الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

أهمية رفع فاعلية الاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن

أهمية رفع فاعلية الاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن

مقدمة

تم اجتماع أكثر من 20 مشاركا ومشاركة من أبرز القيادات التنموية والاقتصادية في اليمن لمناقشة أهم التحديات التي تواجه البلاد في منتدى قيادات التنمية الثاني الذي عقد مؤخراً ضمن مبادرة "إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن". كانت الحاجة إلى زيادة تغطية وكفاءة التدخلات التي تقوم بها المنظمات الإنسانية الدولية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة للتصدي للأزمة الإنسانية في اليمن من أبرز المواضيع المطروحة في المنتدى.

حول هذه القضية اختار رواد المنتدى خلال المناقشات القضايا الرئيسية التالية كمحاور يجب العمل عليها:

  • الحاجة إلى قيام الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية الدولية بزيادة التنسيق مع السلطات المحلية والجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص اليمني.
  • أهمية دور اللامركزية في الاستجابة الإنسانية، والفوائد العديدة المتمثلة في إعطاء الأولوية للتحويلات النقدية للمستفيدين بدلا عن توفير المواد الغذائية بشكل مباشر.
  • أهمية إيلاء الأولوية لتقديم المساعدة إلى أشد السكان فقراً، ولا سيما النازحين داخلياً.

وتوصلت قيادات التنمية الى جملة من التوصيات المختلفة للجهات الفاعلة الانسانية الدولية والحكومة اليمنية وسلطات الامر الواقع في مختلف مناطق الجمهورية وكذلك الدول الأعضاء في التحالف العربي والمجتمع الدولي، كما سيرد هنا لاحقا.

 

خلفية

أفاد مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية في تقرير الاحتياجات الإنسانية لليمن لعام 2018 أن 22.2 مليون شخص – أي 80 في المائة من السكان –بحاجة إلى المساعدة الإنسانية أو الحماية في نهاية عام 2017، منهم 11.3 مليون في حاجة ماسة. وأن هناك 17.8 مليون شخص يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي، منهم 8.4 مليون شخص "معرضون لخطر المجاعة".

وقد شملت الاستجابة الإنسانية في العام الماضي ثمان وكالات تابعة للأمم المتحدة و36 منظمة دولية غير حكومية و147 منظمة محلية غير حكومية. وكانت التحديات التي تواجه هذه الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني عميقة، وأهمها الحجم الكبير للأزمة واتساع الشريحة السكانية المتأثرة بها باستمرار، حيث يشهد اليمن حالياً أكبر حالة طوارئ إنسانية في العالم، ويشكل حجمها ونطاقها تحدياً هائلاً لقدرة الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية على إيصال المعونات لجميع المحتاجين، على مستوى الاحتياجات والنطاق الجغرافي الذي تتواجد ضمنه المنظمات العاملة في الاستجابة الإنسانية وقدرتها على توسيع تغطيتها.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تواجه الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني قيودا شديدة تعقد العمل في الظروف الحالية لليمن وتعيق الوصول إلى المحتاجين. وقد اعتبر الفاعلون الإنسانيون أن التحديات البارزة التي تواجههم تتمثل بالآتي:

  • الإجراءات الرسمية البيروقراطية التي تؤخر وصول المساعدات إلى المحتاجين، وكذلك تأخر الحصول على الموافقة لاستيراد المواد الغذائية والطبية ومشتقات الوقود المستثناة من الحصار الذي يفرضة التحالف العربي على ميناء الحديدة، بالإضافة الى تأخر إجراءات تأشيرات دخول العاملين في المجال الانساني إلى المناطق الشمالية والجنوبية من اليمن، والانتظار الطويل للحصول على تلك التأشيرات، والقيود المشددة عليها ومتطلبات الحصول على تصاريح سفر في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحوثيين، وغير ذلك.
  • الدمار المنتشر وضعف البنية التحتية أو غيابها مثل - الطرق والجسور وشبكات الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية ومخازن تخزين الغذاء- وغير ذلك.
  • التحديات الأمنية والمتمثلة بنقاط التفتيش، والجماعات المسلحة، وتحويل مسارات قوافل المساعدات بل واختطافها أحيانا، في ظل استمرار المعارك البرية، والضربات الجوية، وغيرها.
  • التحديات المالية المتمثلة بأزمة السيولة الواسعة النطاق، وتقلب أسعار صرف العملة المحلية أما العملات الأجنبية، والتقلبات السريعة في اسعار السلع والخدمات الناتجة عنه.

