الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

تطوير قطاع الأسماك في اليمن

تطوير قطاع الأسماك في اليمن

ملخص تنفيذي

يواجه قطاع الأسماك في اليمن العديد من التحديات الهيكلية التي حدت من إنتاجه ومساهمته المحتملة في  الاقتصاد الوطني. عانت البنية التحتية للقطاع من تدني مستويات التطوير والتنمية، حتى في مرحلة ما قبل اندلاع النزاع المسلح في البلاد، بالإضافة إلى عدم الاهتمام بتطوير القدرات البشرية. وبالتالي، ازدادت التحديات التي تواجه القطاع بعد اندلاع الحرب عام 2015، لتشمل: انخفاض حاد في الإنتاج، نتيجة نزوح العديد من الصيادين والقوى العاملة في القطاع؛ إيقاف الإنتاج في مصانع الأسماك؛ ارتفاع أسعار الوقود؛ انخفاض القوة الشرائية المحلية، وبالتالي انخفاض الطلب المحلي على الأسماك؛ عدم تمكين وزارة الثروة السمكية، وغيرها من مواجهة التحديات التي يعانيها القطاع.

في إطار مبادرة إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن، اجتمع عدد من الخبراء وأصحاب المصلحة، من قطاع الأسماك من مختلف المحافظات الساحلية في الجمهورية، بمدينة المكلا في حضرموت خلال الفترة (26-28 نوفمبر / تشرين الثاني 2019)، لمناقشة التحديات التي تواجه القطاع السمكي واقتراح الحلول المناسبة لها. توصلت هذه المناقشات إلى ضرورة التعاون بين الحكومة والقطاع الخاص ومجتمعات الصيد والمؤسسات التعليمية والفاعلين الدوليين، لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة والتعافي من آثار الصراع الحالي. بالنظر إلى عدم قدرة وزارة الثروة السمكية على إنجاز مهامها نتيجة للنزاع القائم، رأى المشاركون أنه بات من المهم منح امتيازاتها التنفيذية فيما يخص وضع السياسات والتنظيم على المدى القصير إلى المجالس المحلية، وتمكين الأخيرة وتفويضها مؤقتا لإدارة القطاع خلال الصراع، كما اقترحوا سياسات طويلة الأجل من شأنها، في حال تبنيها من قبل الحكومة اليمنية والفاعلين الدوليين، أن تعيد تنشيط القطاع وتحسن قدراته. 

تشمل التوصيات:

  • إنشاء صندوق لدعم صادرات الأسماك ومنتجاتها.
  • إجراء تقييمات علمية للمخزون الوطني من الأسماك، ودراسات على المواطن البحرية.
  • تسهيل التعاون بين الأطراف الدولية المعنية، مع كليات العلوم البحرية ومؤسسات الأبحاث المحلية.
  • منح المجالس المحلية المزيد من الصلاحيات التنفيذية مؤقتًا، لتولي مهام وزارة الثروة السمكية التي يتعذر عليها ممارستها بسبب الحرب.
  • تنمية وزارة الثروة السمكية، عبر تحسين مواردها البشرية وقدراتها التنظيمية.
  • تصميم وتنفيذ الشراكات بين المنظمات الدولية والقطاعين العام والخاص، لتأهيل وتحسين البنية التحتية.
  • تصميم وتنفيذ شراكات بين المنظمات الدولية والقطاعين العام والخاص والصيادين الحرفيين ومجتمعات الصيد، لزيادة الإنتاج وتحسين جودة الصيد.
  • يجب على وكالات الإغاثة الدولية استكشاف طرق لدعم قطاع الأسماك في اليمن، لتحسين الأمن الغذائي في البلاد.

 

خلفية:

يعتبر القطاع السمكي في اليمن من القطاعات الواعدة التي من شأنها المساهمة في تعزيز الاقتصاد الوطني، إذ يبلغ طول السواحل اليمنية أكثر من 2500 كيلومتر، وتتميز بالمناطق الغنية بالأسماك،[1] لكنها تعاني العديد من التحديات التي فاقمتها الأزمة الحالية. أظهرت أحدث البيانات التي نشرتها وزارة الثروة السمكية عام 2012، أن قطاع الأسماك ساهم بحوالي 3% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي، وشكل ثاني أكبر مصدر لإيرادات التصدير بعد النفط.[2]

ينقسم قطاع الأسماك إلى مكونين أساسيين: مصائد الأسماك البحرية؛ والاستزراع السمكي، والأول هو المهيمن في القطاع، بينما الثاني يعتبر محدودا نسبياً، من حيث الحجم والإنتاج. بحسب أحدث بيانات متوفرة من وزارة الثروة السمكية، هناك حوالي 90 ألف صياد مرخص في البلاد،[3] جميعهم تقريباً صيادون تقليديون من الذكور.[4] ويبلغ عدد القوى العاملة في أنشطة الصيد، والأنشطة ذات الصلة بالصيد حوالي 500 ألف شخص يعيلون قرابة 1.7 مليون نسمة.[5] بالمقابل، هناك مزرعة واحدة فقط تعمل في قطاع الاستزراع السمكي في اليمن، حسب بيانات وزارة الثروة السمكية عام 2012.[6]

