الاصدارات

موجز السياسات

إعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن: إطار عمل مؤسّسي

إعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع في اليمن: إطار عمل مؤسّسي

ملخص تنفيذي

اتسمت الجهود السابقة لإعادة الإعمار ما بعد النزاع أو الكوارث الطبيعية في اليمن بضعف التنسيق، وارتفاع توقعات المانحين الدوليين، ومحدودية قدرات الحكومة اليمنية على استيعاب المساعدات وتنفيذ المشاريع، مما أدى إلى عدم تحقق تغيير ملموس على المدى الطويل.

في ضوء هذه الدروس المستخلصة من سياقات مشابهة لما بعد النزاع وكذلك من الماضي اليمني نفسه، يقترح موجز السياسات أدناه إيجاد بنية مؤسسية واضحة وقوية لإعادة إعمار مستقبلية في اليمن، تتمثل في هيئة عامة دائمة ومستقلة لإعادة الإعمار، تعمل على تمكين وتنسيق العمل بين مكاتب إعادة الاعمار المحلية التي ستؤسس على المستوى المحلي في المناطق المتأثرة بالصراع او الكوارث الطبيعية. ولا يأتي هذا المقترح نتيجة للدروس السابقة فقط، ولكن أيضا استجابة للحاجة الملحة لمثل هـذه الهيئة للبدء في التخطيط وتنفيذ مشاريع إعادة الإعمار بأفضل ما يمكن.

يجب أن يكون لهذه الهيئة المعنية بإعادة الإعمار صلاحيات واضحة لإدارة جميع المهام المطلوبة في عملية إعادة الإعمار في أعقاب النزاع الحالي، وأيضاً الأزمات المقبلة. وينبغي أن يضم مجلس إدارتها مجموعة من أصحاب المصلحة، وأن يرأسها نائب رئيس الوزراء لشؤون إعادة الإعمار لضمان حصولها على أعلى مستويات الدعم. كما ينبغي أن تتخذ نهجاً مؤسسياً مختلطاً شاملاً ومتعدد المستويات، وأن تمتلك خطة واضحة طويلة الأمد لبناء قدرات الدولة. عليها كذلك أن تنشئ وحدة رصد وتقييم خاصة بها لإثبات الالتزام بالشفافية. الأهم من ذلك أن عليها وضع إطار واضح للعمل عن كثب مع جميع أصحاب المصلحة.

 

المقدمة

يعود النزاع الحالي في اليمن إلى عقود من الاضطراب السياسي والاقتصادي. وأية جهود لإعادة الإعمار في المستقبل ستكون مهمة شاقة. فعلى سبيل المثال تظهر تقديرات البنك الدولي ان قرابة ربع شبكة الطرق قد هدمت إما جزئيا أو كليا في عشر مدن يمنية تم فيها المسح خلال العام 2016، إضافة إلى تراجع إنتاج الطاقة إلى النصف، وكذلك تدمير قرابة نصف شبكات المياه والصرف الصحي. ومع تفاقم حدة الصراع منذ ذلك العام، يتوقع أن مستوى الدمار يفوق تلك التقديرات بشكل كبير.

في أوائل عام 2017 أعلنت الأمم المتحدة أن اليمن يمثل أسوأ أزمة إنسانية في العالم؛ وبحلول نهاية العام، وحتى إبريل ٢٠١٨ كان حوالي 22.2 مليون يمني بحاجة إلى مساعدات إنسانية، منهم 8.4 مليون إنسان معرضين لخطر المجاعة . وقد عانى الاقتصاد اليمني من انخفاض في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنسبة ٤٧.١% بين 2015 و2017، في حين أفادت 40% من الأسر عن فقدان مصدر دخلها الأساسي . وقد تم تعليق معظم الخدمات العامة، مما أدى إلى خسارة 16 مليون شخص القدرة على الوصول إلى مياه صالحة للشرب وفقدان 16.4 مليون شخص القدرة على الحصول على رعاية صحية مناسبة.

وفي الواقع المعاش حاليا لا توجد دلائل على انتهاء النزاع قريباً. لكن يتوجب على أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين بتحقيق سلام دائم في اليمن سرعة البدء في إرساء الأساس لإطار إعادة الإعمار في أعقاب توقف الحرب كونها مهمة عاجلة. وقد أثبتت التجارب الدولية أن من الضرورة البدء مبكراً في التخطيط لإعادة الإعمار.

يتكون هذا الموجز والذي هو مبني على ورقة بحثية تفصيلية (ورقة بيضاء) على الأقسام التالية:

  • القسم الأول: تم فيه استعراض تجارب اليمن السابقة في التعافي وإعادة الإعمار بعد الكوارث الطبيعية والصراعات المسلحة.
  • القسم الثاني: قدم مقترحاً لنموذج مؤسسي جديد لإعادة الإعمار يتولى إدارة سياسات/برامج الإعمار، عبر إنشاء هيئة مستقلة لإعادة الإعمار والتنسيق بين جميع أصحاب المصلحة.