لقد أثرت هذه العوامل بشكل كبير في قدرة الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني على إتمام العمليات الإنسانية وتقييم الاحتياجات ورصد النتائج وجمع البيانات الأخرى الضرورية لوضع برامج تدخل قائمة على الأدلة في الوقت المناسب. وكثيراً ما دفعت حساسية الأطراف المتحاربة حيال هذا النوع من جمع البيانات إلى منع الأنشطة المتعلقة بجمع البيانات الخاصة بالخدمات الإنسانية بالقوة، وخاصة في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها الحوثيون.

وفي الوقت نفسه فإن الفرق الوطنية الإنسانية وفرق الشبكات الإنسانية تعمل بشكل جيد وترتبط مع بعضها بآليات تنسيق جيدة، وتؤدي دورا فاعلا لمساعدة الجهات الدولية الإنسانية وتسهيل عملها. وعلى الجانب الآخر فإن التنسيق مع القطاع الخاص اليمني وغيره من الفاعليين المحليين مازال محدودا. مما يؤدي إلى ظهور فجوة متأصلة بين العرض والطلب فيما يتعلق بتوفير المساعدات داخل البلد. وقد نتج عن هذا القصور محدودية نشاط الجهات الإنسانية الفاعلة في تخزين الأغدية والمساعدات في مواقع آمنة في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

ويعاني اليمن من نقص ملحوظ في الاستجابة الإنسانية من المجتمع الدولي. ولم ينتج عن النداءات الإنسانية الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة سوى استلام 55% من الأموال المطلوبة لعام 2015 (1.6 مليار دولار) ثم استلام 63% في لعام 2016 (1.63 مليار دولار) و73% لعام 2017 (2.3 مليار دولار)، و70٪ لهذا العام (2.1 مليار دولار) أي أن التحسن في هذا المجال محدودا وبطيئا.

وأطلق المشاركون من رواد التنمية توصيات متعددة لتجاوز هذه الصعوبات والمعوقات.

 

توصيات للجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية الدولية:

  • توسيع مفهوم "الاستجابة الإنسانية" لتشمل جهود الإنعاش الاقتصادي، بحيث تتوسع الجهود الإنسانية الطارئة التي تجري حالياً في اليمن وتساعد على إرساء الأسس اللازمة لإعادة تأهيل الخدمات الأساسية المقدمة محلياً على المدى القريب، الأمر الذي سيساعد أيضا على تحقيق الاستقرار الوطني على المدى الطويل وتجنب رسوخ تقليد الاعتماد على المساعدات الخارجية لليمن. ويمكن اختصار هذه النقطة وآليات تجاوزها بكونها تتطلب الانتقال بآليات عمل الخدمات الإنسانية من وظيفة المعيل إلى نقل المحتاجين إلى وضع أفضل وخلق فرص معيشية أفضل لهم.
  • تقوية الجهود الداخلية الرامية إلى التنسيق مع السلطات المحلية والجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص اليمني من خلال التخطيط التشاركي وعمليات التنفيذ (مع إدراك أن إمكانية التنسيق المحلي تختلف بشكل كبير من منطقة لأخرى بحسب الظروف على الأرض)، ومن شأن ذلك أن يساعد على ضمان استجابة إنسانية أكثر فعالية وشمولا وتكاملاً، مع الحد أيضاً من التكاليف التشغيلية التي تتكبدها الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية الدولية ومن أعباء الموارد البشرية، ينبغي على الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني أن تعمل على زيادة التنسيق مع القطاع الخاص اليمني على وجه الخصوص كفرصة للحد من العوائق التي تواجها في إيصال وإدارة المساعدات (لتفاصيل أكثري مكن الاطلاع على المنظمات الإغاثية الدولية والقطاع الخاص اليمني: الحاجة إلى تحسين التنسيق في الاستجابة الإنسانية للأزمة ).
  • إنشاء فرق مفاوضات داخل البلاد مكلفة بالإبقاء على قنوات اتصال قوية ومفتوحة باستمرار مع الأطراف المتحاربة لتيسير وصول المساعدات الإنسانية دون عوائق إلى جميع مناطق البلاد. ينبغي أن تؤدي هذه الجهود إلى زيادة التنسيق مع السلطات المحلية والجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص اليمني. كما ينبغي أن تشمل هذه الجهود برنامجاً لتعريف كوادر الأطراف المتحاربة بالتزاماتها المترتبة عليها بموجب القانون الدولي الإنساني وقانون حقوق الإنسان.
  • اعتماد اللامركزية في جهود الإغاثة من خلال إنشاء مراكز أو "محاور" إغاثة موزعة بدقة في جميع أنحاء البلاد بحسب قدرة الوصول إلى الواردات الإنسانية – سواء عن طريق البر أو البحر أو الجو – وتنشأ بالقرب من التجمعات السكانية للمحتاجين.
  • وضع إطار شامل لإدارة المخاطر، إضافة إلى نظام موحد للرقابة والتقييم يستعرض الاستجابة الإنسانية بكامل متطلباتها ومجالاتها. من شأن ذلك أن يسمح بإجراء تقديرات دقيقة للاحتياجات والمساعدات اللازمة لمواجهتها، وتحديد نقاط القوة والضعف والفرص والمخاطر في إطار نموذج تقديم المعونة الحالي. من شأن ذلك أيضاً أن يعزز الشفافية والمساءلة في إيصال المساعدات، الأمر الذي سيحول بدوره دون شعور المانحين بالإعياء.
  • إعطاء الأولوية للتحويلات النقدية كشكل من أشكال المساعدات الإنسانية للمستفيدين عوضا عن توفير السلال الغذائية، خاصة وأن التحويلات النقدية ستخلق مردودات ايجابية على الاقتصاديات المحلية، حيث ستساعد صغار الباعة والسوق ككل على المحافظة على أعمالهم، مع تعزيز نظم الائتمان المحلية والقدرة على الصمود على مستوى المجتمع المحلي.
  • إعداد وتنفيذ برامج متعددة لبناء وتعزيز قدرات الموظفين المحليين وتمكينهم في مواقع صنع قرار عالية في المنظمات التي يعملون بها، مع مراعاة مبدأ أساسي يتمثل في مراعاة النوع الاجتماعي. من شأن ذلك المساهمة في تعزيز فاعلية ومرونة العمليات الانسانية.
  • تنفيذ تقييم احتياجات التدخلات الإنسانية على المستوى المحلي لضمان تقديم المساعدات للجهات المستهدفة على حسب الاحتياج، مع مراعاة تنوع الاحتياجات المختلفة جغرافيا وديموغرافيا، وكذلك التدهور الاقتصادي وتفاقم الصراع.
  • ضمان تنفيذ آليات التوزيع العادل للمساعدات، وعلى وجه الخصوص منح امتيازات وأولية للنساء المعيلات لأسرهن، لا سيما وقد تسبب الصراع في تهميشهن وأضعف قدرة حصولهن على الوظائف او الوصول للخدمات او المساعدات الإنسانية.
  • مراقبة جهود الجهات الفاعلة المحلية في المجتمع المدني والمنظمات غير الحكومية العاملة في الاستجابة الإنسانية لتحديد فرص الاستثمار في بناء قدرات الجهات المحلية والتعاون معها. وينبغي على قيادات المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية أن تبني استراتيجية شراكة تضمن الصمود الطويل الأجل للمحليين وتسلمهم زمام القرارات.