تشير التقديرات إلى أن إنتاج اليمن من الأسماك والأحياء البحرية يبلغ سنويا حوالي 200 ألف طن قبل اندلاع الصراع، حيث تم تصدير ما بين 40% إلى 50% من هذا الإنتاج، ما أدر عائدات تقدر بحوالي 300 مليون دولار.[7] هناك مراكز استلام، وﻣﺮاﻓﻖ لتفريغ الأﺴﻤاك مملوكة للدولة، وأخرى خاصة، ولكن الدولة لا تملك أساطيل صيد، وبالتالي يعمل الصيادون على قواربهم الخاصة أو على قوارب يستأجرونها من القطاع الخاص. أظهرت دراسة أجريت عام 2018 أن 60% فقط من الصيادين يملكون قوارب صيد، بينما يعمل الباقون مقابل أجر يومي،[8] وأن قرابة الثلث من هؤلاء يملكون القوارب بالشراكة مع آخرين.[9]

واجه قطاع الأسماك خلال العقد الأخير تحديات بيئية متزايدة، مثل تدمير الشعاب المرجانية، والتلوث، وآثار التغير المناخي، وظواهر جوية عنيفة مثل الأعاصير الحلزونية، ومن شبه المؤكد أن هذه العوامل أثرت على حجم الأرصدة السمكية، ولكن لم يتم إجراء تقييم نهائي بهذا الشأن (انظر قسم التحديات أدناه).

خلال الصراع الجاري انخفض حجم الإنتاج السمكي قرابة النصف، بينما تراجعت الصادرات إلى أقل من 70 ألف طن سنوياً منذ اندلاع الحرب.[10] كما أثر نقص الوقود الذي عانت منه البلد بشكل منتظم على عمل الصيادين، إذ أدى إلى ارتفاع التكاليف اللازمة لتشغيل قواربهم. وخلال الحرب هُجر العديد من الصيادين من المجتمعات الساحلية، بسبب الاشتباكات المسلحة في مناطقهم، وبالتالي خسروا مصدر رزقهم، كما أن أولئك الذين لم يُهجروا وظلوا في مناطقهم على طول سواحل البحر الأحمر من الحديدة إلى عدن، لم يتمكنوا من ممارسة عملهم بانتظام بسبب القتال وانعدام الأمن.     

 

التحديات الأساسية التي تواجه القطاع السمكي في اليمن

نقص البيانات والمعرفة

تعتبر شحة الأبحاث العلمية، وتدني إنتاج المعرفة فيما يخص حجم وصحة المخزون السمكي، أبرز التحديات التي تواجه القطاع السمكي في اليمن. آخر تقييم تم إجراؤه لتحديد مناطق الصيد والنظم الإيكولوجية الساحلية والبحرية ومواقع تربية الأحياء المائية كان منذ أكثر من 30 عاماً،[11] وليس هناك أي تقييم حديث، وبالتالي ليس هناك معلومات وبيانات عن القطاع ووضع المخزون السمكي من حيث الجدوى التجارية، والأنواع المهددة بالانقراض والشعاب المرجانية، وغيرها من الجوانب المتعلقة بالنظام البيئي البحري والمواطن البحرية.

لا زالت أدوات وأساليب الصيد في اليمن تقليدية، وتقل نسبة استعمال معدات تكنولوجية متطورة، وهذا يحد من كميات الإنتاج ككل، كما أن ممارسات الصيد المدمرة، التي تتزايد شعبيتها بين الصيادين، تهدد استدامة القطاع. تشمل بعض هذه الممارسات: الصيد العرضي المفرط؛ وصيد الأسماك اليافعة؛ والصيد باستخدام الشباك الدقيقة التي تُجر في أعماق البحار؛ والصيد بالتفجير، ما يدمر الشعاب المرجانية والموائل البحرية.[12]

 

البنية التحتية الضعيفة

تعاني صناعة الأسماك في اليمن من مشاكل جدية في البنية التحتية، حيث تدار مراكز الاستلام البدائية وذات السعة الصغيرة، ومصانع الأسماك بشكل سيء وغير فعال، ويحد غياب مراكز استلام ملائمة، وعدم وجود إدارة وموظفين مدربين على ضمان معايير الجودة، من قدرة القطاع على تلبية معايير الجودة سواء في السوق المحلية أو الأجنبية، بالإضافة إلى غياب البنية التحتية الملائمة في المرافئ وأرصفة الصيد، مثل عدم وجود كواسر أمواج كافية، أو مرافق تخزين بارد ملائمة، وغياب وسائل لتوليد الطاقة بأسعار مقبولة.

