المحتملة أثناء وضع استراتيجية لمكافحة الفساد.
  • المبدأ التوجيهي رقم 2: التنفيذ التدريجي. بالنظر إلى ارتفاع مستويات الاستحواذ على مقدرات الدولة وانتشار الفساد الإداري في اليمن، سيكون من غير الواقعي وربما الضار بالنسبة لصناع السياسات تطبيق استراتيجية مكافحة فساد مفاجئة وهجومية، ويجب أن تتم استعادة مقدرات الدولة بشكل تدريجي، مع تنفيذ مرحلي لإصلاحات مكافحة الفساد بما يحد من التسبب بصدمة لمنظومة الفساد. إن أية محاولة لمحاربة الفساد بطريقة مستعجلة أو سطحية ستؤدي لأخطاء جسيمة في السياسات، تجعلها تقود إلى معاناة أكبر بين أفراد الشعب اليمني بدل تقييد تصرفات الأفراد الفاسدين.
  • المبدأ التوجيهي رقم 3: إشراك أكبر عدد ممكن من الفاعلين. نظراً لانتشار الفساد في اليمن على أوسع نطاق، ينبغي ألا تستهدف جهود مكافحة الفساد بشكل انتقائي أي جهة فاعلة واحدة، بل أن تسعى بدلاً من ذلك إلى التأثير على النظام ككل. إذا كان هناك أي تقدم في تحقيق سلام قصير أو طويل المدى، فسوف يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى كسب تأييد أكبر عدد ممكن من الفاعلين.

توصيات سياسات عامة ليمن ما بعد النزاع:

  • الاعتماد على إطار مكافحة الفساد الحالي في اليمن من خلال تمويل مؤسسات مكافحة الفساد الحالية التي تديرها الدولة، وتشجيع المزيد من التنسيق وتبادل البيانات فيما بينها.
  • تشجيع الشفافية والمساءلة من خلال المطالبة بمعايير أعلى من الإفصاح العام، ولا سيما بشأن المناقصات الحكومية ورواتب المسؤولين المعينين وكبار الموظفين الحكوميين.
  • الحد من تضارب المصالح عبر إلزام موظفي الحكومة بالقانون والتخلي عن تحكمهم بأي أعمال تجارية خاصة، وإنشاء مراكز تعقب في شركات الطاقة التي تديرها الدولة، وتنفيذ اللوائح المتعلقة بتكافؤ فرص العمل داخل القطاع العام، وإصلاح الجهاز العسكري والأمني.
  • تحسين إدارة الموارد المالية الحكومية من خلال بناء نظام صارم لمراقبة صرف الأموال الحكومية، بما يجعل البنك المركزي اليمني مستقلاً تماماً. يتطلب ذلك الالتزام بتشريعات مكافحة الفساد لاستمرار الحصول على مساعدات الجهات المانحة الخارجية، ومراقبة المساعدات المالية المقدمة عن قرب لمشاريع إعادة الإعمار والتنمية المحلية في فترة ما بعد الحرب.
  • نزع مركزية السلطة الاقتصادية من خلال تمكين السلطات المحلية من تقديم الخدمات العامة وتنفيذ مشاريع التنمية المحلية، والمساعدة في إنشاء وتوسيع الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة (SMEs) وتمكين وكالات مكافحة الفساد من مراقبة شركات استيراد الوقود.

 


[1] كان اليمن مقسما إلى شطرين (جنوب اليمن وشمال اليمن)، حيث توحدت الجمهورية العربية اليمنية (الشمال) مع جمهورية اليمن الديمقراطية الشعبية (الجنوب) في 22 مايو 1990 لتأسيس دولة جديدة باسم الجمهورية اليمنية.

أقرا أيضًا في أوراق بيضاء

تحديات وآفاق النقود الإلكترونية وأنظمة الدفع في اليمن

مارس 7، 2022 أوراق بيضاء
تبحث هذه الورقة في القوانين الحالية المتعلقة باستخدام النقود الإلكترونية في اليمن، والمساعي الرامية الى تبني خدمات النقود الإلكترونية قبل وأثناء النزاع، واللاعبين الرئيسيين، وحالة البنية التحتية في هذا القطاع، والتحديات والآفاق المرتبطة باعتماد العملة الإلكترونية على نطاق أوسع في البلاد.