 

توصيات للحكومة اليمنية:

  • إلزام اللجنة العليا للإغاثة الإنسانية بالاضطلاع بدورها الرقابي والتنسيقي لتوسيع التغطية ورفع فعالية الاستجابة الإنسانية ومنع ازدواجية الجهود. يشمل ذلك: وضع وتنفيذ خطة استباقية للتنسيق مع المنظمات الدولية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة ودعمها في مجال الاستجابة الإنسانية. ينبغي أن يشمل ذلك مساعدة الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية في تأمين الاستيراد السلس للإمدادات الإنسانية، وتأمين حصولها على تأشيرات دخول الموظفين الأجانب إلى البلد دون عراقيل وفي الوقت المناسب، وتحديد المناطق الآمنة لإيواء الموظفين والإمدادات، وتأمين ممرات انتقال عبر مناطق النزاع. ينبغي أن يشمل ذلك أيضاً تيسير وصولهم إلى مجتمعات المحتاجين – بمن فيهم النازحين داخلياً – لإجراء دراسات استقصائية ميدانية لتحديد الاحتياجات اللازمة في مختلف المناطق: والتنسيق مع المكاتب الفنية للوزارات في صنعاء لضمان تنسيق ورقابة فاعلة للمساعدات الإنسانية.
  • العمل بشكل فعال على اتباع سياسات تحمي المنظمات الإنسانية العاملة في اليمن من تدخل الأطراف المتحاربة، حيث وان هـذه المنظمات تواجه معوقات مختلفة بحسب المكان التي تعمل فيه.
  • تحديد الأولويات والشروع في إعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية الأساسية اللازمة لتسهيل حركة المساعدات الإنسانية عبر المحافظات اليمنية.
  • المساعدة في بناء قدرات السلطات المحلية لدعم المنظمات الدولية في الاستجابة للأزمة الإنسانية.
  • على الحكومة التخاطب مع السلطات السعودية ومحاولة ايجاد استثناء للمغتربين اليمنيين هناك من الرسوم التي تم فرضها مؤخرا عليهم، ويشمل ذلك الطلب من السلطات السعودية مراعاة ظروف اليمنيين الذين يعملون في القطاعات التي تمت سعودتها/توطينها بما يسمح بزيادة قيمة التحويلات إلى اليمن واستمرارها.

 

توصيات لسلطات الأمر الواقع في اليمن:

  • إزالة العقبات البيروقراطية التي تعقّد وتأخّر دخول عاملي الإغاثة الإنسانية إلى اليمن.
  • إزالة القيود المفروضة على تصاريح السفر لعاملي الإغاثة الإنسانية داخل اليمن وتيسير وصولهم الآمن وغير المعاق إلى السكان المحتاجين. ويشمل ذلك منع ابتزاز عمال الإغاثة عند نقاط التفتيش.
  • إزالة القيود التي يفرضها موظفو وزارة التخطيط والتعاون الدولي بصنعاء والتي تحد من قدرة المنظمات الإنسانية على إجراءات تقييم الاحتياجات ورصد المساعدات الإنسانية.

 

توصيات إلى الدول الأعضاء في التحالف العربي والمجتمع الدولي:

  • السماح باستئناف الرحلات الجوية إلى مطار صنعاء الدولي، وذلك لتسهيل عملية السفر لمن هم بحاجة الى عناية طبية خارج البلد، وكذلك تسهيل حركة التنقل للعاملين الإنسانيين والمؤن الإنسانية من وإلى مناطق شمال اليمن تحديدا.
  • رفع القيود المفروضة على الاستيراد التجاري والإنساني للأغذية والوقود والإمدادات الطبية عبر جميع الموانئ في اليمن بشكل نهائي، ولا سيما ميناء الحديدة على البحر الأحمر.
  • اتخاذ خطوات عملية لاستعادة القدرات الوظيفية للبنك المركزي اليمني، على النحو المفصل في موجز سياسات مبادرة إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن: استعادة قدرة البنك المركزي واستقرار الريال. من شأن ذلك أن يساعد، مع عوامل أخرى كثيرة على استقرار أسعار السلع الأساسية في السوق، وبالتالي زيادة فعالية التحويلات النقدية للمعونة الإنسانية إلى المستفيدين في اليمن. 

