الفعاليات

الفعاليات واللقاءات

جلسة إحاطة افتراضية مع المبعوث الأمريكي الخاص إلى اليمن السيد تيم ليندركينغ

جلسة إحاطة افتراضية مع المبعوث الأمريكي الخاص إلى اليمن السيد تيم ليندركينغ

يوليو 16، 2021 - يوليو 16، 2021 عبر الزوم

عقد ممثلو منتدى رواد التنمية يوم الجمعة الموافق 16 يوليو 2017 جلسة إحاطة افتراضية مع المبعوث الأمريكي الخاص إلى اليمن السيد تيم ليندركينغ وفريقه لمناقشة أهمية القضايا الاقتصادية وعلاقتها بعملية السلام باعتبارها عامل أساسي للاستقرار بعد الصراع.

خلال الاجتماع، أكد رواد التنمية على أولوية نمو اقتصاد مكتف الذات في اليمن وتجنب الاعتماد على المساعدات الإنسانية وضرورة إيجاد حلول للخلافات الاقتصادية لضمان إغاثة دائمة ومستدامة من خلال تقديم الدعم وتمكين جهود المجتمعات اليمنية والقطاع الخاص والمؤسسات المحلية. وبناءً على ذلك، أوصى الرواد بأن تركز الولايات المتحدة جهودها على دعم استقرار الاقتصاد الكلي وتعزيز القدرات والمبادرات المحلية، مما يساهم في الحفاظ على الأمل حياة.

كما أشار رواد التنمية الى خطر النزاعات الاقتصادية وتسيس الاقتصاد، لا سيما تعامل طرفي النزاع مع الاقتصاد والنظام المالي كوسائل حرب، فهذا محرك رئيسي لإطالة أمد الصراع وتحفيز اقتصاد الحرب. من أجل معالجة هذا الأمر، دعا منتدى رواد التنمية إلى تركيز دولي أقوى، بما في ذلك من الولايات المتحدة والمبعوثين الخاصين للأمم المتحدة، على الاستقرار الاقتصادي، من خلال إشراك المزيد من اليمنيين والبناء على العمل الذي يقومون به.

من جانبه، أشار المبعوث الخاص تيم ليندركينغ إلى أن العوامل الاقتصادية في الوضع الحالي واقعية وتحتاج إلى معالجة وحلول. كما أكد على ضرورة أن يصبح الحوار أكثر شمولية. وإتفق المبعوث الخاص ومنتدى الرواد على مواصلة الحوار البناء.

Events

Public Consultations and Outreach

Virtual briefing with US Special Envoy to Yemen Mr. Tim Lenderking

Virtual briefing with US Special Envoy to Yemen Mr. Tim Lenderking

July 16, 2021 - July 16, 2021 Online via Zoom

On Friday, 16 July 2017, representatives of the Development Champions Forum (DCF) held a virtual briefing with US Special Envoy to Yemen Mr. Tim Lenderking and his team to discuss the importance of economic issues and their relevance to the peace process as a fundamental post conflict stabilization factor.

During that meeting, the Development Champions emphasized the need to prioritize self-sustaining economic growth in Yemen over its dependence on humanitarian aid and the need to find solutions to economic grievances to ensure durable and sustainable relief by providing support and empowering respective efforts of Yemeni communities, the private sector and other local institutions. Accordingly, they recommended that the US focus its efforts on macroeconomic stabilization and on fostering local capacities and initiatives, thus contributing to keeping hope alive.

The Development Champions also highlighted the alarming disputes and politicization of the economic issues, particularly the weaponization of the economy and the financial system by both parties to the conflict, which is a key driver for prolonging the conflict and incentivizing the war economy. In order to address this, the DCF called for a stronger international focus, including of the US and the UN Special Envoys, on economic stabilization, amongst others by engaging more Yemenis and by building on the work that Yemenis are already doing.

On his part, Special Envoy Tim Lenderking noted that the economic factors in the current situation are real and need to be addressed and find solutions for the economic grievances. He also emphasized the need of the conversation to become more inclusive. The Special Envoy and the DCF agreed to continue the constructive conversation.