في ذات السياق؛ يفتقر العاملون في قطاع صيد السمك للتدريب اللازم على استخدام الوسائل التكنولوجية الحديثة، التي من شأنها أن تطور القطاع. تفتقر اليمن أيضا إلى مدونة سلوك تضمن أفضل الممارسات لإنتاج وتخزين وتوزيع وتصدير واستيراد وبيع الأسماك والمنتجات السمكية، ما يؤدي إلى انخفاض قيمة الأسماك المصطادة. كل هذا يؤدي في المحصلة إلى تقويض الجهود الرامية إلى حماية الموائل البحرية - مثل الشعاب والمزارع المرجانية.  

 

غياب الدعم من القطاعين العام والخاص

ليس بمقدور وزارة الثروة السمكية حالياً القيام بمهامها المعتادة، بسبب غياب الموظفين المؤهلين، وغياب التمويل، ما يعني غياب الرقابة الحكومية بشكل شبه كامل، وعدم تطبيق معايير الجودة المطلوبة، وعدم دعم القطاع السمكي فيما يخص صيد وتجهيز الأسماك، والتصدير وتأمين الخدمات اللوجستية والتسويق الدولي. وفي الواقع، ما يحدث هو العكس، إذ على مصانع تجهيز الأسماك أن تدفع ضريبة تصل إلى 25% على الإنتاج السمكي، ما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع سعر البيع، والحد من القدرة التنافسية لصادرات اليمن من الأسماك.

وأدى الصراع، وتحديداً انتقال وزارات الحكومة المعترف بها دولياً، مثل وزارة الثروة السمكية، من صنعاء إلى عدن عام 2016، إلى ظهور عدة تحديات أمام التواصل مع البلدان المستوردة، وإلى صعوبات في تسجيل الشركات المصدرة لدى الاتحاد الأوروبي. خسرت الوزارات رأس المال البشري ومهارات عدة بعد انتقالها إلى عدن، إذ أن معظم موظفيها لم ينتقلوا إلى عدن. أدت هذه التحديات التي تواجه القطاع، وكذلك الاعتماد على الطرق البدائية في إدارته، إلى تردد الجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص عن الاستثمار في تطوير قطاع الأسماك في اليمن، ما عرقل تحديداً التنمية في تربية الأحياء المائية، خاصة مع ارتفاع التكلفة الرأسمالية الأولية.

 

التطلع قدماً

من الجدير بالذكر، أن جذور أغلب هذه التحديات لا ترتبط بالنزاع الحالي بشكل أساسي، لكن ومن دون شك، فقد ازداد الوضع تعقيداً بسبب الحرب. لا بد من اتخاذ إجراءات معينة لكي يتمكن قطاع صيد الأسماك من العمل بكامل طاقته، والمساهمة في الاقتصاد كمكون رئيسي وفعال، وبالتالي، فقد اقترح المشاركون في ورشة العمل خطوات أساسية للحكومة والفاعلين الدوليين، تساعد في تأهيل وتطوير القطاع السمكي في اليمن:

 

التوصيات:

  • إنشاء صندوق لدعم الصادرات من الأسماك ومنتجاتها. من شأن وجود صندوق تديره الحكومة، ممثلة بالمجلس الأعلى لتنمية الصادرات ووزارة الثروة السمكية، وبدعم من الجهات المانحة الدولية، أن يساعد مصدري الأسماك اليمنيين على المنافسة في الأسواق الدولية. كما أن بإمكان الدعم الحكومي أن يغطي تكاليف النقل والتسويق وتكاليف الرخص والشهادات اللازمة للاستيراد. ويجب على هذا الصندوق أيضاً أن يساعد في تأمين رأس المال المطلوب للبدء في مشاريع مزارع الأسماك وتربية الأحياء المائية، ما قد يساعد في زيادة الإنتاج السمكي بشكل عام، ودعم الأمن الغذائي في اليمن.
  • إجراء تقييمات علمية للمخزون السمكي المحلي، ودراسات عن المواطن البحرية. على الحكومة ممثلة بوزارة الثروة السمكية ــ بالتعاون مع الفاعلين الدوليين ــ أن يفوضوا مؤسسات ذات صلة لتقييم المخزون السمكي المجدي تجارياً، ورصد الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض والشعاب المرجانية، وإجراء غيرها من الأبحاث اللازمة بهدف تنمية القطاع. على هذه الأبحاث أن تحدد أيضاً أي أصناف الأسماك هي الأنسب لتعزيز الأمن الغذائي في اليمن، وأن تتوصل إلى أفضل الطرق للحفاظ على الموائل البحرية.
  • تسهيل سبل تعاون الأطراف الدولية المعنية مع كليات العلوم البحرية ومؤسسات الأبحاث المحلية. من الضروري أن تستند الجهود الرامية لتطوير القطاع السمكي في اليمن، إلى الأبحاث العلمية وأفضل الممارسات الدولية. ويجب أن تشمل هذه الجهود القطاع بأكمله (موظفو وزارة الثروة السمكية، الصيادون، والعاملون في تجهيز الأسماك) وغيرهم من أصحاب المصلحة في القطاع الخاص. وبهدف تسهيل استدامة نقل المعرفة إلى المؤسسات والخبراء المحليين، يجب على الجهود الدولية التي تعمل في مجال تقييم الأرصدة السمكية والأبحاث البحرية، أن تشمل تدريب أصحاب المصلحة المحليين مثل العلماء والصيادين والعاملين في مجال تجهيز الأسماك وموظفي وزارة الثروة السمكية.
  • منح المجالس المحلية المزيد من الصلاحيات التنفيذية مؤقتًا، لتؤدي مهام وزارة الثروة السمكية التي يتعذر عليها ممارستها بسبب الحرب. ستسمح هذه الصلاحيات التنفيذية للمجالس المحلية بالتدخل لوقف ممارسات الصيد الضارة والمخالفة، وتحديث وتطوير أساليب الصيد، وإلزام الصيادين بحيازة تراخيص عمل، بالتعاون مع خفر السواحل واتحاد صيادي الأسماك. يجب على المجالس المحلية أن تتمتع بصلاحيات لفحص معدات الصيد، وضمان التزامها بأفضل الممارسات الدولية، وتوافقها مع المعايير واللوائح التنظيمية ومنع استخدام معدات صيد ضارة ومخالفة.
  • تنمية وزارة الثروة السمكية، وتحسين مواردها البشرية وقدراتها التنظيمية. توظيف أشخاص مؤهلين ومتخصصين في وزارة الثروة السمكية وغيرها من الكيانات الحكومية التي تعمل في القطاع السمكي ضروري وملح من أجل ازدهار القطاع. لتحقيق هذا الهدف؛ يجب على وزارة الثروة السمكية أن تطور قدراتها لفرض مدونة سلوك تضمن أفضل الممارسات، وتحسن وضع مراكز استلام الأسماك ومصانع تجهيزها، وغيرها من الجوانب المتعلقة بالقطاع. يجب على هذه القواعد التنظيمية أن تُطبق وفقاً لسياسات هادفة إلى دعم القطاع السمكي بشكل عام، وعلى وزارة الثروة السمكية أن تبذل جهدا كافيا لإيجاد سبل لمساعدة القطاع، مثل: دعم أسعار الوقود؛ وتأمين النقل؛ والخدمات اللوجستية؛ والإعفاء من الضرائب على الصادرات السمكية؛ وتسويق الإنتاج في المعارض الدولية. على سبيل المثال، من الضروري جداً أن تتعاون وزارة الثروة السمكية مع الجمعية اليمنية لمصدري الأسماك، لتدريب الموظفين الحكوميين في أقسام الوزارة المختلفة، خاصةً في مجال تحسين التواصل الرسمي مع الشركاء الدوليين، كالاتحاد الأوروبي، لتخفيف الحواجز التجارية أمام المصدرين اليمنيين.
  • تصميم وتنفيذ آليات الشراكة بين المنظمات الدولية والقطاعين العام والخاص، لتأهيل وتحسين البنية التحتية. ستستثمر هذه الشراكات في تجديد المنشآت التي تملكها الدولة، مثل كواسر الأمواج والأرصفة البحرية، ومراكز الاستلام، ومرافق تخزين البارد، وبناء منشآت جديدة حسب الحاجة.
  • تصميم وتنفيذ آليات الشراكة بين المنظمات الدولية والقطاعين العام والخاص والصيادين الحرفيين ومجتمعات الصيد، لزيادة الإنتاج وتحسين جودة المصيد. بالنظر إلى قلة استخدام معدات صيد متطورة - والاستثمارات المطلوبة على مستويات عالية لتطوير تقنيات الصيد لتلائم المعايير الدولية - يجب أن يكون إدخال التكنولوجيا إلى القطاع السمكي هدفاً متوسط إلى بعيد الأجل، حيث يجب أن تركز الجهود في الوقت الحالي على تحسين فعالية الصيد التقليدي. ومن الممكن تحسين الصيد التقليدي عبر الشراكة بين الصيادين والقطاع الخاص لتأمين (تأجير) قوارب مجهزة بشكل أفضل للصيادين، تسمح لهم بقضاء وقت أطول في عرض البحر، والحفاظ على جودة الأسماك حتى وصولها إلى مراكز الاستلام. ويجب أن تركز هذه الشراكة ــ التي تشمل أصحاب مصلحة آخرين ــ على تحسين جودة وسعة قوارب ومعدات وطرق الصيد، وتوفير التدريب للصيادين على أساليب وممارسات الصيد المستدامة. وبهدف تطوير مستدام للقطاع السمكي، لا بد من نشر الوعي بين الصيادين الحرفيين حول تقنيات الصيد المستدامة والحاجة لحماية الموائل البحرية ودورة تكاثر الأسماك.
  • على وكالات الإغاثة الدولية، وتحديداً برنامج الأغذية العالمي، استكشاف طرق لدعم قطاع الأسماك في اليمن لتحسين الأمن الغذائي في البلاد. هناك عدة سبل لتحقيق هذا الهدف مثل دعم القطاع بشكل عام لزيادة الإنتاج، وتشمل الأسماك التي يتم اصطيادها محلياً ضمن المساعدات الغذائية التي يتم إيصالها إلى المستفيدين (مثلاً في علب غير قابلة للتلف).