معالجة ثقل أعباء الدين العام في اليمن

يوليو 20، 2022 أوراق بيضاء
على مدى عقود قبل اندلاع الصراع الدائر، كان اليمن عرضة للعجز المتكرر في الموازنة العامة نتيجة للافتقار إلى إصلاحات مالية جادة، وارتفاع النفقات الجارية -وخاصة تلك المتعلقة برواتب القطاع العام ودعم أسعار الوقود -والاعتماد المفرط على عائدات النفط. وبعد عام واحد من إعلان الوحدة في 1990، تخلفت البلاد بشكل فعلي عن سداد التزامات الديون المستحقة عليها للدائنين الخارجيين. ورغم تحسن موارد اليمن…

إطار عمل مؤسّسي لإعادة إعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن

مايو 29، 2018 أوراق بيضاء
فرض النزاع الدائر في اليمن تكاليف جمة على اليمنيين، ملحقا أضرارا في الأرواح والممتلكات والبنى التحتية وانهيارا في اقتصاد البلاد الذي كان هشا أصلا قبل بداية النزاع. ومع ذلك فإن النزاع سينحسر عاجلا أم آجلا ومع ذلك فإن النزاع سينحسر عاجلا أم آجلا. وبالرغم من بدء تنفيذ بعض مشاريع إعادة الاعمار، إلا أنها بدأت بشكل عشوائي وليس كجزء من عملية شاملة ومنظمة، وعليه فإن على جهود إعادة الإعمار اللاحقة…

Publications

White Papers

Combating Corruption in Yemen

Combating Corruption in Yemen
Fishermen in the province of Hodeidah

Corruption, or the abuse of power for private gain, is deeply entrenched in the Yemeni political economy. For decades Yemen has witnessed state capture, with political leaders at the highest level extracting rents from state institutions to benefit a select few. Administrative corruption, too, has been commonplace in Yemen: low-level bribery and favoritism have become a part of everyday life. There is arguably a cultural acceptance — even an expectation — of corruption in politics and business, as informal networks have come to wield more influence than official institutions.

State capture and administrative corruption in Yemen have their origins in the presidency of President Ali Abdullah Saleh. Under Saleh, a band of elites built a system of patronage over the course of the 1980s and 1990s, both before and after the 1990 unification of North and South Yemen.[1] The main beneficiaries of this “neopatrimonial” patronage system were the members of Saleh’s family, tribe, and close associates, who were installed into the upper echelons of Yemen’s military structures and security apparatus. The rules of the game were simple: state-sponsored handouts in exchange for loyalty to the regime. After oil was discovered in Yemen in the mid-1980s, oil and gas rents bankrolled the expansion and maintenance of Saleh’s patronage network.

Following pressure from the international community to address endemic corruption in Yemen, a wave of anti-corruption reforms were introduced in the mid-2000s. Despite praise at the time for what appeared to be progress towards addressing corruption, in the long term the reforms seem to have proven ineffective. In the meantime, Yemeni oil production declined after 2001, and Saleh’s patronage system became increasingly untenable.

Widespread protests broke out across Yemen in early 2011 and an elite power struggle ensued in Sana’a. Protestors were united by a shared animosity against the corrupt system they closely associated with Saleh and his cohorts. Saleh stepped down in February 2012. Saleh’s successor, President Abdo Rabbu Mansour Hadi, and the transitional government that he presided over talked tough on corruption. However, extensive corruption continued under the new government: patronage payments accelerated, fuel subsidies increased for the private sector, and money intended for  humanitarian and development aid donated by the international community was diverted. In this context the Houthis rallied popular support by tapping into anti-corruption sentiments. After the Houthis entered Sana’a in September 2014 with the presumed support of former president Saleh, they signalled their determination to fight corruption and present themselves as a worthy alternative to the status quo. Operating under the cover of an anti-corruption banner the Houthis attempted to push Hadi from power in early 2015. This move led the Saudi-led coalition to enter the conflict in support of the Hadi government in March 2015, intensifying the conflict.

