الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

تحديثات على التطورات الاقتصادية في اليمن وغيرها من موجزات السياسات ذات الصلة.

اليمن: تداعيات الحرب على القوى العاملة من النساء

يوليو 23، 2019 موجز السياسات
يلقي موجز السياسة هذا الضوء على كيفية تأثير النزاع الراهن في اليمن على مشاركة المرأة في سوق العمل، حيث وجد أن النزاع المطول قد دفع كثير من النساء إلى سوق العمل في صور جديدة ومختلفة. في بعض الحالات، بدأت المرأة تعمل في مهن هيمن عليها الرجال في الماضي، وفي حالات أخرى بدأت النساء بإنشاء مشاريع جديدة من منازلهن في أغلب الأحيان، والبعض منهن لجأن إلى ممارسة أعمال بدنية شاقة متدنية الأجور استجابة…

إعادة الإعمار والإصلاح في اليمن: توصيات منتدى رواد التنمية

أبريل 8، 2019 موجز السياسات
يقف اليمن اليوم على حافة المجاعة بعد ما يقارب خمس سنوات من نزاع أسفر عن كارثة إنسانية حقيقية، فقد انهار الاقتصاد وألحق الاقتتال أضرار بالغة بالبنية التحتية للبلاد، وسيتطلّب تعافي وإعادة إعمار اليمن إعادة بناء الاقتصاد وإقامة مؤسسات الدولة وإعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية وإصلاح النسيج الاجتماعي ولكن وحتى هذه اللحظة لم يعلن رسميا عن عملية إعادة إعمار شاملة تقودها جهود المانحين. لذلك يشدّد منتدى…

الإجـراءات الاقتصـادية لبناء الثقة - رواتب موظفي الخدمة المدنية

مارس 18، 2019 موجز السياسات
شهد شهر ديسمبر 2018 لقاء جمع بين 23 خبيرا يمنيا بارزا في الشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية. وناقش اللقاء، الذي عقد في العاصمة الأردنية عمّان ضمن فعاليات منتدى رواد التنمية الرابع، السبل الاقتصادية لبناء الثقة في سياق عملية السلام في اليمن، حيث تناولت النقاشات، التي تأتي في إطار مبادرة إعادة تصور الاقتصاد اليمني، عددا من الآليات الاقتصادية التي يمكن العمل بها لبناء الثقة.

أولويات مقترحة لسياسات الحكومة اليمنية

فبراير 5، 2019 موجز السياسات
يلخص موجز السياسات هذا التوصيات الخاصة بالأولويات الفورية للحكومة اليمنية الرامية إلى تحقيق مكاسب سريعة، وإلى تهيئة المناخ لتحقيق نجاح على المدى المتوسط والطويل. هذه التوصيات هي نتائج مناقشات معمقة جرت خلال منتدى رواد التنمية الرابع الذي عقد خلال الفترة من 8 إلى 11 ديسمبر / كانون الأول 2018 بالعاصمة الأردنية عمّان. صممت التوصيات لتزويد رئيس الوزراء د. معين عبد الملك سعيد وحكومته بمجموعة من…

خلق فرص عمل جديدة في اليمن

أكتوبر 17، 2018 موجز السياسات
أدت عقود من عدم الاستقرار السياسي والنزاع المسلح الدوري إلى تقليص النمو الاقتصادي لليمن وفرص العمل ومستوى الإنتاجية، فقبل اندلاع الصراع الحالي، كان جزء كبير من السكان العاملين في البلاد منخرطين في عمالة غير محترفة، وتعمل في الزراعة الريفية أو بشكل غير رسمي في الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة، وفي الآونة الأخيرة قام الصراع المستمر بتدمير حركة التجارة الاعتيادية وترك ملايين اليمنيين دون وسيلة لإعالة…

مشاركة القطاع الخاص في مرحلة ما بعد النزاع في اليمن

أغسطس 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
حتى قبل النزاع الحالي، واجه تطوير القطاع الخاص في اليمن العديد من التحديات المتداخلة الشديدة. شملت هذه العوائق البيروقراطية، وضعف البنية التحتية، وقلة مهارة القوى العاملة إلى حد كبير، وتردي مناخ الاستثمار، ونقص التمويل، واعتماد الاقتصاد المفرط على النفط، والفساد، وضعف الدولة، والنخبة الباحثة عن الريع وذات المصلحة الراسخة في عرقلة الإصلاحات. الآن، بعد ما يقرب من أربع سنوات على الحرب الأهلية…

تحديات الحكم المحلي في اليمن في خضم النزاع

يوليو 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
تعتبر المجالس المحلية من أهم مؤسسات الدولة في اليمن، فهي بتوليها توفير الخدمات العامة الأساسية لملايين اليمنيين تقوم بتمثيل الحكم الرسمي والدولة اليمنية بالنسبة لكثير من السكان. إلا أن اشتداد النزاع بين الحكومة المعترف بها دوليا والداعمين الإقليميين الحوثيين منذ مارس / آذار 2015 أثر بشكل كبير على تمويل وأمن المجالس المحلية، مقوضا قدرتها على تقديم الخدمات بشكل فعال في معظم مناطق البلاد.

إعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن: إطار عمل مؤسّسي

مايو 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
اتسمت الجهود السابقة لإعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع أو الكوارث الطبيعية في اليمن بضعف التنسيق، وارتفاع توقعات المانحين الدوليين، ومحدودية قدرات الحكومة اليمنية على استيعاب المساعدات وتنفيذ المشاريع، مما أدى إلى عدم تحقق تغيير ملموس على المدى الطويل.

أهمية رفع فاعلية الاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن

أبريل 10، 2018 موجز السياسات
تم اجتماع أكثر من ٢٠ مشاركا ومشاركة من أبرز القيادات التنموية والاقتصادية في اليمن لمناقشة أهم التحديات التي تواجه البلاد في منتدى قيادات التنمية الثاني الذي عقد مؤخرا ضمن مبادرة "إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن". كانت الحاجة إلى زيادة تغطية وكفاءة التدخلات التي تقوم بها المنظمات الإنسانية الدولية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة للتصدي للأزمة الإنسانية في اليمن من أبرز المواضيع المطروحة في المنتدى.

المنظمات الإغاثية الدولية والقطاع الخاص اليمني: الحاجة إلى تحسين التنسيق في…

مارس 16، 2018 موجز السياسات
أدت الحرب الأهلية والتدخل العسكري الإقليمي خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية في اليمن الى لأزمة الإنسانية الحالية، فقد أعلنت الأمم المتحدة اليمن كأكبر حالة طوارئ إنسانية في العالم منذ كانون الثاني / يناير 2017. وفي نهاية العام الماضي، قام مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا) بإطلاق نشرة موجزة حول أبرز الاحتياجات الإنسانية لعام 2018، وقد أفادت النشرة بأن حوالي 22.2 مليون يمني بحاجة…

Publications

Policy Briefs

Updates on economic developments in Yemen and other relevant Policy Briefs.

The Repercussions of War on Women in the Yemeni Workforce

July 23, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief sheds light on how the ongoing conflict in Yemen has affected women’s participation in the workforce. It finds that the protracted conflict has, on the one hand, pushed more women into the workforce and new labor markets, in some cases into professions previously dominated by men. While some women have established new enterprises, often home-based businesses, others have…

Reconstruction and Recovery in Yemen: Recommendations from the Development…

April 8, 2019 Policy Briefs
Nearly five years of conflict in Yemen have created a humanitarian catastrophe that has brought the country to the brink of famine. The economy has collapsed and fighting has ravaged the country’s infrastructure. The reconstruction and recovery of Yemen will demand rebuilding the economy, restoring state institutions and infrastructure and repairing the social fabric. As yet, no official,…

Economic Confidence Building Measures – Civil Servant Salaries

March 18, 2019 Policy Briefs
In December 2018, 23 of Yemen’s leading socioeconomic experts convened in Amman during the Fourth Development Champions Forum to discuss economic confidence-building measures in the peace process in Yemen. The discussions at the Forum, which is part of the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy initiative, touched on a number of economic mechanisms that could be implemented to build confidence. These…

Priorities for Government Policy in Yemen

February 5, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief outlines recommendations for the immediate priorities of the Government of Yemen, both to achieve quick wins and to prepare the ground for medium and long-term success. These recommendations are the outcomes of in-depth discussions held during the fourth Development Champions Forum convened on December 8-11, 2018, in Amman, Jordan. They are designed to offer Prime Minister…

Generating New Employment Opportunities in Yemen

October 17, 2018 Policy Briefs
Decades of political instability and cyclical armed conflict have curtailed Yemen’s economic growth, job creation and labor productivity. Before the current conflict, much of the country’s working population was engaged in unskilled labor, working in rural agriculture or informally employed in small businesses. More recently, the current conflict has destroyed normal commerce and left…

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 29, 2018 Policy Briefs
Even before the current conflict, private sector development in Yemen faced many severe and interrelated challenges. These included bureaucratic obstructions, weak infrastructure, a largely unskilled workforce, a poor investment climate and lack of financing, an economy overly dependent on oil, corruption, a weak state, and a rent-seeking elite class with vested interests in stifling…

Challenges for Yemen’s Local Governance amid Conflict

July 29, 2018 Policy Briefs
Local councils are among Yemen’s most important state institutions. Responsible for providing basic public services to millions of Yemenis, local councils represent the Yemeni state for much of the population. The intensification of the conflict between the internationally recognized government, its regional backers and the Houthi group since March 2015, however, has heavily impacted…

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

April 10, 2018 Policy Briefs
The second Development Champions Forum of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative recently brought together more than 20 of the leading socio-economic experts on Yemen to discuss the most critical challenges facing the country. Among the key topics included were the need to increase the coverage and efficiency of the campaign international humanitarian organizations and United Nations…

International Aid Organizations and the Yemeni Private Sector: The Need to Improve…

March 16, 2018 Policy Briefs
The current humanitarian crisis in Yemen has been precipitated by almost three years of civil war and regional military intervention, with the United Nations declaring the country the world’s largest humanitarian emergency in January 2017. At the end of last year the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) released its 2018 Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) in which it…