 

الهوامش:

[1] "الاستراتيجية الوطنية لمصايد الأسماك (2012-2025)"، وزارة الثروة السمكية، 2012.

[2] المرجع نفسه.

[3] مقابلة مع مسؤول في وزارة الثروة السمكية.

[4] على الرغم من أن هناك نساء يعملن في هذا القطاع - وبحسب بعض الأدلة القولية بأن عددهن تزايد خلال النزاع الحالي - فإن الذكور يهيمنون على الصناعة والمهنة بشكل كبير.

[5] الفرح، عمار محمد، "تأثير الحرب في اليمن على الصيد الحرفي في البحر الأحمر"، مركز الشرق الأوسط في كلية لندن للاقتصاد، 2018، http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/91022/، تم الاطلاع عليه في 13 فبراير / شباط 2020.

[6] "الاستراتيجية الوطنية لمصايد الأسماك (2012-2025)"، وزارة الثروة السمكية، 2012: "المزرعة الوحيدة التي تعمل في قطاع الاستزراع السمكي هي مزرعة "المسلم" التجارية التي تقع شمال الحديدة على ساحل البحر الأحمر. تضم المزرعة 50 هکتارا من أحواض الروبيان ويبلغ إنتاجها السنوي 400 طن (بشكل رئيسي الجمبري الهندي الأبيض والجمبري النمر العملاق)."

[7] مقابلة مع مسؤول في وزارة الثروة السمكية.

[8] الفرح، عمار محمد، مصدر سابق.

[9] المصدر نفسه.

[10] مقابلة مع مسؤول في وزارة الثروة السمكية.

[11] "الاستراتيجية الوطنية لمصايد الأسماك (2012-2025 مصدر سابق.

[12] الفرح، عمار محمد، مصدر سابق.

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

تنمية رأس المال البشري

يناير 16، 2020 موجز السياسات
يلخص موجز السياسات هذا النقاشات المتعلقة برأس المال البشري في اليمن التي دارت في إطار ورشة عمل عقدتها مبادرة "إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن" في العاصمة الأردنية عمان، يومي 24 و25 أغسطس 2019. أجمع المشاركون في ورشة العمل على أن تراكم رأس المال البشري في اليمن قد تراجع بشكل مؤكد منذ بداية الصراع الحالي، ولكن البيانات الدقيقة لتقييم مدى وطبيعة هذا التراجع ضئيلة للغاية، ومن شأن ذلك أن يعقد التعامل مع…

خلق فرص عمل جديدة في اليمن

أكتوبر 17، 2018 موجز السياسات
أدت عقود من عدم الاستقرار السياسي والنزاع المسلح الدوري إلى تقليص النمو الاقتصادي لليمن وفرص العمل ومستوى الإنتاجية، فقبل اندلاع الصراع الحالي، كان جزء كبير من السكان العاملين في البلاد منخرطين في عمالة غير محترفة، وتعمل في الزراعة الريفية أو بشكل غير رسمي في الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة، وفي الآونة الأخيرة قام الصراع المستمر بتدمير حركة التجارة الاعتيادية وترك ملايين اليمنيين دون وسيلة لإعالة…

استعادة قدرات البنك المركزي وتأمين استقرار الريال

فبراير 8، 2018 موجز السياسات
كجزء من مبادرة ”إعادة تصور الاقتصاد اليمني“، اجتمع أكثر من 20 مشاركا من أبرز القيادات التنموية والاقتصادية اليمنية في المنتدى الثاني لقيادات التنمية في الفترة بين 14 و16 يناير/ كانون الثاني 2018 في العاصمة الأردنية عمان. وقد احتلت قضية تدهور قيمة الريال اليمني المرتبة الأولى بين المواضيع المطروحة للنقاش، وما أعقب ذلك من تفاقم شديد للأزمة الإنسانية، والحاجة إلى إعادة تمكين البنك المركزي…

