الفعاليات

الفعاليات واللقاءات

إحاطة مبادرة اعادة التفكير في اقتصاد اليمن/ بروكسل حول الأبعاد الاقتصادية للصراع في اليمن

إحاطة مبادرة اعادة التفكير في اقتصاد اليمن/ بروكسل حول الأبعاد الاقتصادية للصراع في اليمن

أكتوبر 6، 2021 - أكتوبر 6، 2021 عبر الإنترنت

اجتماعات بروكسل للشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا هي مناقشات مائدة مستديرة متعمقة يمكن حضورها بدعوة فقط حول الموضوعات ذات الأهمية العالية حاليا في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، ويشارك في استضافتها مركز CARPO ومركز ستيمسون ، وتُعقد في بروكسل في الأسبوع الأول من الشهر كل شهرين. في أكتوبر 2020  شاركت مبادرة إعادة التفكير في اقتصاد اليمن (RYE) في استضافة هذا الإحاطة. تحدثت رائدة التنمية ليلى توفيق أنعم، المؤسس المشارك والعضو المنتدب لبرنامج ضمان القرض اليمني في الصندوق الاجتماعي للتنمية في اليمن، في الإحاطة إلى جانب رأفت الأكحلي، المؤسس والمدير الإداري لشركة DeepRoot Consulting، الشريك المنفذ في مبادرة اعادة تصور اقتصاد اليمن. أدارت الجلسة ماري كريستين هاينزه رئيسة  مركز CARPO.

وأوضح المتحدثون أن ما يقرب من اربعين بالمائة من الأسر اليمنية فقدت مصدر دخلها الأساسي في كل من القطاعين الخاص والعام، مشيرين إلى أن مصايد الأسماك ورجال الأعمال الزراعيين على وجه الخصوص قد تضرروا بشدة من الآثار المدمرة للحرب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أوضحوا كيف انهار القطاع المصرفي بينما أصبح النظام النقدي معطلاً. وأشار المتحدثان إلى العواقب الوخيمة الناجمة عن انقسام البنك المركزي اليمني، والذي أدى إلى سياسات نقدية متضاربة. وأضافوا أن المؤسسات الحكومية لم تعد قادرة على توفير رواتب منتظمة أو مدفوعات الرعاية الاجتماعية.

وسلطت السيدة أنعم الضوء على الآفاق القاتمة للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في اليمن، والتي تتأثر بشدة بالإغلاقات والقيود في الموانئ البحرية والمطارات والمنافذ البرية. هذا يجعل أي شكل من أشكال التجارة عبر الحدود صعباَ للغاية وعالي التكلفة. وأشار إلى أن التنقل داخل اليمن قلّ بشكل كبير بسبب الدمار اللاحق بالبنية التحتية للبلاد مثل الطرق والجسور والأنفاق، وكذلك بسبب نقاط التفتيش وخطوط المواجهة. أوضحت السيدة أنعم أن الاحتياجات الأساسية للشركات مثل الكهرباء  تمثل تحديات كبيرة لرواد الأعمال، الذين يضطرون للإعتماد على مولدات (خاصة) لا تعمل غالبًا بسبب نقص الوقود. كما أضافت بأن المؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في حاجة ماسة إلى إطار قانوني يمكّنها من العمل على الحدود البرية والموانئ البحرية والمطارات ، فضلاً عن التخفيف الشامل للضرائب وإنشاء مؤسسات التمويل الأصغر. وقد تم التأكيد على ضرورة إعطاء الأولوية للقطاع الزراعي (صيد الأسماك، الثروة الحيوانية، إلخ) في هذه الجهود لما لذلك من امكانية لمعالجة انعدام الأمن الغذائي.

في غضون ذلك ، قال السيد الأكحلي إنه، بشكل عام، يجب النظر إلى الحرب من خلال عدسة الاقتصاد. وأوضح أن الصراع كان معركة من أجل "الهيمنة" على الموارد والمؤسسات الاقتصادية للبلاد. كما أكد أنه لا توجد حالياً أي حوافز اقتصادية حقيقية لأي طرف لوقف الحرب. و يجب أن يتضمن أي اتفاق سلام لليمن خارطة طريق واضحة للاستقرار الاقتصادي، لكن جهود السلام الجارية بقيادة الأمم المتحدة لا ترقى إلى مستوى معالجة الدوافع الاقتصادية للصراع، بحسب الأكحلي. يجب أن تكون على رأس جدول الأعمال الحاجة إلى إعادة إنشاء بنك مركزي واحد؛ استئناف الدفع المنتظم لرواتب القطاع العام؛ التوصل إلى اتفاق بشأن تخصيص إيرادات الموارد الطبيعية؛ وتحديد مسار واضح نحو إعادة الإعمار والانتعاش الاقتصادي.  في حين أن هذه مهمة رئيسية، أشار السيد الأكحلي إلى سوابق ومخططات لمقاربات مماثلة، كاتفاقات دايتون وتركيزها على مجلس إدارة البنك المركزي ومحافظ البوسنة والهرسك، واتفاق أكرا الذي استلزم تشكيل لجنة إصلاح الحكم و  لجنة العقود والاحتكارات، وحالة أنغولا، حيث كان تقاسم السلطة الاقتصادية في مقاطعة كابيندا جزءاً من استراتيجيات تسوية النزاع.