تسعى هذه الورقة إلى تحديد كيفية ضمان التدفق السليم للأموال ودقة توقيت وجودة تنفيذ مشاريع إعادة الإعمار بعد الحرب. كما أن التقرير يؤكد على أهمية حوكمة ويمننه الهيئة – أي قيادة هذا الجهد من قبل اليمنيين والحرص على إشراك وتأييد جميع أصحاب المصلحة اليمنيين. من شأن هذا الإطار الشامل أن يبني قدرة الدولة اليمنية على تلبية الاحتياجات والحقوق الأساسية لمواطنيها، مما يضع البلاد على طريق الاستقرار الدائم.

 

جهود إعادة الإعمار السابقة في اليمن

خاضت اليمن تجارب عديدة لإعادة الإعمار، نظراً لتجارب طويلة مع الكوارث الطبيعية والنزاعات المسلحة، ففي العقود الأخيرة، أصابت اليمن العديد من الكوارث الطبيعية، فقد أدى الزلزال الذي وقع في ذمار عام 1982 إلى مقتل قرابة 2500 إنسان وإصابة 1500 آخرين بجروح، وقدرت قيمة الخسائر التي سببها الزلزال بـ2 مليار دولار. بالرغم من أن المكتب التنفيذي لإعادة إعمار أضرار زلزال ذمار، الذي أنشئ بعد الزلزال، قام ببناء وحدات سكنية مقاومة للزلازل إلا أن معظمها لم تسكن إلى اليوم وذلك لعدم ملاءمتها الثقافية لمتطلبات المجتمعات المحلية. لم يكن دور المكتب التنفيذي فعالاً أيضا بسبب قدرته المحدودة على التنسيق والرقابة. كما تسببت فيضانات حضرموت والمهرة في عام 2008 بخسائر قدرت بنحو 1.6 مليار دولارا . وبالرغم من نجاح صندوق إعادة إعمار حضرموت والمهرة في إشراك أصحاب المصلحة المحليين، لكنه افتقر إلى آلية تنسيقية وإطار رقابي فعال. ولم يتمكن الصندوق من الاستفادة من مبلغ الـ210 مليون دولار الذي خصص له بشكل كامل، فقد تمكن من إنفاق 70% فقط من إجمالي التمويل المتاح له.

كذلك شهدت اليمن سنوات من الاضطرابات المستمرة. فقد أدى النزاع المتكرر في محافظة صعدة بين 2004 و2010 إلى مقتل المئات وإصابة آلاف آخرين، وتسبب في أضرار تقدر بحوالي 600 مليون دولار . وقد أنشئ صندوق لإعادة إعمار صعدة بموازنة قدرها 55 مليون دولار من الحكومة اليمنية، إلا أنه أهمل البنية التحتية العامة لصالح إعادة بناء الممتلكات الخاصة، كما واجه اتهامات واسعة النطاق بـ”التحيز في إعادة الإعمار”، حيث توجهت جهود إعادة الإعمار إلى مناطق دون أخرى بناء على الولاءات الشخصية وليس الحاجات المحلية.

وقد بلغت تكلفة سيطرة تنظيم القاعدة على محافظة أبين وما تلا ذلك من عمليات قتالية في الفترة 2011-2012 قرابة ـ580 مليون دولار . خصصت موازنة لصندوق إعادة إعمار أبين بمبلغ 46.5 مليون دولار، غير أن الصندوق لم يقدم شيئاً يذكر لاستيعاب هذا التمويل، وسرعان ما ساءت سمعته نتيجة سوء الإدارة والفساد والاختلاس. وقد قدر تقرير تقييم الصندوق أن 4.2 مليون دولار أنفقت بأشكال احتيالية و1.4 مليون دولار منحت كتعويضات لمستفيدين وهميين.

وبناء على طلب المانحين الدوليين، أنشئ المكتب التنفيذي لتسريع استيعاب تعهدات المانحين ودعم سياسات الإصلاحات عام 2012 لبناء قدرات الدولة بعد أحداث عام 2011 . ومع ذلك، لم يكن لدى المكتب الصلاحية السياسية اللازمة للتغلب على مقاومة الوزارات التي اعتبرت المكتب منافساً لها. عندما استولى المقاتلون الحوثيون على صنعاء أواخر 2014، تراجعت قدرة المكتب التنفيذي على العمل. وعلى الرغم من المحاولات اللاحقة لإحيائه، فإن تمويل المانحين للمكتب انتهى منتصف العام 2015؛ ومع تدهور الحالة الأمنية، تم سحب تمويل المكتب.

مع ذلك، فإن لدى اليمن أمثلة ناجحة لمبادرات مبتكرة لاستيعاب أموال المانحين وتقديم الخدمات العامة، وإن لم تكن في سياق ما بعد النزاع .