Publications

Policy Briefs

Developing Yemen’s Fishing Industry

Developing Yemen’s Fishing Industry

Executive summary

The fishing industry in Yemen faces many structural challenges that have limited its production and potential contribution to overall economic output. Development of the industry’s infrastructure, human capacity and regulation was already poor prior to the outbreak of the ongoing armed conflict in Yemen. Since the war began five years ago the fishing industry has faced increased challenges, including a significant drop in the level of production with the displacement of many fishermen and associated workforce; fish processing plants halting production; surging fuel costs; the decline of local purchasing power leading to a drop in the local demand for fish products; and the disempowerment of the Ministry of Fish Wealth (MFW), among other challenges.

From November 26 to 28, 2019, a group of experts and fishing industry stakeholders convened in Mukalla, Hadramawt, as part of the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy Initiative, to discuss the industry’s challenges and recommend solutions. These talks discussed how the sustainable development of the industry and recovery from the impacts of the current conflict require collaboration between the government, the private sector and fishing communities, educational institutions, along with international stakeholders. In particular, given the inability of the MFW to carry out its basic institutional functions due to the ongoing conflict, it is crucial that the ministry’s executive privileges for short-term policy making and regulation be temporarily delegated to local councils and that they be empowered to regulate the industry during the conflict. The participants also identified longer-term policies for the government and international stakeholders to revitalize the industry and enhance its capabilities.

Recommendations included:

  • Create a fund to support fisheries exports.
  • Conduct scientific assessments of national fish stocks and studies of the marine habitat.
  • Facilitate international engagement with local marine science faculties and research institutions.
  • Temporarily grant more executive privileges to local councils to assume duties usually carried out by the MFW but interrupted due to the current war.
  • Build the human resource and regulatory capacities of the MFW.
  • Design and implement partnerships between international agencies, and the public and private sectors to rehabilitate and improve physical infrastructure.
  • Design and implement partnerships between the international agencies, the public and private sector, artisanal fishermen and fishing communities to increase production and quality of catch.
  • International aid agencies should explore ways to support the Yemeni fishing industry in improving food security in the country.

 

Background

Yemen’s fisheries sector holds untapped promise in contributing to the national economy, with a coastline of more than 2,500 kilometers and rich fishing grounds offshore.[1] Yet the sector has long faced many challenges, which have been exacerbated during the ongoing conflict. The most recent available data on the size of the industry, shared by the Ministry of Fish Wealth (MFW) in 2012, show that it contributes roughly 3 percent of the country's gross domestic product (GDP) and constituted the country’s second largest source of export earnings after oil.[2]

The industry is divided into marine fisheries and aquaculture, with the former by far the dominant sector in the industry and the latter relatively limited in its size and output. According to the latest records of the MFW there are roughly 90,000 licenced fishers in the country,[3] almost all of whom are male[4] artisanal fishers; the size of the larger labor force engaged in fishing and fishing-related activities is some 500,000 people, who as family breadwinners support some 1.7 million people in the country.[5] The MFW reported in 2012 that there was only one operating aquaculture farm in Yemen.[6] 

It is estimated that Yemen’s total annual fisheries production amounted to roughly 200,000 tons prior to the conflict; 40-50 percent of production was sent for export, generating revenues of about US$300 million.[7] There are both state-owned and private docks and fish landing facilities in the country, although there is no state-owned fishing fleet, meaning individual fishermen work either on their own boats or on privately rented boats. A study in 2018 showed that only 60 percent of fishermen own their boats while the rest work for day wages.[8] Of the 60 percent of fishermen who are boat owners, roughly one third reported partnering with others for joint ownership of their vessel.[9]

In the last decade, the sector witnessed major increasing environmental challenges, such as the destruction of coral reefs, pollution, climate change impacts and weather events such as cyclones, all of which have almost certainly impacted Yemen’s fish stocks, although a definitive assessment to this end has not been conducted (see challenges section below).

The conflict has also caused challenges with production, which has dropped by half; exports have dwindled to less than 70,000 tons per year since the war began.[10] Regular fuel shortages in Yemen have increased fishermen’s costs of operating their boats, while many fishermen have been displaced from coastal communities due to armed clashes and thus lost access to their livelihood and income. Even for those who have not been displaced, conflict and insecurity in coastal areas – such as along the Red Sea coast in Hudaydah governorate and in Aden – have regularly interrupted fishing activities.

