الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

آثار الفيضانات والسيول على المجتمعات الزراعية في اليمن

آثار الفيضانات والسيول على المجتمعات الزراعية في اليمن

ملخص تنفيذي

تواجه المجتمعات الزراعية في اليمن موجة حقيقية من التهديدات البيئية المتزايدة وسط الصراع الذي طال أمده في البلاد. إذ تتسبب الفيضانات والسيول المفاجئة في تدمير المزارع والمحاصيل الزراعية وأنظمة الري، وتهدد الأمطار التي تأتي على نهاية الموسم الزراعي بإغراق المحاصيل، كما أن انغمار الحقول الزراعية بالمياه يُعيق نمو جذور النباتات. وتعاني المناطق الساحلية من زيادة الملوحة في التربة فضلًا عن العراقيل التي تسببها الطرق المدمرة والآبار الجوفية المطمورة أمام جهود التعافي. وبما أن لهذه الفيضانات وتغيّر أنماط هطول الأمطار انعكاسات سلبية على المحاصيل والغلال، فإن المزارعين في اليمن يكافحون للحفاظ على سُبل عيشهم في وقت يعتمد أكثر من نصف سكان البلاد على الزراعة كمصدر رئيسي للدخل. من ناحيةٍ أخرى، تغيّر الفيضانات تضاريس الأرض وتمحو معالم وحدود الملكيات للأراضي وقنوات الري، مما يخلق توترات في أوساط المجتمعات ويؤدي إلى نزوح المجتمعات المحلية من مناطقها والتي أحيانًا تكون قد هُجرت بسبب الحرب. إدارة الفيضانات التقليدية تتعرض لضغوط من حيث الإهمال والتدخلات العشوائية وغير المنسقة وضعف التعاون المجتمعي، فضلًا عن الفجوات المستمرة في البيانات المتوفرة التي تعتمد على بيانات تقديرية عفا عليها الزمن مع محدودية القدرة على الرصد.

تستخدم الجهات الفاعلة المعنية استراتيجيات مختلفة للتغيير والتكيّف. لدى بعض المجتمعات المحلية القدرة على تحويل مسار تدفقات فائض المياه والتعاون في جهود إعادة الإعمار. بينما تساعد عدد من المنظمات غير الحكومية في تأهيل وإصلاح الأراضي المتدهورة وإنشاء أنظمة الإنذار المبكر، بينما ساعد القطاع الخاص في تحسين جانب من عمليات الرصد لمعالجة الثغرات في البيانات الحكومية. غير أن السياسات غير المتسقة، والافتقار إلى التنسيق بين الأطراف والجهات ذات العلاقة، والقيود المفروضة على مشاركة المرأة، إلى جانب الصعوبات المالية واسعة النطاق، عوامل تقوّض الإدارة الشاملة للمخاطر.

في هذا السياق، تبحث هذه الورقة في تأثير الفيضانات على المجتمعات الزراعية بالاستناد على مناقشات ونتائج ورشة عمل ضمن مبادرة إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن التي ضمت ممثلين من مختلف المحافظات اليمنية. كما تقدم تحليلًا لآثار الفيضانات، وتستعرض تدابير وإجراءات الوقاية والتخفيف والتكيف المحليّة. وتختتم الورقة بتوصيات سياساتية للتخفيف من حدة الفيضانات وتأثيرها على المجتمعات الزراعية، وتعزيز حالة الأمن الغذائي والمائي، وتعزيز القدرة على الصمود في مواجهة الظواهر المناخية المتطرفة.

توصيات مختارة

  • تعميم مراعاة اعتبارات تغيّر المناخ في السياسات والاستراتيجيات الوطنية وفي جميع القطاعات مع الأخذ بالاعتبار التجارب التقليدية للمجتمعات المحلية في مجال القدرة على الصمود في وجه التغيّرات المناخية.
  • وضع وتنفيذ خطة استراتيجية وطنية لنظام موحد للإنذار المبكر يدمج القدرات المحلية ويوفر التنسيق في جميع المناطق.
  • وضع استراتيجية للحد من مخاطر الكوارث، وتمويل ودعم تنفيذ خطط إدارة الفيضانات، ومشاريع تعزيز القدرة على الصمود لقطاع الزراعة، ومشاريع التكيّف مع التغيرات المناخية على المستويين الوطني والمحلي.
  • منع وحظر التنمية السكنية والزراعية والتجارية في المناطق المعرضة للفيضانات والسيول، وحماية الأراضي الزراعية الحالية من الزحف العمراني الحضري عبر سن التشريعات والقوانين اللازمة.
  • تطبيق اللامركزية في إدارة مخاطر الفيضانات والتخطيط لحماية الزراعة من خلال تعزيز التعاون بين السلطات المحلية والجمعيات التعاونية للمزارعين والمجتمعات المحلية والمؤسسات البحثية، وذلك بدعم فني ومالي من الوزارات والمنظمات الدولية.