فمنذ منتصف التسعينات، عملت وكالات شبه مستقلة بالتوازي مع الحكومة المركزية لتقديم الخدمات العامة وبالذات في المناطق الريفية. فقدم مشروع الأشغال العامة، وصندوق الرعاية الاجتماعية، والصندوق الاجتماعي للتنمية، نموذجاً لتوفير خدمات تتسم بالكفاءة والفعالية والشفافية في اليمن. لدى كل من هذه المؤسسات سلطة قانونية مصممة بعناية توفر استقلالية كافية مع الاحتفاظ بعلاقة محددة جيداً مع الحكومة. وهي هيئات مستقلة ولها نظمها الخاصة الشفافة والفعالة، وتتخذ نهجاً لامركزياً تقوده المجتمعات المحلية، وقد اجتذبت بذلك مستوى أعلى من انخراط الجهات المانحة وتمويلها. إلا أنها صُمّمت لتكون بديلاً قصير الأجل فقط؛ حيث لا توجد استراتيجية واضحة لكيفية دمجها بشكل دائم في الهيكل الحكومي.

 

التطلع قدماً لإعادة إعمار اليمن بعد انتهاء النزاع

كما هو موضح أعلاه، لم تتمكن جهود إعادة الإعمار اليمنية من استيعاب المساعدات أو تنفيذ المشاريع بنجاح. ولا توفر المبادرات السابقة نموذجاً ناجحاً يمكن الاعتماد عليه لإعادة الإعمار في المستقبل، لا سيما وأن الدمار الحالي يفوق بكثير ما أحدثته الكوارث أو النزاعات السابقة. ومع ذلك، ثمة إمكانية للبناء على المخطط المؤسسي للمكتب التنفيذي، وبالمثل، الشروع في تدخلات إعادة الإعمار من خلال نماذج محلية لديها مزايا الفهم العميق للمجتمع، والانتشار الوطني، والقوى العاملة المهنية مثل الصندوق الاجتماعي للتنمية ومشروع الأشغال العامة.

يقترح موجز السياسات أن تكون الخطوة القادمة لإعادة الاعمار في اليمن هي إيجاد إطار مؤسسي استباقي للتعامل مع ما خلفه الصراع القائم أو مع أية كوارث قادمة، ويتطلب ذلك انشاء هيئة عامة دائمة ومستقلة لإعادة الإعمار، تعمل على تمكين وتنسيق العمل بين مكاتب إعادة الاعمار المحلية التي ستؤسس على المستوى المحلي في المناطق المتأثرة بالصراع او الكوارث الطبيعية.

وتتركز مهام هذه الهيئة حول إدارة جميع المهام المطلوبة في عملية إعادة الإعمار، مثل التخطيط الحالي والمستقبلي في مرحلة ما بعد النزاع أو إعادة الإعمار؛ تصميم السياسات؛ التمويل وجمع الأموال؛ والتنسيق مع جميع أصحاب المصلحة. كما ينبغي على هيئة إعادة الإعمار أن تحتفظ بالمهام الأساسية اللازمة لعملية شفافة: الرقابة والتقييم؛ الإبلاغ؛ والإشراف على المشاريع الوطنية الاستراتيجية.

ولتحقيق هذه المهام، يتوجب على الهيئة أن:

  • تكون هيئة عامة ومستقلة.
  • تنشأ بمرسوم رئاسي يحدد مهامها وسلطاتها ومسؤولياتها، ويكون لديها لوائح خاصة بها للمشتريات وتوظيف الأفراد وسياسة الأجور.
    يضم مجلس إدارة هيئة إعادة الإعمار ممثلين من أصحاب المصلحة: ممثلين عن مجتمع المانحين (سواء من داخل مجلس التعاون الخليجي أو من الجهات المانحة الدولية)؛ ممثلين عن مجلس الوزراء؛ ممثلين عن القطاع الخاص؛ بالإضافة إلى المدير التنفيذي لهيئة إعادة الإعمار. وينبغي أن يرأس مجلس الإدارة نائب رئيس الوزراء لشؤون إعادة الإعمار لضمان أعلى مستوى من الدعم لهذه الهيئة. كما ينبغي أن تقتصر مسؤوليات المجلس بشكل واضح وصارم على المستوى الاستراتيجي، بما يكفل امتلاك الإدارة التنفيذية لهيئة إعادة الإعمار المرونة اللازمة لتنفيذ خطط إعادة الإعمار على نحو فعال.
  • تنشأ مكاتب محلية تعمل ككيانات لإدارة العمليات على المستوى المحلي. ستقوم الهيئة العامة لإعادة الإعمار بتفويض الصلاحيات إلى المكاتب المحلية، ويقترح إنشاء هذه المكاتب في عدن وصنعاء وصعدة وتعز. تتركز مهام هذه المكاتب المحلية حول تصميم وتخطيط جهود إعادة الإعمار على المستوى المحلي. كما يتوجب على الهيئة العامة إنشاء مكاتب إضافية في المناطق الأخرى التي تأثرت بالصراع او أية كوارث طبيعية.
  • ينبغي أن تتبع هيئة إعادة الإعمار عملية تنافسية شفافة وقائمة على الجدارة لتعيين مديرها التنفيذي وجميع موظفيها. كما يجب أن يقوم مجلس إدارة هيئة إعادة الإعمار بتعيين (على حسب ترشيحات المدير التنفيذي) مدراء مكاتب إعادة الإعمار المحلية بنفس الاَلية. وينبغي اتباع نفس سياسة التوظيف للمكاتب المحلية للموظفين لإنجاز أعمال إعادة الإعمار بفعالية وسرعة.
  • تعتمد الهيئة نهجاً مؤسسياً مختلطاً، بحيث يشمل أصحاب المصلحة اليمنيين الرئيسيين: الحكومة المركزية، السلطات المحلية، المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية، القطاع الخاص، ومؤسسات شبه حكومية كالصندوق الاجتماعي للتنمية ومشروع الأشغال وغيرها. ولأنه من غير العملي الاعتماد فقط على الحكومة المركزية الضعيفة لإعادة الإعمار بعد النزاع مباشرة في جميع أنحاء اليمن، ينبغي أن تشارك الحكومة المركزية فقط في التخطيط الاستراتيجي؛ وفي السنوات التي تلي النزاع، يجب أن يتم التركيز على تنفيذ مشاريع صغيرة في المقام الأول في المجتمعات المتضررة وأيضاً في جميع أنحاء اليمن. إن التركيز على احتياجات المناطق المتضررة لا يعني بالضرورة تجاهل بقية البلاد، خاصة إذا أدى استشعار المحسوبية إلى سخط شعبي على الدولة.
  • ينبغي أيضاً تكريس الجهود لاحتياجات وتنمية النساء والشباب والفئات المهمشة.
  • يجب أن تعمل هيئة إعادة الإعمار على إنشاء صندوق مشترك لجميع المانحين. يمكن إدارة هذا الصندوق بصفة مشتركة من قبل هيئة إعادة الإعمار وبنك تنمية دولي أو إقليمي. ويمكن أن يكون لهذا الصندوق حساب منفصل ومستقل عن ميزانية الحكومة لجمع أموال المانحين، وينبغي أن يتم تدقيق حساباته بشكل روتيني من قبل منظمة مستقلة وفقاً للمعايير الدولية لمراجعة الحسابات .
  • ينبغي على هيئة إعادة الإعمار أن تنشئ وحدة رقابة وتقييم خاصة بها. يمكن لهذه الوحدة أن تعمل بالتعاون والتنسيق مع هيئات الرقابة والتقييم الموجودة بالفعل في الحكومة اليمنية، كالجهاز المركزي للرقابة والمحاسبة والهيئة الوطنية العليا لمكافحة الفساد والمجلس الأعلى للقضاء. بإنشائها وحدة رقابة وتقييم خاصة بها، تعبر هيئة إعادة الإعمار عن مسؤوليتها وشفافيتها، مع الحفاظ على درجة مقبولة من الملكية الوطنية بشأن إعادة الإعمار.
  • بشكل أعم، يجب أن تكون لدى هيئة إعادة الإعمار خطة استراتيجية طويلة الأجل لتوطيد وتحديد أولويات تمويل إعادة الإعمار من موارد يمنية. يمكن توقع تمويل خارجي وافر على المدى القصير، ولكنه قد ينخفض على المدى المتوسط والطويل. من شأن هذه السياسات أن تكفل توفير الأموال الكافية لجهود التعمير الطويلة الأجل عند انخفاض التمويل الخارجي.

ولإدارة العلاقة مع أصحاب المصلحة، يتوجب على الهيئة:

  • التنسيق بشكل وثيق مع الحكومة اليمنية على جميع المستويات. يجب أن يكون لكل مستوى من المستويات الحكومية نطاق واضح من المشاركة، بحيث تعمل السلطات المحلية بالتعاون مع مكاتب إعادة الإعمار المحلية، وتكون قادرة على اقتراح المشاريع، في حين تعمل هيئة إعادة الإعمار العامة مع الحكومة المركزية على التخطيط الاستراتيجي على المستوى الوطني. يقوم مجلس الوزراء بتوفير حصة الحكومة اليمنية من التمويل والمساهمات العينية، كما تواصل الوزارات التنفيذية تقديم الخدمات العامة الجارية، وتقديم البيانات المتعلقة بالمشاريع المخططة، وإدارة مشاريع التعمير بعد إكمالها. وفي المقابل، تقدم هيئة إعادة الإعمار للحكومة المركزية توصيات فنية، بما يضمن تعزيز قدرة الحكومة على الحفاظ على المشاريع المنجزة. وينبغي للعلاقات بين مكاتب إعادة الإعمار على المستويات المحلية أن تتبع نفس النمط.
  • أن تثبت للشركاء الدوليين التزامها بالشفافية والفعالية. يشير وجود ممثلي المانحين في مجلس إدارة هيئة إعادة الإعمار إلى شراكة حقيقية بين اليمن والمانحين الدوليين والإقليميين، ويمكن توقيع اتفاق رسمي بين الحكومة والجهات المانحة الدولية يضمن توضيح أدوار الشركاء الدوليين، وتحديد آلية للامتثال، وتشجيع المانحين على تقديم التمويل على المدى القصير والطويل، وكذلك تحديد الالتزامات الحكومية، وضمان الملكية الوطنية لبرامج إعادة الإعمار.
  • أن تشمل القطاع الخاص في عملية إعادة الإعمار: حيث يمكن للقطاع الخاص تمويل وتوريد وتنفيذ متطلبات وجهود إعادة الإعمار. وينبغي على هيئة إعادة الإعمار أن تطور القدرة على إقامة شراكات متينة بين القطاعين العام والخاص، وأن تشرف على مناقصات تنافسية للمشاريع، وأن تستمد خدماتها من المصادر المحلية قدر الإمكان.
  • أن تعامل المنظمات غير الحكومية والمجتمعات المحلية كشريك أساسي في إعادة الإعمار. لا أحد يعرف احتياجات المجتمع المحلي أفضل من أبناء المجتمع نفسه: فهم لديهم الخبرة في تحديد الأولويات الأكثر أهمية لمجتمعاتهم، ويمكن لهذه المجتمعات أن تمثل قناة هامة للحصول على المعلومات حول تقدم عملية إعادة الإعمار. كما يتوجب على المنظمات غير الحكومية أن توفر حلقة وصل هامة بشكل خاص مع المجموعات المتضررة من النزاع، مما يجعل احتياجات هذه الفئات وشواغلها جزءاً من عملية إعادة الإعمار، وكذلك القيام بالدور الرقابي على تنفيذ مشاريع إعادة الاعمار. كما يمكن أن تعقد جلسات استشارية مع المجتمعات المحلية والنساء والشباب والفئات المهمشة. كما يمكن للجامعات والمراكز البحثية والاستشارية وجمعيات الأعمال أن توفر مصدراً للمقترحات المهنية المستقلة والتقييم والمشورة.

على عملية إعادة الإعمار في اليمن أن تتبع نموذجاً يستجيب للحقائق على أرض الواقع، ويبني قدرة الدولة، ويضمن الشفافية، وينسق بين الأطراف ذات العلاقة بكفاءة. يجب أن تعزز الثقة ليس فقط مع الجهات المانحة ولكن أيضاً بين السلطات السياسية اليمنية وعموم المواطنين. كما يجب أن تنسق بشكل جيد مع المانحين الدوليين مع الحفاظ على ملكية اليمنيين لإعادة الإعمار. ينبغي تركيز الجهود ليس فقط على المناطق المتضررة ولكن على السكان اليمنيين ككل، ويتمثل ذلك في توفير الخدمات الأساسية وخلق فرص عمل في جميع المناطق. فاحتمالية العودة إلى النزاع تكون أقل إذا كان السكان منشغلين بأعمال تعود عليهم بالمال والمنفعة. كما أن احتمال دعمهم للسلام أكبر إذا كانوا يشعرون بزيادة الرفاهية، ويرون تحسناً في تقديم الخدمات العامة، ويسمعون أخباراً عن مشاريع التنمية الناجحة. على هذا النحو، سيكون لنموذج مؤسسي لإعادة الإعمار يؤكد على الملكية الوطنية والشفافية والشمولية فرصة كبيرة لتوطيد السلام على المدى الطويل.

أقرا أيضًا في موجز السياسات

الأولويات الاقتصادية لاتفاق سلام دائم في اليمن

يونيو 2، 2020 موجز السياسات
يؤكد موجز السياسات هذا على أن الوصول لاتفاق سلام دائم في اليمن يعتمد على قضيتين اقتصاديتين هامتين. القضية الأولى هي أن توزيع الموارد الاقتصادية والتحكم بها وتقاسمها عوامل أساسية لتحقيق السلام من عدمه، بما أن الحيز الأكبر من الصراع القائم يدور حول السيطرة على الموارد، وبالتالي فإنه يجب التطرق لهذه المسائل مباشرة أثناء مفاوضات السلام المرتقبة. أما القضية الثانية فهي أن افتقار اتفاقيات السلام…

إعادة الإعمار والإصلاح في اليمن: توصيات منتدى رواد التنمية

أبريل 8، 2019 موجز السياسات
يقف اليمن اليوم على حافة المجاعة بعد ما يقارب خمس سنوات من نزاع أسفر عن كارثة إنسانية حقيقية، فقد انهار الاقتصاد وألحق الاقتتال أضرار بالغة بالبنية التحتية للبلاد، وسيتطلّب تعافي وإعادة إعمار اليمن إعادة بناء الاقتصاد وإقامة مؤسسات الدولة وإعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية وإصلاح النسيج الاجتماعي ولكن وحتى هذه اللحظة لم يعلن رسميا عن عملية إعادة إعمار شاملة تقودها جهود المانحين. لذلك يشدّد منتدى…