 

Fundamental Challenges Facing Yemen’s Fishing Industry

Lack of Data and Knowledge

The most pressing challenge facing the fishing industry is the lack of scientific research and knowledge production regarding the size and health of Yemen’s fish stocks. The last assessment, which identified fishing areas, coastal and marine ecosystems, and fisheries breeding sites, took place more than 30 years ago.[11] The lack of recent stock assessments means the status of crucial aspects of the industry are unknown, such as the condition of commercially viable fish stocks, species under threat, coral reefs and other aspects of the marine ecosystem and habitat.

Modern commercial technology is not widely used, with most fishing in Yemen carried out using small-scale, low-technology artisanal techniques which limit overall production. Additionally, the sustainability of the sector is threatened by the growing popularity of destructive fishing techniques, such as deploying small-mesh nets that capture immature fish and excessive by-catch; bottom trawling that destroys coral reefs and marine habitat; and blast fishing using explosives.[12]

 

Inadequate Infrastructure

Yemen’s fisheries industry faces considerable infrastructural problems, such as rudimentary and small-capacity landing sites and fish processing facilities, which also often suffer from poor management. The absence of adequate landing sites and properly trained management and staff to ensure quality standards limits the industry’s ability to meet market quality standards, whether foreign or domestic. There is also a general lack of port and dock infrastructure, such as adequate breakwaters, cold storage facilities and access to affordable power generation. Indeed, at present, workers in the fishing industry lack the necessary training to absorb new technology to develop the sector, while Yemen also lacks a national code of best practices for handling, production, storage, distribution, export, import and sale of fish and fishery products, which lead to a reduction in value of caught fish. Such deficiencies in turn undermine efforts to protect the marine habitat – such as coral reefs and coral farms.

 

Lack of Public and Private Support

Currently, the MFW is incapable of carrying out the normal operations of a ministry, due to the lack of qualified staff and budget financing. Thus, there is almost no government oversight or enforcement of industry standards nor support for fish harvesting, processing, logistics, exports, international marketing or any other aspect of the industry. Indeed, quite the opposite: Fish processors face up to 25 percent tax on all fish production, which increases the price for consumers and hurts the competitiveness of Yemeni fish exports.

The conflict has led to challenges regarding communication with importing countries and the registration of exporting companies with the European Union, stemming from the relocation of the internationally recognized Yemeni government’s ministries from Sana’a to Aden in 2016, including the MFW. The relocation led to the loss of human capital and institutional knowledge, given that most public servants did not move with the official ministry.

Given the litany of challenges the sector faces – as well as the rudimentary state of technological adoption – private sector actors have been reluctant to invest in developing Yemen’s fishing industry. This has in particular stymied aquafarm development, given the associated upfront capital investment costs.  

 

Looking Ahead

The many challenges the fishing industry in Yemen have roots that are not necessarily related to the ongoing conflict but the intensity of the war has aggravated the situation. In order for the fishing industry to fulfil its potential as an important component of the Yemeni economy, certain steps must be taken. The workshop participants have identified key steps for the government and international stakeholders for the maintenance and development of the fishing industry in Yemen:

 

