الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

التحديات أمام تنمية مصادر الإيرادات العامة في اليمن

التحديات أمام تنمية مصادر الإيرادات العامة في اليمن

منذ أبريل/ نيسان 2022، تحولت الحرب في اليمن من صراع خلّف خسائر وعدد كبيرة من الضحايا إلى حالة من الجمود المستمر مع ما شهدته جبهات القتال من هدوء نسبي. تحوّل الصراع اليوم إلى حرب محورها الاقتصاد، حيث تستغل جماعة الحوثيين (حركة أنصار الله) المفاوضات الجارية وقوتها العسكرية لممارسة ضغوط مالية على الحكومة المعترف بها دوليًا. تتسم المرحلة الراهنة بتوسّع الحرب الاقتصادية مع قيام سلطات الحوثيين بتضييق الخناق على الأنشطة التجارية في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة، مما أجج سخط واستياء عام نتيجة انهيار الخدمات العامة وتدهور قيمة العملة في تلك المناطق.

  • بدأ استهداف الحوثيين لمصادر الإيرادات الحكومية في أكتوبر 2022، عبر فرض حصار على صادرات النفط وتوسيع دائرة الحرب الاقتصادية لتطال الإيرادات الجمركية وحظر استيراد غاز الطهي المُنتج في المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة.
  • تسبب الهبوط الحاد في عائدات النفط والغاز والإيرادات الضريبية بعجز هائل في موازنة الحكومة وقوّض قدرتها على تغطية النفقات الأساسية، بما في ذلك دفع رواتب موظفي القطاع العام وتوفير التيار الكهربائي.
  • تفاقمت أزمة الكهرباء في جنوب البلاد مع انتهاء منحة المشتقات النفطية المقدمة من السعودية وتعذّر تشغيل محطات توليد الطاقة الحكومية والخاصة، وبحلول سبتمبر/أيلول، كان سكان العاصمة المؤقتة عدن يحصلون على أقل من أربع ساعات من الكهرباء يوميًا.
  • يُتوقع أن تُتيح المنحة السعودية الجديدة المعلنة في أغسطس/آب 2023م (بقيمة 1.2 مليار دولار أمريكي) نوعًا من المتنفس بالنسبة للحكومة، إلا أن القطاع العام لا يستطيع الصمود على هذا الشكل من المساعدات غير المنتظمة؛ في ظل محدودية الاستثمارات الخاصة نتيجة الصراع وحالة التشظي السياسي. سيَفقد مئات الآلاف من الموظفين العاملين في القطاع العام بمناطق الحكومة ومُعالِيهم مصدر دخلهم الأساسي في حال عدم دفع الرواتب، كما ستنخفض قدرتهم الشرائية مع تراجع قيمة الريال في ظل نضوب احتياطيات النقد الأجنبي لدى البنك المركزي.
  • سيَتدهور الوضع الاقتصادي والإنساني في اليمن بوتيرة متسارعة في حال عدم توفّر دعم مالي كبير ومستدام.

تتناول هذه الورقة بالتفصيل الظروف التي ساهمت في تراجع تدفقات الإيرادات العامة للحكومة المعترف بها دوليا، وتُحدّد السبل المحتملة لاستعادتها. تستند التفاصيل الواردة في الورقة إلى دراسات أجرتها الوحدة الاقتصادية لمركز صنعاء وإلى المشاورات والمناقشات المنبثقة عن الاجتماع التاسع لمنتدى رواد التنمية، الذي عُقد في الفترة من 24 إلى 26 مايو/ أيار في عمّان - الأردن في إطار مبادرة إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن.[1] تباحث المشاركون آنذاك السبل المحتملة للتخفيف من تداعيات الأزمة المالية التي تعاني منها الحكومة واقترحوا إجراء المزيد من دراسات الجدوى حول مصادر الإيرادات المحتملة الأخرى المُمكن استغلالها.

  • يمكن ان يباع النفط الخام بالعقود الآجلة المُعاد هيكلتها، أو التعامل مع المُصدِّرين الإقليميين من القطاع الخاص، من خلال عمليات تتسم بالشفافية. وإمكانية ترشيد آلية تحصيل الرسوم الجمركية والضرائب أو تطبيق اللامركزية فيها.
  • يتعين على الحكومة استكشاف الطُرُق المثلى لتدشين شراكات فعالة مع القطاع الخاص وتشجيع الفاعلين فيه على توفير خدمات الكهرباء ، فضلا عن دراسة إمكانية خصخصة قطاع الكهرباء (ولو جزئيا) أو تخصيص التمويل اللازم له وترشيد الكهرباء من خلال نظام الدفع المسبق، والذي قد يعالج الثغرات والعجز في تحصيل فواتير خدمات الكهرباء
  • يُمكن إدخال إصلاحات في إدارة الأصول الأخرى (بما في ذلك شركة الاتصالات الحكومية)، وكذلك في إدارة النفقات (بما في ذلك نفقات قطاع الأمن والقطاعات العامة الاخرى).
  • تُعد قدرة الحكومة محدودة على زيادة أو تحسين آلية تحصيل ضرائب الدخل أو الضرائب التجارية أو حتى الضرائب المفروضة في منافذ البيع باليمن، بسبب الظروف التي أوجدتها الحرب والانقسام الجغرافي.
  • يعتمد إدخال إصلاحات جذرية على وجود مؤسسات دولة قوية وفعّالة، والتي أصبح دورها غائباً للأسف في اليمن منذ فترة طويلة، وستَتطلب إعادة هيكلتها وتفعيلها بعد انتهاء الحرب.