آثار الصراع على قطاع الاتصالات في اليمن

يناير 11، 2021 موجز السياسات
يمثّل قطاع الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات في اليمن مكونا أساسيا من مكونات البنية التحتية الوطنية، فله دور مهمّ في النمو الاقتصادي؛ إذ يعدّ القطاع أحد أهم المصادر الإيرادية للدولة بعد قطاع النفط، كما يسهم في توفير عدد من فرص العمل المهمّة المباشرة وغير المباشرة من خلال ارتباطه بقطاعات أخرى في الاقتصاد الوطني.

Publications

Policy Briefs

An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction in Yemen

 An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction in Yemen

Executive Summary

Previous reconstruction efforts in Yemen following conflict or natural disaster have suffered from lack of coordination with and unrealistic expectations from international donors, as well as the Yemeni government’s limited capacity for aid absorption and project implementation; as a result, there was little tangible long-term impact.

In light of lessons learned from similar post-conflict contexts and Yemen’s own history of reconstruction efforts, this policy brief proposes an institutional structure for a future reconstruction process in Yemen: a permanent, independent, public reconstruction authority that empowers and coordinates the work of local reconstruction offices, established at the local level in areas affected by conflict or natural disasters. This proposal does not arise only from these lessons learned, but also from the immediate need for such an institution to begin planning and implementing reconstruction work to the greatest extent possible.

This reconstruction authority should have a clear mandate to manage all tasks required in reconstruction following the current conflict, but also future crises. Its board of directors should include a range of stakeholders and should be chaired by a deputy prime minister for reconstruction to ensure it has the highest level of support. It should take an inclusive, multi-level, mixed institutional approach, have a clear long-term plan for building state capacity, and establish its own monitoring and evaluation unit to demonstrate a commitment to transparency. Most importantly, it should establish a clear framework for working closely with all stakeholders.

 

Introduction

The current conflict in Yemen follows decades of political and economic turmoil. Any future reconstruction efforts will face a daunting task. For example, World Bank estimates from 10 cities in Yemen revealed a quarter of the road network was partially or fully destroyed as of 2016, with power production halved and half of all water, sewage and sanitation infrastructure damaged. With the intensification of the conflict since, it is expected that current levels of destruction are far greater.

In early 2017 the United Nations also declared Yemen the site of the world’s worst humanitarian crisis; as of April 2018, roughly 22.2 million Yemenis were in need of humanitarian assistance, including 8.4 million at risk of starvation. The country’s gross domestic product declined an estimated 47.1 percent from 2015 to 2017, while 40 percent of households have reported the loss of their primary income source. Most public services have been suspended, leaving 16 million people without access to safe water and 16.4 million with limited or no access to healthcare.

There is little sign of the conflict ending soon. Nevertheless, stakeholders concerned with establishing lasting peace in Yemen must urgently begin laying the groundwork for a comprehensive reconstruction framework to implement in the eventual aftermath of fighting. Experience has shown that it is never too early to begin planning for reconstruction.

This policy brief, which is based off of a more extensive White Paper, consists of the following sections:

  • The first section provides an account of Yemen’s own history of post-crisis recovery efforts.
  • The second section proposes a new institutional model for reconstruction: an independent reconstruction authority that establishes transparent mechanisms for coordination and accountability among all stakeholders.

The policy brief seeks to identify how to ensure the proper flow of funds and the timely completion and overall quality of post-war reconstruction projects. Beyond this, however, it emphasizes the importance of national ownership – meaning the inclusion and buy-in of all Yemeni stakeholders. Such an inclusive framework builds Yemen’s capacity to meet the basic needs and rights of its own people, thereby putting the country on the path toward lasting recovery.

 

Past Reconstruction Efforts in Yemen

Yemen has had numerous experiences with reconstruction efforts, given its decades-long history of poverty, natural disasters, and conflict. In recent decades, several natural disasters have hit Yemen. The 1982 earthquake in Dhamar killed up to an estimated 2,500 people and injured a further 1,500, with US$2 billion in losses. Although the independent Executive Office for Reconstruction, created following the earthquake, delivered thousands of earthquake-reinforced housing units, most of these remain uninhabited even today, due to their cultural unsuitability. The reconstruction office was also ineffective due to a limited capacity for coordination or monitoring. The 2008 flood in Hadramawt and al-Mahra caused an estimated US$1.6 billion in damage. The Hadramawt and al-Mahra Reconstruction Fund succeeded in engaging local stakeholders. However, it lacked any coordination mechanism or monitoring framework. Despite having resources, it lacked effectiveness: it struggled to utilize the US$210 million it was allocated, spending only 70 percent of its total available funding.