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

إعادة الإعمار والإصلاح في اليمن: توصيات منتدى رواد التنمية

أبريل 8، 2019 موجز السياسات
يقف اليمن اليوم على حافة المجاعة بعد ما يقارب خمس سنوات من نزاع أسفر عن كارثة إنسانية حقيقية، فقد انهار الاقتصاد وألحق الاقتتال أضرار بالغة بالبنية التحتية للبلاد، وسيتطلّب تعافي وإعادة إعمار اليمن إعادة بناء الاقتصاد وإقامة مؤسسات الدولة وإعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية وإصلاح النسيج الاجتماعي ولكن وحتى هذه اللحظة لم يعلن رسميا عن عملية إعادة إعمار شاملة تقودها جهود المانحين. لذلك يشدّد منتدى…

توسيع نطاق استثمارات الطاقة الشمسية في اليمن

مارس 20، 2023 موجز السياسات
تبتدئ هذه الورقة بمقدمة حول إمداد الكهرباء في اليمن، وتستعرض بعد ذلك تطبيقات محددة لمشاريع الطاقة الشمسية وجدواها في إطار البيئة الهشة في اليمن. كما تنظر في إمكانية الشراكة مع القطاع الخاص في قطاع الطاقة الشمسية، وتقدم أخيرا توصيات وخطوات عملية للتغلب على التحديات التي تواجه توسيع نطاق الاستثمارات في قطاع الطاقة الشمسية في اليمن.

الري بالطاقة الشمسية في اليمن: الفرص والتحديات والسياسات

أبريل 29، 2021 موجز السياسات
تبحث هذه الدراسة في التوجه الحالي لاستخدام نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية في حوض صنعاء، وتحدد إيجابيات وسلبيات هذا النهج. تستعرض الدراسة أيضا وجهات نظر المزارعين والخبراء فيما يتعلق بما يحدث وما يجب القيام به لتعظيم فوائد نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية والتقليل من آثاره السلبية. أظهرت نتائج هذه الدراسة أن معدل تركيب واستخدام نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية يتزايد بمعدل يزيد عن 4% سنويّا. أعرب المزارعون…

Publications

Policy Briefs

The Impact of Flooding on Agricultural Communities in Yemen

The Impact of Flooding on Agricultural Communities in Yemen

Executive Summary

Yemen's agricultural communities face a perfect storm of growing ecological threats amid protracted conflict. Flash floods destroy farms, crops, and irrigation systems. Late rains risk drowning mature harvests, and waterlogged fields hinder root growth. Coastal areas battle salinization, and collapsed roads and buried wells hamper recovery. As flooding and changing rainfall patterns undermine yields, farmers struggle to sustain their livelihoods. Over half of Yemen's population is dependent on farming and agricultural work for income. Terrain altered by flooding has stirred tensions as property lines and irrigation channels shift, displacing communities already uprooted by the war. Traditional flood management faces pressure from uncoordinated development and fading communal cooperation, and information gaps persist due to outdated estimates and limited monitoring capacity.

Stakeholders are employing various strategies in order to adapt. Some communities are able to divert excess water flows and rebuild cooperatively. NGOs are rehabilitating degraded lands and establishing early warning systems. Private sector actors have improved monitoring to fill gaps in government data. But disjointed and inconsistent policies, a lack of coordination among stakeholders, limits on women’s participation, and widespread financial hardship all weaken comprehensive risk management.

This paper examines the impact of floods on agricultural communities, based on the discussions and outcomes of a workshop implemented by the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative with representatives from different governorates. It presents an analysis of the impacts of flooding and explores local prevention, mitigation, and adaptation measures. It concludes with policy recommendations to mitigate flooding and its impact on agricultural communities, enhance food and water security, and build resilience against future extreme weather events.

Selected policy recommendations

  • Mainstream climate change considerations into national policies and strategies across sectors, while taking into account the indigenous experiences of communities in forging climate resilience.
  • Develop and implement a national strategic plan for a unified early warning system that integrates local capacities and coordinates across regions.
  • Establish a disaster risk reduction strategy, and fund and support the implementation of flood management plans, agricultural resilience projects, and climate adaptation at national and local levels.
  • Prohibit agricultural, residential, and commercial development in flood-prone areas and protect existing agricultural lands from urban encroachment through legislation.
  • Decentralize flood management and agricultural protection planning by promoting collaboration between local authoritiesgovernments, farmers’ cooperatives and communities, and research organizations with technical and financial support from national ministries and international organizations.


Read also in Policy Briefs

Challenges for Yemen’s Local Governance amid Conflict

July 29, 2018 Policy Briefs
Local councils are among Yemen’s most important state institutions. Responsible for providing basic public services to millions of Yemenis, local councils represent the Yemeni state for much of the population. The intensification of the conflict between the internationally recognized government, its regional backers and the Houthi group since March 2015, however, has heavily impacted…

Inflated Beyond Fiscal Capacity: The Need to Reform the Public Sector Wage Bill

September 23, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief addresses the issue of Yemen’s bloated public sector. Due to decades of corruption and patronage appointments, among other factors, public sector salaries were already a source of fiscal stress prior to the ongoing war. Previous efforts to downsize the public sector, notably those supported by the World Bank, produced few tangible results, as this brief outlines. During…

Impacts of the War on the Telecommunications Sector in Yemen

January 11, 2021 Policy Briefs
The telecommunications and information technology sector in Yemen is a vital component of the country’s infrastructure and plays a critical role in economic growth. It is the second largest source of public revenue after the petroleum sector, and contributes important work opportunities, whether directly or indirectly, through its connections to other sectors of the national economy.