لا يُتوقع أن يكون للتدابير المطروحة في هذه الورقة تأثير سريع في زيادة العائدات المالية للحكومة دون رفدها بآليات أخرى، لكنها قد تخفف على الأقل من المأزق الحالي الذي تواجهه الحكومة وقد تساعدها على استعادة درجة من الثقة في قدرتها على إدارة الأزمة. في هذا السياق، يحتاج اليمن إلى تفعيل مسارين: ١) هدنة اقتصادية تفصل بين التنافس العسكري (الذي يشهد حالة من الجمود) وبين سبل كسب عيش ورفاه السكان المدنيين ممن أُلقي بهم في براثن الفقر واليأس. ٢) دعم مالي متواصل من السعودية والإمارات، بما يُتيح ترشيد الإيرادات والنفقات على المدى الطويل وضمان إدخال الإصلاحات التي تشتد الحاجة إليها.


[1] تهدف المبادرة إلى المساهمة في بناء السلام، ومنع نشوب الصراعات، وتحقيق الاستقرار الاقتصادي والتنمية المستدامة من خلال بناء توافق في الآراء حول بعض السياسات الجوهرية. تُركز المبادرة على تعزيز الأصوات اليمنية وإشراكهم في النقاشات العامة المتمحورة حول التنمية والقضايا الاقتصادية وإعادة إعمار اليمن في مرحلة ما بعد الصراع، ويجري تنفيذها من قبل مركز صنعاء للدراسات الاستراتيجية و مركز البحوث التطبيقية بالشراكة مع الشرق (كاربو) و شركة ديب روت الاستشارية، وبتمويل من الاتحاد الأوروبي وسفارة مملكة هولندا لدى اليمن. تستند جميع الأرقام الواردة التي جمعتها الوحدة الاقتصادية لمركز صنعاء إلى إحصاءات الحكومة (ما لم يذكر خلاف ذلك).

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

أولويات تعافي وإصلاح قطاع الكهرباء في اليمن

نوفمبر 11، 2021 موجز السياسات
لكهرباء عماد أي اقتصاد وضرورة من ضرورات الحياة العصرية، وقد شكّل ضعف خدمات الكهرباء في اليمن منذ فترة ما قبل الحرب أحد العوائق المهمة أمام تحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية المستدامة وتوفير الخدمات الأساسية، مثل إمدادات المياه، الرعاية الصحية، التعليم، ويهدف موجز السياسات هذا إلى تحديد الأولويات القصوى لاستعادة خدمات قطاع الكهرباء وإصلاح القطاع بعد الحرب؛ إذ يبتدئ الموجز بخلفية حول قطاع الكهرباء…

أهمية رفع فاعلية الاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن

أبريل 10، 2018 موجز السياسات
تم اجتماع أكثر من ٢٠ مشاركا ومشاركة من أبرز القيادات التنموية والاقتصادية في اليمن لمناقشة أهم التحديات التي تواجه البلاد في منتدى قيادات التنمية الثاني الذي عقد مؤخرا ضمن مبادرة "إعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن". كانت الحاجة إلى زيادة تغطية وكفاءة التدخلات التي تقوم بها المنظمات الإنسانية الدولية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة للتصدي للأزمة الإنسانية في اليمن من أبرز المواضيع المطروحة في المنتدى.

تحديات الحكم المحلي في اليمن في خضم النزاع

يوليو 29، 2018 موجز السياسات
تعتبر المجالس المحلية من أهم مؤسسات الدولة في اليمن، فهي بتوليها توفير الخدمات العامة الأساسية لملايين اليمنيين تقوم بتمثيل الحكم الرسمي والدولة اليمنية بالنسبة لكثير من السكان. إلا أن اشتداد النزاع بين الحكومة المعترف بها دوليا والداعمين الإقليميين الحوثيين منذ مارس / آذار 2015 أثر بشكل كبير على تمويل وأمن المجالس المحلية، مقوضا قدرتها على تقديم الخدمات بشكل فعال في معظم مناطق البلاد.

Publications

Policy Briefs

Challenges to Yemen’s Public Revenues

Challenges to Yemen’s Public Revenues

Since April 2022, the war in Yemen has mutated from a high-casualty conflict to a protracted stalemate with relatively stable frontlines. The contest is now over the economy, as the Houthi group (Ansar Allah) leverages negotiations and its military power to put fiscal pressure on the internationally recognized government. The current phase has been marked by the expansion of economic warfare, with the Houthi authorities shutting down trade from government-controlled areas, stoking discontent as public utilities break down and the currency tumbles.