Yemen has also seen years of chronic unrest. Recurring conflict in Sa’ada governorate from 2004-2010 killed hundreds and wounded thousands more, while causing an estimated US$600 million in damages. The Sa’ada Reconstruction Fund had a US$55 million budget allocated from the Yemeni government. The fund neglected public infrastructure at the expense of rebuilding private properties and faced widespread accusations of “reconstruction bias,” directing rebuilding efforts to areas based on personal affiliations rather than need. The occupation of Abyan governorate by al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula and associated fighting in 2011-2012 left damage estimated at US$580 million. The Abyan Reconstruction Fund was allocated US$46.5 million. It did little to absorb this funding and quickly developed a reputation for mismanagement, corruption, and embezzlement. The fund’s evaluation report estimated US$4.2 million of fraudulent costs and a further US$1.4 million reported as compensation for ‘ghost’ beneficiaries.

At the demand of international donors, and following 2011 protests against then-President Ali Abdullah Saleh, the Yemeni government established the Executive Bureau in 2012 to build state capacity. However, it did not have the political power necessary to overcome resistance from ministries who viewed it as competition. When Houthi fighters seized Sana’a in late 2014, the Executive Bureau’s ability to function was further curtailed. Despite later attempts to revive it, the Bureau’s World Bank funding expired in mid-2015; as the security situation deteriorated, funding for the Bureau was withdrawn.

Yemen also has examples of innovative initiatives for delivering public services, though not in a post-conflict context. Since the mid-1990s, semi-autonomous agencies have operated parallel to the central government to deliver public services in rural areas. The Public Works Project, the Social Welfare Fund, and the Social Fund for Development provide models for effective, efficient, and transparent services provision in Yemen. They have a carefully designed legal mandate that provides sufficient autonomy while having a well-defined relationship with the government. However, they are designed to be only short-term alternatives; there is no clear strategy for how they might be permanently integrated into the government.

 

The Way Forward for Post-Conflict Reconstruction in Yemen

As mentioned above, previous Yemeni reconstruction efforts have shown an inability to absorb aid or to implement projects effectively. Past reconstruction initiatives thus do not provide a successful model for future reconstruction, particularly given that the current war’s destructiveness far outstrips that of past disasters or conflicts. However, there is the potential to build on the existing institutional blueprint of the Executive Bureau and, similarly, to initiate reconstruction interventions through local models that already have community buy-in, national reach, and a professional workforce: the Social Fund for Development, the Public Work Projects, and the Social Welfare Fund.

This paper proposes a way forward for reconstruction in Yemen through creating a proactive institutional framework to deal with the aftermath of the current war as well as future crises. This requires the establishment of a permanent independent Public Reconstruction Authority (PRA) operating to empower and coordinate the work of local reconstruction offices, created at the local level in areas affected by the conflict or natural disasters.

The mandate of the authority should be to manage all the tasks required in reconstruction: current and future post-conflict or disaster reconstruction planning; policy design; funding and fundraising; and coordinating with all stakeholders. The mandate should also include the tasks required for a transparent process: monitoring and evaluation; reporting; and overseeing strategic national projects.

To fulfill this mandate, the reconstruction authority should:

  • Be a public, independent authority.
  • Be established by a presidential decree that specifies its mission, authority, and responsibilities. It should have its own protocols for procurement, personnel, and payroll.
  • Have a board of directors that includes a range of stakeholders: representatives from the donor community (both from within the Gulf Cooperation Council and from among international donors); representatives from the cabinet; and representation from the private sector, in addition to the executive director of the reconstruction authority. The board should be chaired by a deputy prime minister to ensure it has the highest level of support. The responsibilities of the board should be clearly and strictly limited to strategic-level direction, ensuring that the executive management of the reconstruction authority has the flexibility to implement reconstruction plans effectively.
  • Set up local reconstruction offices that act as hubs to manage operations at the local level. The public authority will delegate power to these reconstruction offices, which are proposed to be established in Aden, Sana’a, Sa’ada and Taiz. These decentralized local offices will be mandated with the overall design and planning of the reconstruction effort at the local level. The authority should also be able, in the event of a crisis, to create additional local offices in other areas affected by conflict or natural disaster.
  • Follow a competitive, merit-based, transparent process for the recruitment of its executive director and all staff. The reconstruction authority’s board (upon nomination of the executive director following the same competitive, merit-based, and transparent process) should appoint the directors of local offices. The same recruitment process should be followed to staff of local offices to deliver efficient and rapid reconstruction work.
  • Adopt a mixed institutional approach. Any reconstruction framework must include key Yemeni stakeholders: the national government, local NGOs, the private sector, and arm’s-length government institutions such as the Social Fund for Development (SFD), the Public Works Project and others. Because it is impractical to rely solely on a weakened central government for immediate post-conflict reconstruction throughout all of Yemen, the central government should only be involved in strategic planning. In the immediate post-conflict years, the focus must be to implement small projects primarily in affected communities but also across all of Yemen. Focusing on the needs of affected areas need not mean ignoring the rest of the country – particularly if perceived favoritism leads to anger against the state. Efforts should further be devoted to the needs and development of women, youth, and marginalized groups.
  • Establish a pool fund for all donors. This fund can be co-managed by the reconstruction authority and an international or regional development bank acting as a trustee. Such a fund could have a separate account, independent of the government budget, for the collection and disbursement of donor funds. This account should be held in a commercial bank approved by the reconstruction authority board; it should also be routinely audited by an independent organization according to the international auditing standards.
  • Establish its own monitoring and evaluation unit. This unit can operate in conjunction with the monitoring and evaluation entities that already exist in the Yemeni government, such as the Central Organization for Control and Auditing; the Supreme National Authority for Combating Corruption; and the Supreme Judicial Council. In creating its own monitoring and evaluation unit, the reconstruction authority declares its aim to be accountable and transparent while maintaining a degree of national ownership over reconstruction.
  • Develop a long-term strategic plan to restore, consolidate, and prioritize reconstruction funding from Yemeni sources. External funding can be expected to be ample in the short term, but may decline in the medium to long term. Such policies will ensure sufficient funds for long-term reconstruction efforts as external funding declines.