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

أولويات لتعافي القطاع الخاص في اليمن: إصلاح بيئة الأعمال والاستثمار

سبتمبر 9، 2019 موجز السياسات
اجتمع عدد من الخبراء الاجتماعيين والاقتصاديين في العاصمة الأردنية عمان في الفترة 27-29 نيسان/أبريل 2019 في إطار منتدى رواد التنمية الخامس الذي يعد محورا رئيسيا من محاور مبادرة إعادة تصور الاقتصاد اليمني، وقد أثمرت النقاشات المعمقة التي دارت بين المشاركين حول التحديات التي تواجه بيئة الأعمال والاستثمار في اليمن عن عدد من التوصيات للحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دوليا وأصحاب الشأن الدوليين.

إعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن: إطار عمل مؤسّسي

مايو 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
اتسمت الجهود السابقة لإعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع أو الكوارث الطبيعية في اليمن بضعف التنسيق، وارتفاع توقعات المانحين الدوليين، ومحدودية قدرات الحكومة اليمنية على استيعاب المساعدات وتنفيذ المشاريع، مما أدى إلى عدم تحقق تغيير ملموس على المدى الطويل.

الري بالطاقة الشمسية في اليمن: الفرص والتحديات والسياسات

أبريل 29، 2021 موجز السياسات
تبحث هذه الدراسة في التوجه الحالي لاستخدام نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية في حوض صنعاء، وتحدد إيجابيات وسلبيات هذا النهج. تستعرض الدراسة أيضا وجهات نظر المزارعين والخبراء فيما يتعلق بما يحدث وما يجب القيام به لتعظيم فوائد نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية والتقليل من آثاره السلبية. أظهرت نتائج هذه الدراسة أن معدل تركيب واستخدام نظام الري بالطاقة الشمسية يتزايد بمعدل يزيد عن 4% سنويّا. أعرب المزارعون…

Publications

Policy Briefs

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

Introduction

The second Development Champions Forum of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative recently brought together more than 20 of the leading socio-economic experts on Yemen to discuss the most critical challenges facing the country. Among the key topics included were the need to increase the coverage and efficiency of the campaign international humanitarian organizations and United Nations agencies are undertaking to address Yemen’s humanitarian crisis. Among the major issues the Development Champions identified during discussions were:

  • The need for international humanitarian actors to increase their coordination with local authorities, civil society actors, and the Yemeni private sector;
  • The importance of decentralizing the humanitarian response and the many benefits of prioritising cash transfers to beneficiaries over the direct provision of food stuffs; and
  • The importance of prioritising assistance to the most vulnerable populations, in particular internally displaced peoples.

The Development Champions also proposed various policy recommendations for international humanitarian actors, the Government of Yemen, the de facto authorities in various parts of the country, as well as Saudi-led military coalition member states and the international community; these recommendations are discussed below.

 

Background

The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs reported in the 2018 Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO) for Yemen that 22.2 million people – 80 percent of the population – were in need of humanitarian assistance or protection at the end of 2017, of which 11.3 million were in acute need. This included 17.8 million people who were food insecure, of which 8.4 million were “at risk of starvation.”

The humanitarian response efforts last year included eight UN agencies, 36 international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) and 147 national non-governmental organizations. The challenges facing these humanitarian actors have been profound, primary among them being the immensity of the crisis. Yemen is currently experiencing the largest humanitarian emergency in the world, the scale and scope of which are severely challenging humanitarian actors’ capacity to assist all those in need, as are the range of needs and the geographic area across which they are spread.