Over the course of the conflict, Yemen has witnessed corruption that continues to operate according to the same rules as before the war and at an equally troubling rate. As the conflict has fragmented and regionalized the country, however, state capture in Yemen has become far more complex. In the war economy, patronage networks are now emerging among previously marginal or unknown figures. The financial dimension of the Saudi-led coalition’s military campaign has extended patronage networks across national borders — though historically Yemen is accustomed to a degree of patronage from its Saudi neighbor. Alleged collusion between Houthi-affiliated importers and officials allied with the internationally recognized Yemeni government indicates patronage networks that potentially cross the frontlines of the war themselves. As greater numbers and a wider variety of actors profit from illicit activity in the war economy, vested economic interests in continued conflict become more entrenched.

Anyone concerned about building a stable post-conflict Yemen must take seriously the challenge presented by corruption in Yemen’s war economy. With this in view, the following guiding principles and recommendations are offered:

 

Guiding principles for policymakers aiming to address corruption in Yemen:

  • Guiding Principle No. 1: Acknowledge complexity. Any attempt to address corruption in Yemen should acknowledge and aim to understand the complex, context-specific mechanisms of corruption at the heart of Yemen’s war economy, the actors involved, and any overlapping political and economic interests. A well-developed contextual understanding will allow policymakers to weigh potential benefits and anticipate pitfalls when developing an anti-corruption strategy.
  • Guiding Principle No. 2: Implement gradually. Given the high levels of state capture and administrative corruption in Yemen, it would be unrealistic and perhaps counterproductive for policymakers to introduce a sudden and aggressive anti-corruption strategy. State capture should be rolled backed gradually, with a phased implementation of anti-corruption reforms limiting the shock to the system. Any attempt to combat corruption in a rushed or superficial manner may lead to grave policy errors where instead of restraining the actions of corrupt individuals the policies lead to greater suffering among the Yemeni people.
  • Guiding Principle No. 3: Engage as many actors as possible. Given the widespread reach of corruption in Yemen, anti-corruption efforts should not selectively target any single actor, but should instead seek to have an impact across the system as a whole. If any breakthrough is to be made in creating short- or long-term peace, policymakers will need the buy-in of as many actors as possible.

 

 Policy recommendations for a post-conflict Yemen:

  • Build on the existing anti-corruption framework in Yemen by funding Yemen’s existing state-run anti-corruption agencies and encouraging greater coordination and data-sharing among them.
  • Encourage transparency and accountability by requiring higher standards of public disclosure, particularly on government tenders and the salaries of appointed officials and senior government staff.
  • Reduce conflicts of interest by legally obligating government employees to relinquish control of any private businesses, establishing rotating positions in state-run energy companies, implementing regulations concerning equal employment opportunities within the public sector, and reforming the military and security apparatus.
  • Improve the management of government finances by constructing a rigorous system to control the disbursal of government funds, making the Central Bank of Yemen fully independent, requiring adherence to anti-corruption legislation for the continued delivery of external donor assistance, and closely monitoring financial assistance provided for post-war reconstruction and local development projects.
  • Decentralize economic power by empowering local authorities to deliver public services and implement local development projects, aid the creation and expansion of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), and empower anti-corruption agencies to monitor fuel import companies.

 


[1] Colloquially known as North Yemen and South Yemen respectively, the Yemen Arab Republic and the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen were unified in 1990 to form the Republic of Yemen.

Read also in White Papers

An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction

May 29, 2018 White Papers
The ongoing conflict in Yemen has imposed grievous costs on the country’s people, damaging lives, property and infrastructure and ravaging the country’s already fragile economy. And yet the conflict will eventually subside. While some reconstruction projects have begun, they have generally been undertaken haphazardly and not as part of a comprehensive and structured plan. Post-conflict…

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 29, 2018 White Papers
Yemen has spent much of the past 60 years embroiled in armed conflict and political crisis, with this cyclical instability and insecurity among the primary factors that have stymied both private sector development and the establishment of a strong state with well-functioning public institutions. The vast majority of the Yemeni private sector is made up of small or very small businesses,…

Improving Relations Between Central State Institutions and Local Authorities

September 30, 2021 White Papers
In July 2018, the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative published a White paper that explored how the collapse of Yemen’s economy and the fragmentation of central government institutions during the war affected local councils. This new White Paper builds on those findings by examining how local governance has evolved in the intervening years, with a focus on the relationship between local…