To manage relations with stakeholders, the reconstruction authority should:

  • Coordinate closely with the Yemeni government at all levels. Each level of government should have a clearly specified scope of involvement: local authorities should work in collaboration with local offices and be able to propose projects, while the public reconstruction authority should work with the central government on national-level strategic planning. The cabinet should provide the Yemeni government’s share of funding and in-kind contributions. The line ministries should continue to deliver ongoing public services, submit data related to planned projects, and sustainably manage completed reconstruction projects. In turn, the reconstruction authority should provide the central government with technical advice, ensuring the government’s ability to maintain and sustain completed projects. Relations between local reconstruction offices and local authorities should follow the same pattern.
  • Demonstrate to international partners a commitment to transparency and efficacy. Having donor representatives on the board of the reconstruction authority signals a true partnership between Yemen and the donor community. A formal compact can be signed between the government and international donors with the following aims: to clarify the roles of international partners; to identify a mechanism for compliance; to encourage donors to deliver funding over both short and long-term horizons; to outline government commitments, and ensure the national ownership of the reconstruction program.
  • Include the private sector in the reconstruction process: private actors can fund, supply, and implement reconstruction efforts. The reconstruction authority should build capacity for strong public-private partnerships, issue competitive bids for projects, and source locally as much as possible for procurement needs.
  • Treat local non-governmental organizations and local communities as important partners in reconstruction. No one knows better a local community’s needs than the members of the community itself; they have expertise in what works best in their community. These communities can offer an important channel for information on the reconstruction progress. NGOs may provide an important link to social groups particularly affected by the conflict, bringing the needs and concerns of those groups into the reconstruction process and monitoring the implementation of reconstruction projects. They may also facilitate consultations with local communities, women, youth, and marginalized groups. Meanwhile, universities, think tanks, consultancies, and business associations can provide a source of independent professional proposals, evaluations, and advice.

Reconstruction in Yemen must follow a model that responds to the realities on the ground, builds state capacity, ensures transparency, and coordinates efficiently. It must foster trust not only among donors but among Yemeni political actors and citizens at large. It must coordinate well with international donors while maintaining Yemeni ownership of reconstruction. Focusing efforts not only on affected areas but the Yemeni population as a whole will provide basic services and create job opportunities across regions. People are less likely to return to conflict if they are constructively occupied, earn an income and can plan for the future. They are also more likely to support the peace process if they experience increased well-being, see an improvement in public services, and hear of successful development projects. As such, an institutional model for reconstruction that emphasizes national ownership, transparency, and inclusiveness will have the best chance to consolidate peace in the long term.

 

Read also in Policy Briefs

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

April 10, 2018 Policy Briefs
The second Development Champions Forum of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative recently brought together more than 20 of the leading socio-economic experts on Yemen to discuss the most critical challenges facing the country. Among the key topics included were the need to increase the coverage and efficiency of the campaign international humanitarian organizations and United Nations…

Transitional Government in Post-Conflict Yemen

August 5, 2019 Policy Briefs
This policy brief offers recommendations to maximize the effectiveness of governance in post-conflict Yemen – whatever the composition or structure of the government. It presents three case studies on government models previously introduced in Yemen, Tunisia and Lebanon after periods of instability. These case studies offer useful lessons on the challenges, risks and opportunities of…

Restructuring Public Finances in Yemen

October 2, 2019 Policy Briefs
Even before the current conflict, Yemen’s public finances suffered from an overdependence on energy exports, one of the lowest tax collection rates in the world, and chronic budget and balance of payments deficits. The government’s consistent operating deficits were funded through domestic debt instruments – drawing investment away from the private sector – borrowing from its own central…