In addition to this, humanitarian actors’ abilities to operate in Yemen and access those in need face severe constraints. Among the many challenges humanitarian actors regularly cite are:

  • Bureaucratic delays (including approval times for food, fuel and medical imports to pass the Saudi-led military coalition blockade of Hudaydah port, separate visa procedures for humanitarian staff to enter northern and southern areas of Yemen, prolonged waiting times for visa approval, excessive restrictions and permit requirements to travel in Houthi-controlled areas of the country, etc.);
  • Destroyed or nonexistent infrastructure (including roads, bridges, telecommunications networks, food storage facilities, etc.);
  • Security challenges (including checkpoints, armed groups diverting and hijacking of aid convoys, active ground battles, air strikes, etc.); and
  • Financial challenges (including the widespread liquidity crisis, volatile currency exchange rate and rapid price fluctuations).

All of these factors have also heavily impacted humanitarian actors’ ability to conduct needs assessments, monitor outcomes and gather other data critical to implementing timely evidence-based programming. The warring parties’ sensitivities to such data collection, in particular in Houthi-controlled areas, has also often led them to actively block such activities.

While the Humanitarian Country Teams (HCTs), Clusters, and Inter-Cluster Coordination (ICC) between the international humanitarian actors are well established and functioning, there is limited coordination with the Yemeni private sector and with other local actors. This creates an inherent gap between the demand and supply of aid supplies within the country. It misses the opportunity for the humanitarian actors to address their current inability to stock food and supplies at sites around the country and potentially increases costs of delivery as the humanitarian actors try to build their network and infrastructure for delivering aid to locations where they did not operate previously.

 

Recommendations for International Humanitarian Actors

  • Expand the concept of ‘humanitarian response’ to include recovery efforts. Ongoing humanitarian emergency interventions should help lay the foundations for the near-term rehabilitation of locally provided essential services and help improve the livelihood opportunities for populations in need. This is crucial for long-term national stability and to avoid entrenched aid dependency in Yemen.
  • Increase efforts to coordinate with local authorities, civil society actors, and the Yemeni private sector through participatory planning and implementation processes (while recognizing that potential for local coordination varies widely across Yemen depending on local circumstances). This would help ensure a more effective, comprehensive and integrated humanitarian response, while also reducing international humanitarian actors’ operational costs and human resources burdens. Humanitarian actors should regard increased coordination with the Yemeni private sector in particular as an opportunity to circumvent obstructions in aid delivery and management and to speed aid delivery efforts; (please see International Aid Organizations and the Yemeni Private Sector: The Need to Improve Coordination in Humanitarian Crisis Response for detailed recommendations).
  • Establish in-country negotiation teams mandated to maintain strong communication channels with the belligerent parties to facilitate unimpeded access for humanitarian aid delivery to all areas of the country. Such efforts should leverage increased coordination with local authorities, civil society actors, and the Yemeni private sector. These efforts should also include a program to educate cadres of the warring parties of their obligations under international humanitarian law.
  • Decentralize the relief effort through the creation of relief centers or ‘hubs.’ These hubs should be distributed across the country according to both ready access to humanitarian imports – whether by land, sea or air – and proximity to the largest concentrations of populations in need.
  • Develop a comprehensive risk management framework, as well as a unified monitoring and evaluation system that reviews the humanitarian response as a whole. Such would allow for accurate needs assessments and help identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats within the current aid delivery model. It would also increase transparency and accountability in aid delivery, which in turn would help forstall donor fatigue.
  • Generally prioritize cash transfers over food baskets in the delivery of humanitarian aid to beneficiaries. Cash transfers have positive multiplier effects for local economies, assisting small vendors and the market as a whole to keep running, while also strengthening local credit systems and community-level resilience.
  • Prepare and implement a plan to build and empower national staff capacity to take on senior decision-making positions, with a core principle of this to be gender-inclusive. This would contribute to more flexible and effective humanitarian operations.
  • Conduct local level needs assessments for humanitarian interventions and ensure the delivery of aid to targeted groups according to their needs. This should take into consideration the various geographic and demographic differences, as well as the deteriorating economy and escalating armed conflict.
  • Ensure the implementation of fair aid distribution mechanisms, with a specific focus on women who are the breadwinners for their families, given that the conflict has further marginalized women’s ability to access employment, services and aid.
  • Monitor the efforts of local civil society actors and NGOs working in the humanitarian response effort to identify opportunities to invest in local capacity building and collaboration. Individual INGOs should develop a partnership strategy that ensures long-term local resilience and capacity handover.