  • The Houthi attack on government revenue streams began last fall with a blockade of oil exports and has expanded into competition for customs revenues and a ban on cooking gas produced in government-held areas.
  • The precipitous decline in oil, gas, and tax revenue has resulted in massive budget deficits and reduced the government’s capacity to cover essential expenditures, including the payment of public sector salaries and the provision of electricity.
  • The expiration of a Saudi fuel grant has precipitated an electricity crisis in the south, with the government and private operators unable to run power plants. By September, residents in the interim capital of Aden received as few as four hours of power each day.
  • The August 2023 announcement of a new US$1.2 billion grant from Saudi Arabia will provide a measure of relief, but the vast public sector cannot subsist on irregular handouts, and private investment is limited by conflict and political fragmentation.
  • Without substantial and sustained financial assistance, the economic and humanitarian situation in Yemen will rapidly deteriorate.
  • Hundreds of thousands of employees working in the government-controlled public sector and their dependents will lose their primary source of income if salaries go unpaid, and their purchasing power will fall with the devaluing rial as the central bank’s foreign currency reserves dry up.

This paper details the circumstances of the destruction of the public revenue streams of the internationally recognized government and identifies potential avenues for their restoration. It was informed by the research of the Sana’a Center Economic Unit and consultations and discussions at the 9th Development Champions Forum (DCF), held from May 24-26 in Amman, Jordan, as part of the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy Initiative. [1] Participants discussed and debated potential avenues for relief of the government’s fiscal crisis and suggested streams of exploitable revenue for further study of their viability.

  • Raising or improving the collection of income, commercial, or even point-of-sale taxes in Yemen is currently beyond the government’s ability to enforce, due to its limited wartime capacity and geographic fragmentation.
  • Calibrating the realities of the current political situation, a number of suggestions were proposed for the exploitation of public assets and utilities that the government may wish to consider.
  • Crude oil might be sold on restructured futures contracts, or dealt to private regional exporters, through a transparent process. Customs and tax collection could be streamlined or decentralized.
  • Also, the government should explore optimal models for creating effective partnerships with the private sector and encourage it to provide electricity distribution services, as well as studying the possibility of privatizing the electricity sector, even partially, or financing and rationalizing it through a pre-payment system to address the woeful collection of utility bills.
  • Other assets, including the publicly owned telecommunications company, could be reformed, as could expenditures, including the security and public sectors.
  • Deeper reforms are dependent on strong and effective state institutions, which have long been absent from Yemen and whose reconstitution likely awaits the conclusion of the war. Additional support for the machinery of state could have a multiplier effect in alleviating the longer-term crisis, but would take time to have an effect.

The measures outlined here will not rapidly reverse the government’s financial fortunes on their own, but could mitigate its current predicament and restore a measure of faith in its ability to govern. Ultimately, Yemen requires two developments: an economic truce to decouple its stalled military competition from the livelihoods and well-being of its civilian population, who are being pushed further into poverty and desperation; and sustained financial support from Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, that it may engage in the long-term rationalization of revenues and expenditures and underwrite much-needed reforms.


[1] The initiative aims to contribute to peacebuilding, conflict prevention, economic stabilization, and sustainable development by building consensus in crucial policy areas. The program engages and promotes Yemeni voices in public discourses on development, economic issues, and post-conflict reconstruction in Yemen, and is implemented by the Sana’a Center for Strategic Studies, the Center for Applied Research in Partnership with the Orient (CARPO), and DeepRoot Consulting. It is funded by the European Union and the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Yemen. Figures have been sourced by the Sana’a Center Economic Unit from the government’s own statistics, except where otherwise indicated.

Read also in Policy Briefs

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 29, 2018 Policy Briefs
Even before the current conflict, private sector development in Yemen faced many severe and interrelated challenges. These included bureaucratic obstructions, weak infrastructure, a largely unskilled workforce, a poor investment climate and lack of financing, an economy overly dependent on oil, corruption, a weak state, and a rent-seeking elite class with vested interests in stifling…

Reconstruction and Recovery in Yemen: Recommendations from the Development…

April 8, 2019 Policy Briefs
Nearly five years of conflict in Yemen have created a humanitarian catastrophe that has brought the country to the brink of famine. The economy has collapsed and fighting has ravaged the country’s infrastructure. The reconstruction and recovery of Yemen will demand rebuilding the economy, restoring state institutions and infrastructure and repairing the social fabric. As yet, no official,…

Restructuring Public Finances in Yemen

October 2, 2019 Policy Briefs
Even before the current conflict, Yemen’s public finances suffered from an overdependence on energy exports, one of the lowest tax collection rates in the world, and chronic budget and balance of payments deficits. The government’s consistent operating deficits were funded through domestic debt instruments – drawing investment away from the private sector – borrowing from its own central…