Recommendations

  • Create a fund to support fisheries exports. A fund run by the government, represented by the Higher Council for Exports and the MFW, with the support of international donors, should assist Yemeni fish exporters to become competitive in international markets. Subsidies could cover such costs as transportation, marketing, and acquiring the necessary import permits and certificates. This fund should also be directed to help cover capital start-up cost for fish farms and aquaculture, which have the potential to increase the fish production generally as well as support food security in Yemen.
  • Conduct scientific assessments of national fish stocks and studies of the marine habitat. The government, represented by the MFW, with the cooperation of international stakeholders, must commission institutions with adequate expertise to assess the country’s commercially viable fish stocks, fish species at risk and the status of the marine habitat around the country, among other salient scientific research needed to guide the development of the industry. This research should also examine which species would be best suited to helping enhance food security in Yemen, as well as means to help preserve the marine habitat.
  • Facilitate international engagement with local marine science faculties and research institutions. It is essential for future development efforts in Yemen’s fisheries sector to be guided by scientific research and international best practices. This should apply to all levels of the industry – MFW personnel, fishermen, processors and other private stakeholders. To facilitate a sustainable transfer of knowledge to local institutions and experts, international efforts to conduct stock assessments and marine research in Yemen should have as a key component the training of local stakeholders, such as local scientists, fishermen, processors and MFW personnel.
  • Temporarily grant more executive privileges to the local councils to assume duties usually carried out by the MFW but interrupted due to the current war. These executive privileges would allow local councils to intervene to stop harmful and illegal fishing practices, update and implement fishing best practices, and require fishermen to have a fishing license in cooperation with the coast guard and the Yemeni Fishing Union. Local councils should have the power to inspect fishing equipment and guarantee their compatibility with the standards and regulations of the industry’s international best practices, and to prevent harmful and unlawful fishing equipment from being deployed.
  • Build the human resource and regulatory capacities of the MFW. The recruitment of qualified and specialized staff at the MFW and other public entities working with the fisheries industry is crucial for the industry’s prosperity. To this end, the MFW should aim to establish and develop the ability to enforce national codes of conduct to regulate fishing practices, landing sites, processing plants and other aspects of the industry. These regulations should be implemented within a policy objective of aiding the industry generally, and the MFW should vigorously explore means through which it can assist the fishing industry; such actions could involve support for fuel costs, transportation and logistics, tax exemption for fisheries’ exports, marketing in international fish exhibitions, etc. For instance, joint efforts between the MFW and the Yemeni Seafood Exporters Association to train existing public servants in the MFW’s technical organs is urgently needed, especially for official communications with international partners such as the European Union to reduce trade barriers for Yemeni exporters.
  • Design and implement partnerships between international agencies, the public and private sectors to rehabilitate and improve physical infrastructure. These partnerships would invest in renovating state-owned facilities, such as breakwaters, docks, landing and cold storage facilities, and to build new facilities when required.
  • Design and implement partnerships between international agencies, the public and private sector, artisanal fishermen and fishing communities to increase production and quality of catch. Given the general under-adoption of modern fisheries technologies in Yemen – and the high level of investment needed to bring fishing techniques within the range of international norms – introduction of new technologies should be a mid-to-long-term objective, while the current focus should be on making artisanal fishing more efficient. The efficiency of artisanal fishing can be supported through partnerships between fishermen and the private sector to offer (lease) fishermen better-equipped boats to allow longer fishing periods at sea and ensure the quality of the fish when it reaches the landing sites. Partnerships involving other stakeholders should help improve the quality and capacity of fishing vessels and equipment, handling of catch, and provide training for fishermen in sustainable fishing techniques and practices. Creating a sustainable fishing industry requires spreading awareness among artisanal fishermen on sustainable fishing techniques and the need to protect fish habitat and breeding cycles.
  • International aid agencies, and in particular the World Food Programme, should explore ways to support the Yemeni fishing industry in improving food security in the country. Options could involve general support to help the fishing industry boost production to including local fish catch in the food assistance delivered to beneficiaries (such as in non-perishable canned form).

 

Footnotes

[1] “National Fisheries Strategy (2012-2025),” Ministry of Fish Wealth, 2012.

[2] Ibid.

[3] Interview with an official at the Ministry of Fish Wealth.

[4] Although there are fisherwomen working in this industry, a number that anecdotal evidence suggests has increased during the current conflict, the industry and the profession remain heavily male-dominated.

[5] Alfarah, Ammar Mohammed, “The Impact of the War in Yemen on Artisanal Fishing of the Red Sea," LSE Middle East Centre, 2018, http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/91022/. Accessed February 13, 2020.

[6] “National Fisheries Strategy (2012-2025),” Ministry of Fish Wealth, 2012: “The only operating aquaculture farm is Musallam Trading Company based north of Hodeidah on the Red Sea coast. The farm consists of 50 ha shrimp ponds with annual production of 400 tons (mainly Penaeus indicus and P. monodon).”

[7] Interview with an official at the Ministry of Fish Wealth.

[8] Alfarah, Ammar Mohammed, “The Impact of the War in Yemen on Artisanal Fishing of the Red Sea,” LSE Middle East Centre, 2018, http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/91022/. Accessed February 13, 2020.

[9] Ibid.

[10] Interview with an official at the MFW.

[11] “National Fisheries Strategy (2012-2025),” Ministry of Fish Wealth, 2012.

[12] Alfarah, Ammar Mohammed, “The Impact of the War in Yemen on Artisanal Fishing of the Red Sea,” The LSE Middle East Centre, 2018, , http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/91022/. Accessed February 13, 2020.

Read also in Policy Briefs

Transitional Government in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 5, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief offers recommendations to maximize the effectiveness of governance in post-conflict Yemen – whatever the composition or structure of the government. It presents three case studies on government models previously introduced in Yemen, Tunisia and Lebanon after periods of instability. These case studies offer useful lessons on the challenges, risks and opportunities of…

Priorities for Government Policy in Yemen

February 5, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief outlines recommendations for the immediate priorities of the Government of Yemen, both to achieve quick wins and to prepare the ground for medium and long-term success. These recommendations are the outcomes of in-depth discussions held during the fourth Development Champions Forum convened on December 8-11, 2018, in Amman, Jordan. They are designed to offer Prime Minister…

Addressing Yemen's Most Critical Challenges: Practical Short-Term Recommendations

June 5, 2017 Policy Briefs
As part of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative, the Development Champions Forum met in Amman, Jordan, between April 29 and May 1, 2017, to discuss practical interventions necessary to address the multiple and varied economic challenges facing Yemen. These challenges were identified within three main, if overlapping, categories; the food security crisis, the problems faced by the…