 

Recommendations for the Government of Yemen

  • Obligate the Higher Committee for Humanitarian Relief to take up its supervisory and coordination role in promoting wider and more effective coverage in the humanitarian response and prevent duplication of efforts. This includes: develop and implement a proactive plan to coordinate with and support international organizations and UN agencies in the humanitarian response; assist humanitarian actors in securing the smooth import of humanitarian supplies, visas for foreign staff to enter the country, safe areas to house staff and supplies, and secure transportation corridors through conflict zones; facilitate humanitarian access to communities in need – including internally displaced peoples – and carrying out field surveys to identify specific needs in various areas; coordinate with the technical bodies in Sana'a to ensure more effective aid monitoring and coordination.
  • Actively pursue policies to prevent armed groups and belligerent parties from interfering with the activities of humanitarian organizations operating in Yemen, recognizing that the situation aid organizations face varies widely depending on the areas in which they operate.
  • Prioritize and initiate the rehabilitation and reconstruction of basic infrastructure necessary to increase the flow of humanitarian aid to Yemen and to facilitate its movement across all governorates.
  • Help build the capacity of local authorities and remove legal and procedural restrictions that may inhibit their ability to support international organizations in responding to the humanitarian crisis.
  • Actively engage with the Saudi government regarding waiving or reducing taxes and fees for the Yemeni diaspora in Saudi Arabia and granting them a temporary exception from the latest expat employment restrictions, which would allow for increased remittances to Yemen.

 

Recommendations for the de facto authorities in Yemen

  • Remove bureaucratic obstacles that complicate and delay the entry of humanitarian aid workers to Yemen.
  • Remove travel permit restrictions for humanitarian aid workers within Yemen and facilitate their secure and unimpeded access to populations in need. This includes preventing the extortion of aid workers at checkpoints.
  • Remove restrictions imposed by staff within the Sana’a-based Ministry of Planning and International Cooperation that are limiting humanitarian organizations’ ability to carry out needs assessments and monitor humanitarian aid delivery.

 

Recommendations to Saudi-led coalition member states and the international community

  • Allow the resumption of commercial flights to Sana’a International Airport. This will facilitate the travel needs of those requiring urgent medical attention outside the country, as well as help facilitate the movement of humanitarian aid workers and supplies in and out of northern Yemen.
  • Permanently lift restrictions on commercial and humanitarian importation of food, fuel, and medical supplies to all ports in Yemen, in particular the Red Sea port of Hudaydah.
  • Undertake steps to restore the functional capacities of the Central Bank of Yemen, as detailed in the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy policy brief entitled: Restoring central bank capacity and stabilizing the rial. Among many other positive outcomes, this would help stabilize the price of basic commodities in the market and thus increase the effectiveness of humanitarian aid cash transfers to beneficiaries in Yemen.

Read also in Policy Briefs

Developing Yemen’s Fishing Industry

March 31, 2020 Policy Briefs
The fishing industry in Yemen faces many structural challenges that have limited its production and potential contribution to overall economic output. Development of the industry’s infrastructure, human capacity and regulation was already poor prior to the outbreak of the ongoing armed conflict in Yemen. Since the war began five years ago the fishing industry has faced increased challenges,…

Impacts of the War on the Telecommunications Sector in Yemen

January 11, 2021 Policy Briefs
The telecommunications and information technology sector in Yemen is a vital component of the country’s infrastructure and plays a critical role in economic growth. It is the second largest source of public revenue after the petroleum sector, and contributes important work opportunities, whether directly or indirectly, through its connections to other sectors of the national economy.

Local Economic Councils: A Tool to Improve Business Productivity in Yemen

September 6, 2021 Policy Briefs
Even before the events of 2014 and 2015 that led Yemen into the ongoing civil war, its economy was fragile. The years of hardship that have haunted the country ever since have been devastating. Yemen is now rated as one of the hardest places in the world for businesses to operate and is last or near last in a host of global business competitiveness indexes. From January 25-27,2021 the…