الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

تمكين السلطات المحلّيّة من قيادة التنمية الاقتصاديّة في اليمن

تمكين السلطات المحلّيّة من قيادة التنمية الاقتصاديّة في اليمن

يقدّم موجز السياسات هذا توصيات لتمكين السلطات المحليةّ من تقديم الخدمات وقيادة عملية التنمية الاقتصادية المحلية في اليمن بشكل أكثر فاعلية، ويستعرض الموجز ثلاثة مسارات حالية تسعى إلى تمكين المحلّيات في اليمن، لاستخلاص الدروس المستفادة والتحديات والفرص المناسبة.

ويُبرز تحليل الجهود الحاليّة أهمية بناء التوافق بين الحكومة المركزية والسلطات المحلية لتحقيق النجاح في تمكين المحليات، كما يُبرز أهمية حلّ المخاوف السياسية وتحقيق مستوى من الإجماع السياسي في حدّه الأدنى؛ لتتمكن هذه الجهود من المضيّ قدماً. كما يُظهر، من خلال الجهود الحاليةّ، الحاجة إلى معالجة التحديات المتعلقة بالتمويل وتعزيز الشفافيّة والمساءلة وتطوير القدرات البشرية على المستوى المحليّ

وعليه، توصي هذه الورقة بأهمية وضع مبادئ توجيهية لتوزيع السلطات والصلاحيات بين المركز والمحليات بشكل دقيق وواضح، والاستفادة من إمكانات القطاع الخاص لدفع النمو الاقتصادي، وخلق فرص العمل، وتقديم الخدمات، والاستثمار في المحليات، وأخي اًرً تشجيع الشراكات بين المنظمات الدولية والمانحين والسلطات المحلية؛ لتمكين المحليات من تقديم الخدمات والتنمية الاقتصادية المحلية

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

أولويات لتعافي القطاع الخاص في اليمن: إصلاح بيئة الأعمال والاستثمار

سبتمبر 9، 2019 موجز السياسات
اجتمع عدد من الخبراء الاجتماعيين والاقتصاديين في العاصمة الأردنية عمان في الفترة 27-29 نيسان/أبريل 2019 في إطار منتدى رواد التنمية الخامس الذي يعد محورا رئيسيا من محاور مبادرة إعادة تصور الاقتصاد اليمني، وقد أثمرت النقاشات المعمقة التي دارت بين المشاركين حول التحديات التي تواجه بيئة الأعمال والاستثمار في اليمن عن عدد من التوصيات للحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دوليا وأصحاب الشأن الدوليين.

إعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن: إطار عمل مؤسّسي

مايو 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
اتسمت الجهود السابقة لإعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع أو الكوارث الطبيعية في اليمن بضعف التنسيق، وارتفاع توقعات المانحين الدوليين، ومحدودية قدرات الحكومة اليمنية على استيعاب المساعدات وتنفيذ المشاريع، مما أدى إلى عدم تحقق تغيير ملموس على المدى الطويل.

خلق فرص عمل جديدة في اليمن

أكتوبر 17، 2018 موجز السياسات
أدت عقود من عدم الاستقرار السياسي والنزاع المسلح الدوري إلى تقليص النمو الاقتصادي لليمن وفرص العمل ومستوى الإنتاجية، فقبل اندلاع الصراع الحالي، كان جزء كبير من السكان العاملين في البلاد منخرطين في عمالة غير محترفة، وتعمل في الزراعة الريفية أو بشكل غير رسمي في الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة، وفي الآونة الأخيرة قام الصراع المستمر بتدمير حركة التجارة الاعتيادية وترك ملايين اليمنيين دون وسيلة لإعالة…

Publications

Policy Briefs

Empowering Local Authorities to Lead Economic Development in Yemen

Empowering Local Authorities to Lead Economic Development in Yemen

This policy brief outlines a set of recommendations aimed at empowering local authorities in Yemen to effectively provide services and lead local economic development. The aim is to analyze and draw lessons from three ongoing tracks that seek to empower local authorities in Yemen, while also addressing the challenges and opportunities associated with these efforts.

The analysis concludes that building consensus between the central government and local authorities is of paramount importance for the successful empowerment of local authorities. It is imperative to address political concerns and achieve a minimum level of political consensus in order for these efforts to move forward. Furthermore, it is crucial to overcome challenges related to financing, enhance transparency and accountability, and build local capacity.

The Development Champions Forum therefore recommends the importance of establishing clear and precise guiding principles for the distribution of powers and authorities between the center and local authorities. It also emphasizes leveraging the potential of the private sector to drive economic growth, create job opportunities, provide services, and invest in local communities. Lastly, it encourages partnerships between international organizations, donors, and local authorities towards empowering local authorities in providing services and local economic development.

Read also in Policy Briefs

Impacts of the War on the Telecommunications Sector in Yemen

January 11, 2021 Policy Briefs
The telecommunications and information technology sector in Yemen is a vital component of the country’s infrastructure and plays a critical role in economic growth. It is the second largest source of public revenue after the petroleum sector, and contributes important work opportunities, whether directly or indirectly, through its connections to other sectors of the national economy.

Developing Yemen’s Fishing Industry

March 31, 2020 Policy Briefs
The fishing industry in Yemen faces many structural challenges that have limited its production and potential contribution to overall economic output. Development of the industry’s infrastructure, human capacity and regulation was already poor prior to the outbreak of the ongoing armed conflict in Yemen. Since the war began five years ago the fishing industry has faced increased challenges,…

Transitional Government in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 5, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief offers recommendations to maximize the effectiveness of governance in post-conflict Yemen – whatever the composition or structure of the government. It presents three case studies on government models previously introduced in Yemen, Tunisia and Lebanon after periods of instability. These case studies offer useful lessons on the challenges, risks and opportunities of…