قال المتحدثان إن على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يلعب دوراً في حل النزاع في اليمن. وأضافوا أن العوامل الاقتصادية التي أثيرت يمكن أن تكون بمثابة نقاط انطلاق للمبادرات الأوروبية لدعم العملية اليمنية من خلال الدبلوماسية والمساعدات والاستثمار وبناء القدرات وجهود إعادة الإعمار والمصالحة.

Events

Public Consultations and Outreach

RYE / Brussels MENA Briefing on ‘The Economic Dimensions of the Conflict in Yemen’

RYE / Brussels MENA Briefing on ‘The Economic Dimensions of the Conflict in Yemen’

October 6, 2021 - October 6, 2021 Online

The Brussels MENA Briefings are in-depth, invite-only roundtable discussions on topics of current significance in the MENA region, co-hosted by CARPO and the Stimson Center and held in Brussels on the first week of every second month. In October 2020, the Rethinking Yemen’s Economy (RYE) initiative co-hosted this Briefing. Development Champion Laila Tawfik Anaam, co-founder and managing director of the Yemen Loan Guarantee Program at the Social Fund for Development in Yemen, spoke at the briefing, along with Rafat al-Akhali, founder and managing director of DeepRoot Consulting, an implementing partner at RYE. CARPO President Marie-Christine Heinze moderated the session.

The speakers explained that approximately 40 percent of Yemeni households have lost their primary source of income in both the private and public sectors, noting that fisheries and agricultural entrepreneurs in particular had been hit hard by the devastating effects of the war. In addition, they outlined how the banking sector has effectively collapsed while the monetary system has become dysfunctional. Both speakers referred to the severe consequences caused by the split in the Central Bank of Yemen, which has led to conflicting monetary policies. Government agencies have not been able to provide regular salaries or social welfare payments, they added. 

Anaam shed light on the grim prospects for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Yemen, which are heavily impacted by closures and restrictions at sea ports, airports and land border crossings. These make any form of cross-border trade extremely difficult and cost-intensive. Mobility within Yemen has been reduced massively, it was pointed out, because of the destruction of the country’s infrastructure such as roads, bridges and tunnels, as well as checkpoints and frontlines.  Basic needs of businesses, such as electricity, present serious challenges for entrepreneurs, who must depend on (private) generators which often cannot operate due to fuel shortages, Anaam explained. She said SMES were in dire need of a legal framework enabling them to operate at land borders, sea ports and airports, as well as an overall easing of taxation and the establishment of supporting microfinance institutions with lending capital. It was reiterated that the agricultural sector (fishery, livestock, etc.) should be prioritized in this effort as this would help to address food insecurity.

Meanwhile, Al-Akhali argued that, In general, the war should be seen through the lens of the economy. He explained that the conflict was a battle for the “commanding heights” of the country’s economic resources and institutions. He also highlighted that there are currently no real economic incentives for any party to stop the war. Any peace agreement for Yemen must entail a clear roadmap for economic stability, yet the ongoing UN-led peace efforts fall short of addressing the economic drivers of the conflict, according to Al-Akhali. Top of the agenda should be the need to re-establish a single Central Bank; resume regular payments of public sector salaries; reach an agreement on the allocation of natural resources revenues; and clearly outline the path towards reconstruction and economic recovery. While this is a major task, Al-Akhali recalled precedents and blueprints of similar approaches in the past, namely the Dayton Accords and their focus on the Central Bank board and governor in Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Accra Agreement which entailed a Governance Reform Commission and a Contract and Monopolies Commission, and the case of Angola, where economic power-sharing in the Cabinda Province was part of the conflict settlement strategies.

Both speakers said the European Union should play a role in conflict resolution in Yemen. The economic factors raised could serve as points of departure for European initiatives to support the Yemeni process through diplomacy, aid, investment, capacity-building and efforts for reconstruction and reconciliation, they added.